We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Westin Excelsior Florence is a Slice of Heaven!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Ranked #28 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This hotel is across from the St. Regis Hotel in Florence. My husband and I went back and forth as to which one we should book. I didn't go in the St. Regis but, we REALLY liked The Westin, the rooftop bar/lounge is amazing! The food in the hotel is really good…but, check out my review of TRATTORIA GARGANI Via del Moro, 48r • Firenze, Italy, if you want a delicious meal!

Back to the hotel review….
We stayed in the St. Regis in Rome for 3 nights before coming to Florence…and while I thought it was amazing….the Westin in Florence is on another level because of the atmosphere of the hotel. My taste is a little more modern and POSH so I loved it.

This was my 3rd time in Florence, and its one of my favorite places to visit.

Ahhhhhh....the shopping is AMAZING! The Food is Incredibile! The people....you feel like you have known for years! :)

Florence will always have a special place in my heart, because this is where my Fiancé bought me the cutest black dress….and I wore it...the night he proposed. See the pictures. :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliciaBarnesJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimo B, Responsabile reception at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Alicia,
the most sincere thank you for your words and I have now seen the wedding is under construction, so are we still in time to wish you an amazing and super romantic wedding? We are happy Jacob choose Florence as the right place to propose, and seeing him on his knees was a great emotion! Thank you for sharing it with us!
We sincerely wish you a great time together; we did not know you had dinner with one of the nicest couples in the world! They are within our favorite guests... :-)
So we look forward to welcoming you back for an anniversary, one of these days, whenever you'll come back, please let us know it in advance!
All the best,
Massimo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

712 - 718 of 1,637 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

I've stayed at the Excelsior in Rome, and I have to say that this smaller Excelsior is the better of the two. Cleaner, with more attentive staff, this hotel should be aware that they have fantastic employees. My luggage was lost so I arrived at the hotel without bags. The front desk staff, in particular, Iacopo, took charge immediately and took my information and called the Florence airport. He then took every effort to keep checking for my baggage until it arrived 2 days later.
Ambra at the front desk was equally wonderful. She was kind, welcoming, and accommodating.

The food at the bar and restaurant was top notch and served with style and grace. The hotel's lobby is grand and the hotel's rooftop restaurant and bar were amazing. Our room was comfortable, clean, and appointed with fine amenities. Yes the hotel is expensive, but, you won't find this kind of hotel for much cheaper. The only downside, is the fitness room needs better equipment and there is no pool, steam room, sauna, etc… You would need to use the St. Regis Hotel across the street if you wanted those amenities. Breakfast is not included nor is internet. I can understand not including breakfast since the breakfast spread is laden with fine foods and even sparkling wine. However, Westin should take note of the growing trend in hotels that includes free internet. No need to charge further in light of the room prices here.

The location is perfect and the old world charm of this hotel takes you back in time to a period of grace and elegance.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimo B, Responsabile reception at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Daer Anthony G,
thank you for your gracious comment, which we have shared with our staff, and with a special mention to Ambra and Iacopo!
We definitely take good note of your suggestions; we have now upgraded the free internet in the common areas of the lobby, to a higher speed connection, so anyone can keep in touch with the world in an easier and more effective way.
We are also very glad of your enjoyment about the breakfast; the buffet quality and variety today is the result of so many suggestions that we do think is actually coming from our guests' preferences!
Whenever you will be planning to visit us Florence, or should you need any assistance for friends or family, please feel free to contact us, we will be pleased to serve them with the same attention you have enjoyed,
Warmest regards,

Massimo Bernardi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed at The Westin Excelsior for our very first visit to Europe, more specifically to Italy. The staff was incredibly helpful, especially after we had missed the last train from Rome to Florence the night of our arrival. They were so understanding and sympathetic that they even upgraded our room when we finally arrived. Our room had the most amazing view of the Arno River and Ponte Vecchio. The hotel is in the most ideal location, only a short walk from so many points of interest including the Uffizi Museum, the Duomo, and Pitti Palace. Our experience couldn't have been more enjoyable and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ipablo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimo B, Responsabile reception at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear ipablo1,
thank you for your words, which we have shared within the hotel!
Whenever you will plan another trip to Florence, please feel free to contact us, we will be more than happy to be of a help again!
Here is my personal email: massimo.bernardi@starwoodhotels.com
Warmest regards!
Massimo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

PROS: good location, nice view on the river, OK rooms, OK restaurants and service.
CONS: Very expensive for what you get :one room @ $ 550 FOR A NIGHT!!, breakfast not included...this is supposed to be a "luxury hotel" but there is no spa, the fitness room is a scary room two floors down accessible by stairs only, poorly equipped , no wipes , no ear buds, lousy TV and no one around to assist you in any way . The rooms are decent but no free paper at your door, no coffee maker, no free WI-FI , no iron/iron board...you have to ask for everything! the so called "free WI-FI "in the lobby does not work well . The food was OK but expensive as well. (however there is a nice view from the top floor restaurant) . What surprised me the most is the lack of security.. the front desk is tucked away on the side in the lobby and pretty much anyone can get in the front door..no key card swipe required in the elevator nor in the fitness room.
Overall very disappointing !

Room Tip: ask for a room w/ view on Arno River...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nadou123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VB_General_Manager, Direttore generale at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear NadChicago,

Please let us thank you for taking the time to share your feelings with us.
We are deeply sorry to read that your experience has been so unsatisfactory. However we thank you for bringing to our attention all your concerns and your comments about the experience at our property, which, despite negative, will certainly help us to intervene and improve the quality of our services.

Referring to your comments, we are sorry if you found our rates expensive; unfortunately, due to the busy season and the high occupancy, it is difficult for us to extend cheaper rates.
As far as the Westin Workout is concerned, please allow us to inform you that the fitness room can be accessed also passing by the breakfast room, at the ground floor.
Moreover, please be informed that, beside our doorman at the entrance of the Hotel, our Concierge Desk is located just on the left of the main access of our Hotel, and is present at the desk 24h/24. In addition to this, please be informed that we also have a security service, who can not be noted as they wear plain clothes.

Thanking you for your kind feedback, we really hope we will have the chance to welcome you to Florence in the soonest future.

Sincerely,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Absolutely beautiful hotel with elegant spaces and wonderful décor. We had a fabulous room facing the river and enjoyed it tremendously. Every detail was perfect and the staff was very friendly and helpful in every way. Sometimes walking in the public spaces, it feels like a gorgeous museum.

Room Tip: It is very nice to have a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Punkicoleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Good, rather old fashioned hotel. Staff very friendly, room clean and a good size ( if a little faded). A few niggles - phones not answered very quickly, they appeared to assume that we didnt want our linen changed unless we said we did. Our double bed was two beds pushed together.

Pluses - the breakfast is really fantastic as is the view from the roof top restaurant.

But it is really really expensive - €800 a night ( mid Oct stay) - really wasn't worth it. And if every budget hotel can give free wifi why are they charging €15 a night - it also doesn't work very well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonMcG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear SimonMcG1,

Thank you for the time taken to post your review on Tripadvisor.

First of all, please let me tell you that we are happy to learn that you appreciated our property and the staff. In particular, it is a pleasure to learn that you found our breakfast and our Se•sto on Arno “fantastic”.
At the same time we are truly sorry to learn about your feedback concerning the phone calls, the bed linen and the wifi, for which we sincerely do apologize.
As far as the wifi is concerned, please allow us to inform you that we have free wifi in public areas, while the wifi in the rooms has a daily charge; we are also changing the actual line to a broad band line.
However, despite negative, your words gave us the opportunity to look into the issues pointed out and will be certainly addressed to the appropriate department, in order to improve the overall quality of our services and guests' experience.

We truly hope we will have the opportunity to restore your confidence in our service. Please feel free to contact us during you next visit to Florence and we will be more than pleased to take care of your reservation.

Sincerely,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed for 1 night. The hotel is grand and traditionally furnished. We had a great room with a small balcony overlooking the River and downstream from the Ponte de vecchio. Breakfast was a small buffet in the dining room but the best dining experience has to be the roof top SE·STO Restaurant. The food was great - mediterranean with small portions, excellent service, the views were wonderful and the sunset glorious. Booking essential! The hotel was well positioned and only a 10 min walk to the Ponte de vecchio and 10 min walk in the other direction to the train station. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iguana_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear iguana_9,

Thank you for having posted your comments also for the Westin Excelsior!
We are truly happy to learn that we have been able to entirely meet your expectation!
We do all our best in order to offer high quality service and to ensure our Guests a most enjoyable and relaxing stay. It is a pleasure also to learn that you have appreciated your room, the breakfast and the location of our property. Please rest assured that your comments will be shared with all the Team.

Thanking you again, we hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Westin Excelsior in Florence in the nearest future.

Sincerely,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#14 of 409 in Florence
1,306 reviews
Duomo
Helvetia & Bristol - Starhotels Collezione
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#16 of 409 in Florence
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lungarno
#11 of 409 in Florence
1,268 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#42 of 409 in Florence
1,336 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Sina Villa Medici
Sina Villa Medici
#88 of 409 in Florence
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Excelsior Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Excelsior Florence

Address: Piazza di Ognissanti 3, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Florence
#19 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#23 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#30 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £279 - £1,122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Excelsior Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Excelsior Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Excelsior Florence Hotel Florence
Westin Florence
Florence Westin
Westin Excelsior Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing