We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing overview” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Excelsior Florence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Ranked #25 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Amazing overview”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is an extremely beautiful hotel that has the most amazing views. The hotel has a rooftop terrace which has 360 degrees panoramic views of Florence. My friends and I spent the afternoon on the rooftop enjoying the lovely views of Florence. You do not need to be a gust of the hotel to use this facilitate so of you are visiting Florence I suggest this is a place worth visiting for an afternoon drink. Will be visiting this place again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank esubben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,083
    322
    66
    22
    16
See reviews for
296
683
45
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
735 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,306 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Piazza Ognissanti apparently is among the many better addresses in Florence with river views and palazzo-styled buildings. When we first arrived at Excelsior, doormen dressed in tailcoats greeted us as they offered to carry our luggage. We were ushered to the concierge to check in. We had a glimpse of the ornate, vaulted and marbled lobby, shining like it was just decorated, shellacked, polished. An oversized chandelier hung over a round centerpiece table
full of vandas. A good number of people casual in shorts, sandals and t shirts and a few wearing suits lounged around. A noisy group of seniors were near the entrance waiting for their tour bus.

It was around 3:00 pm, just about the time to check in after we returned our rental car. There were three women manning the fort at the concierge. A short-haired woman finally acknowledged us after she fiddled on the computer. We were told that the hotel was full and there were no more riverfront rooms. She dismissed our riverfront reservations with SPG, apparently after she and the other staff already upgraded many people that came before us, before 3 pm. She convinced us to take a partial river view with a guile-ish sales pitch that can make the priests at the chiesa across blush. We were tired so we decided to let it pass.

The room had indeed a partial river view and a full view of the piazza. It was fairly larged-sized. Clean and typical Westin hotel room. The bathroom was among the larger we had in Italy with double vanity sinks, a tub separate from the shower. The carpet and wall paper appeared tired and obviously needed some updating. Some bulbs in the chandelier were busted.The windows did not open completely. That's all? Well it wasn't that bad then.

Fast forward. We could hear people talking in the hallway. A room boy with a glass in his hand dashed in the room without knocking. "Here's the glass that you requested sir" and ran off. A creep in the house? The bed had a ridge in the middle. Ever felt like sleeping on top of the Apennines? Internet at 15 extra a day. Anything more to milk the tourist? The bathroom floor was prone to flooding everytime we showered. The door did not reel in the water but allowed it flow out. Wondered why there were many extra towels in the room?

Fortunately for us, the rest of our experience was close to their promised 5- stars. The breakfast choices were plentifully diverse. When I saw lox, congee, pineapples and mango, I knew I won't be disappointed. We made our own bellinis. Someone at the next table ordered a bloody mary. I was impressed how that big room was managed and run.

Sesto provided unique views of Florence. Its simple contemporary décor was a contrast to the rest of the hotel. And again here, the service, like the city views at night, was topnotch.

A bellhop was prompt in checking our restaurant reservations and making sure we had the best food while in town. He helped us decide where to eat from 2 of our best picks.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ebbtide123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VB_General_Manager, Direttore generale at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear ebbtide 123,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review.
We are truly happy to learn about your wonderful recognition concerning the breakfast, our Se.sto on Arno “top notch” service.
At the same time, we are sincerely sorry to hear that your stay with us was not up to your expectations and wish to apologize most sincerely for not having fully delivered on your satisfaction.
Comments like yours, despite negative, allow us to constantly verify and maintain the quality of our service; for this reason, please rest assured that your feedback will be properly addressed to the departments involved and will be kept into consideration in our continuous effort to improve the products and services delivered.
We hope you will give us the chance to demonstrate we do care and have taken corrective action on your comments, and look forward to welcoming you back to Florence in the nearest future.

Sincerely,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
90 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

The Westin Excelsior was a gorgeous hotel, centrally located and ideal. Rooms are gorgeous and the rooftop restaurant and bar had the most spectacular view of the city; a postcard view; not to be missed. Food excellent, service outstanding. The concierge were kind, helpful and remembered your name after one meeting.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cct208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Our family of four stayed here for 5 nights beginning September 26th. We had a great time. The room and facilities were spotless. Staff well trained and helpful. The location is second to none. We can only say great things about the hotel. Do not hesitate to book here!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Ho Kus, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

My wife and I recently took a trip to Italy and Florence was our first stop. As a dedicated Starwood member, we chose the Westin Excelsior and we were not disappointed. The hotel itself was gorgeous, from the majestic lobby, to the amazing rooftop bar and restaurant (while pricey, the drinks are expertly made and the view is well worth it). Our room was well appointed and much warmer then a standard stark Westin (I find this common in their European hotels). The hotel staff was extremely helpful in making reservations and providing recommendations of sites to see while in town. The best aspect of the hotel has to be its location. Located on the banks of the Arno, you are only a few blocks away from the heart of Florence. We never even took a taxi during our stay. We were able to walk to and from the train station, to all of the major sites, as well as to many excellent restaurants. Highly recommended and thanks for an amazing stay!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms can be quite a distance from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paugom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

I was fortunate enough to be able to accompany eight of my co-workers on a company client incentive trip hosting 50 clients for a five day stay in beautiful Italy at the wonderful Westin Excelsior Florence Hotel. This being my first trip abroad, I can offer these simple pointers for those of you who haven’t been, and are planning a trip to this spectacular country.
Needless to say, the Excelsior Hotel was five star, and absolutely top notch. It is an exquisite stay right on the banks of the Arno river just blocks away from the historical center of Firenze. We broke off into different groups for the stay, but our groups spent two good days in Florence doing nothing but wandering the streets and taking in the history, the sights, the museums, the architecture, and the amazing food, all within walking distance to the hotel. Having downloaded all the language apps and translation trinkets… I never had to use them. The best restaurants were the little private mom & pop shops. Tip: ask for ‘what the chef recommends today’. You‘ll get the best on the menu, and plenty of it. Also, you won’t regret buying any type of leather product from a shop or market vendor.
We took two different day trips; one to Rome and one to Venice. Take the bullet train. Buy the round trip ticket. Don’t miss your train; they won’t wait. When you get to Rome, plan out your subway train routes before going through the gates, and put your wallet in your front pocket. On our trip to Rome we visited the Vatican Museum and the Coliseum & Roman Forum ruins. At the Vatican museum I felt like a sheep being herded through a designed maze. Majestic as it was, I still felt shoved through the experience to see the Sistine Chapel under strict guard. Taking the subway to the Coliseum drops you off right at the site, just like you were headed to an event back in the day! I suggest spending the 25 Euros to have a local student guide verbally walk you through the tour of the deteriorating stadium as well as the ancient Roman ruins next door. When you realize the significance of the grounds you are standing on, it is a moment that you will always remember. Venice was huge and all about shopping and photo ops. A maze of one giant marketplace. Take a water bus to the far side, walk your way to the front, and if you get tired or pressed for time, take a water taxi back to the main entrance to the trains. It's all an amazing visual, audible, and emotional experience.
My only downside to this trip was that I didn’t bring back any local wine, any local olive oil, and that I didn’t get to experience this wonderful venture with my lady, as this was a ‘working vacation excursion’. My advice…take your mate; make some memories. Can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VB_General_Manager, Direttore generale at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Ungowa,

Thank you for your wonderful review!
We are glad that you appreciated our location and the service we daily provide. We do all our best in order to offer our Guests high quality services in order to ensure a most enjoyable and relaxing stay.
Please let us also thank you for having shared with the Tripadvisor community all these interesting tips and recommendations concerning the Florentine local life and about your trips to Rome and Venice. We are sure they will be very useful for all our Guests.

We sincerely look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to Florence and to the Westin Excelsior in the nearest future.

With best regards,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

One of the finest hotels and hotel staffs I have ever encountered. Everyone from the doorman to the housekeepers are simply the best and I have traveled throughout the world. My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary and were treated like VIP's during our 4 night stay. Great location terrific staff and a genuine feeling that they wanted you to be there. Hope to go back again!!

Room Tip: Higher floor gives you a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juantwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VB_General_Manager, Direttore generale at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Juantwo,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments with all the Tripadvisor community.
We are delighted to learn that we have been able to entirely meet your expectation during your stay with us, especially in consideration of the very special occasion you were celebrating!
Please let me thank you for your precious comments concerning our Staff and please rest assured that they have been shared with all the Team and very much appreciated among them.

We sincerely wish it will be no longer before your next visit to Florence and to the Westin Excelsior.

Warmest regards,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#10 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#22 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#24 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#19 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#15 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Excelsior Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Excelsior Florence

Property: The Westin Excelsior Florence
Address: Piazza di Ognissanti 3, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#19 Family Hotel in Florence
#22 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#30 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Excelsior Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your The Westin Excelsior Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Excelsior Florence Hotel Florence
Westin Florence
Florence Westin
Westin Excelsior Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing