We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite hotel in Europe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Excelsior Florence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Ranked #25 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Our favorite hotel in Europe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

My wife and I have had the good fortune to visit the Westin Excelsior on several occasions and can not possibly say enough good things about this incredible hotel. We love it so much that we actually stayed at the hotel when we had our wedding in Florence. All I can say is that the facilities and rooms were extraordinary and we were surprised with awesome upgrades on each visit. The reviewer who recently comments that the hotel has not been renovated since before the war has lost his mind. This hotel is the epitome of luxury and the rooms and public spaces are pristine and beautiful. What makes it so incredibly special though, is its staff. Everyone from the valet parker, the front desk staff, and the concierge are the best we have ever had in our world travels. The concierge, in particular, deserves all the recognition in the world as they saved our wedding (they managed to get my wife's wedding dress released from Italian Customs after spending countless hours on the phone with them in time for the wedding) and gave us amazing insights into what to do in Florence. The hotel also now has its roof top bar open which has unbelievable views of Florence. It's not cheap, but this hotel is worth every penny...

Room Tip: Get a room with a view over the Arno!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travsav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimo B, Responsabile reception at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Travsav,
thank you for your comments! We have been happy to perceive the sense of belonging which runs between the lines and is the best award we could strive for!
And yes, our guys are within the most dedicated concierges a Manager could dream of (therefore I feel I am a lucky person too!), and have to admit that I often step at their desk just for the pleasure of watching a dream come true in the eyes of a guest, or a problem, like the wedding dress, solved thanks to persistency...
So thank you once again, and whenever you will come back, please let me know it! I think I have more or less identified who you could be, but I would love to match the nickname on tripadvisor with your face while welcoming you back at the Westin Excelsior Florence!
All the best,
Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,083
    322
    66
    22
    16
See reviews for
296
683
45
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We visited the SE•STO on Arno bar/restaurant on the roof of the Westin Excesior for a drink and to watch the sun set.

As expected, the drinks were expensive, even by Florentine standards, (€14 each for a negroni and a prosecco). But the complementary apertivo buffet was good and plentiful, the staff were professional, friendly and attentive and the view was utterly drop dead gorgeous.

Room Tip: The outdoor tables got busy towards sunset. Don't leave it too late, and take a camera
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bonus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimo B, Responsabile reception at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Bonus,
thank you for your comment!
As we understand you love a good bar experience, on your future visits we recommend you to try out our sister hotel's bar at the st regis, were the Champagne ritual is going to be a great experience too!
Kindest regards,
Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Grand old hotel with large rooms but has not been renovated since before the war - depending on the room it is either WW I or WW II. Westin should be embarrassed to have their name on this property - don't stay until they renovate the place.

Room Tip: pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wallyduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimo B, Responsabile reception at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Wallyduke,
I took the time for reading all your hotel reviews on Trip Advisor. Thank you for your concise and interesting feedback; we were sorry to read that we are sharing the same disappointment you have on all hotels you have reviewed up to now, and many of the restaurants.
More than that, we were sorry that this is the perception you brought home and even more sorry because of not having had the chance of receiving this feedback while here, as we would have shown you some rooms with a more contemporary design, which we think you would have enjoyed.

Let me tell you that our hotel conditions are very good, and comparable or better than our city competitors.

Actually, the renovation which we will soon conduct, will touch only the softer parts of the rooms as all the rest is either structure or antique furniture which we constantly maintain in great conditions in order to save a piece of history on a luxury property.
This caracterization might be different from some modern Westins, but our company sees as an opportunity to melt an historical setting with the conforts and attentions that make Westin hotels such a regenerating place to stay. The same applies to our Westin properties in Rome, Venice, Milan, but the spanish ones can be added, as well as Paris; making them a modern environment would only spoil so many people of the opportunity to still live history, sorrounded by all modern conforts.

As said, we are sorry that this was not your perception and will work harder to communicate better to everyone our availability to provide with different room styles and the caracterization of our property.

We thank you for this opportunity and will remain at your disposal if at any stage you might come back to Florence.
If this chance arises, please let me know it contacting me at massimo.bernardi@starwoodhotels.com
Kindest regards,

Massimo Bernardi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
235 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

We booked a suite at the Hotel and on booking in had to wait a long long time whilst a very large and obnoxious American tour leader complained about everything from the weather, to the mini bar, to lack of parking, poor wifi, lack of wake up call, insufficient hanging space and small breakfast. This whinge session took about 20 mins (seriously) and took three people behind the front desk to address which was poor use of resources.
After waiting about 30mins we were booked into the Hotel and about 45 mins after arriving eventually got into our room which had an ordinary view overlooking the river.
I say ordinary as the view required you to look out a window as opposed to being able to use the verandah due to having the verandah access locked off for some obscure reason. As an experienced firefighter the locking off of the secondary access is poor risk management and exceptionally bad practice. When I asked a staff member as to the reason that the door was locked off he told me it was to " stop people jumping off the balcony" which at the time I did not understand.......however I would two days later.
The cost for this Hotel is quite steep,and to have to pay additional fees for wifi I find it quite a ripoff and the speed is quite slow.
The breakfast provided is quite poor and also extremely expensive for what you get. Seriously consider going to one of the great little cafes for coffee and pastries at about 1/20 th of the cost and who also provide great service.
Concierge team are wonderful and extremely helpful and go out of their way to assist clientele.
One of the issues that really did my head in was the fact that we were in a room underneath one of the larger suites with an outside deck which the oxygen thieves using the room thought extremely funny to have games dragging the steel furniture backwards and forwards across the concrete rook - with the noise transmitted right into our room.
This noise continued for about three hours (10pm to 1 am) and following multiple phone calls to the reception essentially went unaddressed. On the second night I informed the unhelpful staff that if he did not do something that I would be going up to explain to the sack jobs in the room that they had had enough fun and to either leave the furniture alone or to book an ambulance to hospital so they could get the chairs out of their rear. ( my words were a little more direct)
Well bugger me - the unhelpful person suddenly became very helpful and did not need my assistance with the noise ceasing shortly afterwards. If the Hotel were proactive and helpful then they would remove the metal furniture or fix it in one position so it could not be moved.
So the point for you people that have read this comment through to the end is to request any room AWAY from the suites with the outdoor apartment although if you care for your safety i would stay somewhere else as if there is a fire you will most likely burn to death before the Fire Brigade get lads up and force the locked second means of egress.
In short an overpriced hotel, who will stitch you up for WiFi, will serve you an ordinary breakfast and short on proactive fire safety measures BUT with very nice staff

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 373RESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimo B, Responsabile reception at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear 373RESQ,
I am always happy to associate faces and names to the reviews I am answering, and I do recall our encounter at check-in, then later when you came to reception to tell us about the "noisy neighbors".

I will here below give explanation to the points you are giving us feedback on, but let me first of all say that we were sincerely sorry to read that your experience of Florence has not been satisfactory. Here, as well as when we met, we try to take the maximum care of all our guests and be a way for them to enjoy Florence at their best.

About the noise coming from the room above yours: following up with your calls, we have contacted the guests in that room, both times you requested. We did not mentioned your wish to send them to a hospital as it was not made clear to us from your side, not even as a joke while talking with you.
We do understand how noise can bother and we would have loved to be able to stop the noise immediately, but on the first night it took few minutes before reaching the guests on their balcony as we could not access the room as it was locked. On second night was definitely easier as it only took a telephone call.
I do recall offering you an alternative and upgraded accomodation, without having to take care of the room-move nor packing your items, as we would have dedicated all our staff to this placing all your items in the new room as they were set in your previous one, but you declined this option.
This situation is teaching us, therefore we thank you for your valuable feedback.

About the safety measures in place at our property: the windows locks, as explained to you, are in place to avoid risks to our guests especially thought for kids presence, but not only – evidently they are not a preventive suicide measure; that event cannot be prevented by a lock. This measure is in use through all our Starwood properties in the world. By the way, the windows, as you surely recall, are opened upon guests' requests without hesitation and require a waiver signed off.
Besides this, our property has a fire prevention plan which is almost unique in Florence, with monthly fire drills on top of inspections conducted by external companies twice a year, sprinklers in each room tested every six month (in compliance with the Italian regulation) besides the Firemen Certification of Compliance and the staff fully trained by them. Let me than tell you that the chances of burning alive in the Hotel are not as high as you are indicating (I think you could have asked us about this and we would have loved to talk with a professional about a subject which is for us a reason of pride).

About the breakfast choices: our buffet breakfast has a regular cost of €41 per person and consist in a buffet where a choice of 96 different foods are presented, from organic food (vegetables, fruit, superfoods) to pastries, and a chef is present in the breakfast room preparing omelettes and/or eggs at guests' will, this is why the cost is the mentioned one. We do recon that an espresso and a croissant will cost 2 euro at the bar next door as well as we recon the kind of service and atmosphere is definitely different. We actually also have a la carte breakfast options, continental or quick breakfast solutions (less expensive but still aligned with the hotel’s level and comparable in price with our competitors in Florence) and lastly even dedicated packages including breakfast and internet, which can be bought at the hotel, very convenient and promoted throughout the hotel since the check-in time.
We might agree that the noise issue has spoiled the stay, it was unfortunate, though, that there were no chances for us to help solving the problem. As said, we are indeed thankful to your comment as it helped us putting in place new procedures when similar episodes might arise in the future.

We sincerely hope to have the chance of welcoming you back in Florence in the future and wish you all the best for now,

Massimo Bernardi, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

The Westin was very nice - perfect location - comfortable room and very helpful concierge. Moderately priced, comfortable bed and walking distance to everything. Great breakfast! We also enjoyed drinks on the rooftop which was really beautiful to sit outside and enjoy the views. The concierge helped us figure out where all our reservations were, or would call and make dinner reservations for us. I would stay again or try to get a room with a balcony at their sister property the St Regis across the street.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcola823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimo B, Responsabile reception at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear mfounds,
we thank you for your comment!

Whenever you will be coming back to Florence, whether you will choose us again or willing to try the St Regis, please feel free to contact us and we will be able to assist you in finding the right accomodation - being historical buildings, both hotels have very different rooms from which to choose, so we will definitely be at your disposal in order to make sure you have the best room suiting your needs.!

My email address is: massimo.bernardi@starwoodhotels.com

Kindest regards,

Massimo Bernardi, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

i stayed 3 nights at Westin Excelsior and the experience was fantastic. Buffet breakfast was fantastic with so many choices comparing other 5star hotels in europe. Althouhg it was not cheap but it worth! all sight seeing places are within walking distance from the hotel. highly recommend to spend $ to book a room with river/bridge view to enjoy the romantic night.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lily l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel is of course gorgeously appointed and deserving of its SPG Category 6 status. We stayed mostly using cash/point combo and were upgraded using Suite Night rewards to a junior suite facing the Arno river. There is at least one whole floor dedicated to SPB Platinum members which is great. We chose the daily breakfast reward for our Platinum bonus in lieu of points, which was a great decision as the buffet breakfast was great (normally Euro 40 pp). Omelet station, specialty coffees, fresh
fruits, meats, veggies, cereals, pastries, pancakes, you name it! No more than a 15/20 min walk to every major site to see in the city. Will surely return!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amygkaufman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#10 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#22 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#24 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#19 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#15 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Excelsior Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Excelsior Florence

Property: The Westin Excelsior Florence
Address: Piazza di Ognissanti 3, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Florence
#19 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#22 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#30 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Excelsior Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Westin Excelsior Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Excelsior Florence Hotel Florence
Westin Florence
Florence Westin
Westin Excelsior Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing