We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good old luxury 5 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Ranked #24 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good old luxury 5 stars”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

A traditional, old fashioned 5 star. Location: centre of the city, on the embankment of the river Arno and a beautiful square, hosting 2 of the most luxurious city's 5 star hotels facing each other. 10 mins walk to the train station. 20 mins drive from the airport. 5 mins to the shops and restaurants.
Attentive staff making your stay comfortable and special. Rooms are lovely old fashioned yet with almost all modern touches when it comes to the facilities. Nice breakfast. Superb top floor bar with a breathtaking view of the city. Internet is paid in rooms, free in the lobby. Loyal to the place for 2 years now.

Room Tip: Ask to see a couple and choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear M Y,

Thank you so much for sharing with us your review!
We really appreciated your wonderful words about our property and about our exceptional Staff.
We sincerely thank you for your loyalty and we look forward to welcoming you back to Florence and to your “home far from home” the Westin Excelsior.

Sincerely,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,124
    330
    67
    22
    16
See reviews for
302
706
46
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
101 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

This review is terribly late - I stayed solo at the end of May 2013. The standout at this hotel was the incredible view from my balcony and the attentiveness of the staff to special requests. This hotel has an old-world charm - if you are looking for sleek and modern, this isn't it. But if you want historic elegance, here it abounds.

Room: I was upgraded upon arrival to a penthouse suite with an incredible view of the Arno. The room wasn't huge, but the balcony was, which was more important to me. The bathroom was fine with dual sinks and pink/red marble.

Food: I didn't have more than a drink and snack in the bar, but I ordered room service a few times. Bountiful selection, delicious wine, and beautiful presentation. Very punctual as well.

Location: Excellent location. You won't be bothered by much noise from the street. I felt completely safe walking alone, and I could easily access all parts of the city I wanted to see by foot.

Staff: Very helpful - I requested and received a late checkout. Also used the concierge for several requests while staying in the city.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor with an exterior view. I believe there are some interior courtyard views, whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lgelkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear lgelkins,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your wonderful review!

We are very happy to learn that you appreciated our classical Florentine old style charm and the “excellent” location of the property.
Moreover, we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our facilities and the service our team provided you. Here at the Westin Excelsior Florence we work very hard to meet, and go beyond, our guests’ expectations!

Hopefully, we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Florence in the soonest future!

With our best regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This visually stunning five star hotel is an experience to be savoured. It is located next to the River Arno and is on the doorstep of all Florentine historical sites and museums. Whilst the hotel itself has historical value, all areas and rooms are of an excellent standard, with lavish decorations and amenities. From the moment you enter the marble enclad and wood panelled foyer, you realise that you have been transported to somewhere very special. We stayed in room 402, which had beautiful views of the river and the surrounding buildings. If you visit, make sure you have dinner at the restaurant on the top floor. The views are stunning, the decor memorable, the food divine and the service impeccable. The Pimms Imperial cocktail, with Pimms and champagne, isn't bad, either! All in all, this is an extremely hospitable hotel, where everything excludes comfort and enjoyment. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to enhance their Floentine experience.

Room Tip: Overlooking the River Arno is highly recommended. A Junior Suite with a terrace would be divine in w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ros2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Ros2,

Please let me thank you for having shared your wonderful feedback with the Tripadvisor community.

We are so happy to learn that you appreciated the location of the Westin Excelsior, the typical Florentine style of our property and the breathtaking views that you can enjoy from our rooms and form the Se•Sto on Arno Rooftop Bar & Restaurant.
We always do our utmost in order to offer high quality service and to ensure a most memorable stay and we are sincerely glad we were able to meet your expectations.

Thanking you again, we look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the soonest future.

With kindest regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We had two rooms facing the Arno river - the view was exhilarating and definitely memorable especially the sun set view! The rooms were adjoining big and clean done in typical italian classic stye yet not over powering and appealing. Opening the window you can hear the rushing of the Arno river which was pleasant and soothing in the quiet of the night!

Staff was very attentive and the service was excellent!!!! The hotel is perfectly located to all the great restaurants and attractions that most visiting the city would enjoy. My wife and I loved the roof top bar for a late afternoon / early evening drink to watch sunset before heading out to dinner with our teenage children - who looked forward to joining us there as well. You cannot find a better location in Florence.

The entire concierge team is top notch and tended to every question we put to them or recommendation we sought their insight and guidance on. They did not hesitate to recommend nearby restaurants (a special trip for hamburgers for our daughter) for us to try and we like them too - felt like part of the Westin family!!! They also helped to book tickets for train travel, tickets to Uffizzi and Accademia as well as a round private van excursion to Pisa for our family.

We had such a wonderful time at this Westin hotel so much when we were there in March that when we visited Florence again in October for a friends 50th we used the Westin as our base for the day. Our friends loved the roof top bar as we did 6 months earlier in March.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear James h,

The title of your feedback says it all!

We are very happy to read your wonderful comments about the room we chose for you and, particularly, about the “attentive” staff and “excellent” service. Our intention was to take care of you and to make your stay be special and unique and this is the reason why hearing your beautiful comments makes us proud of our work.

Thanking you for your recognition and for your loyalty, we would be honored to welcoming you back on your next trip to Florence to make you feel even more special.

Best regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Another wonderful Westin stay with the family. Great location with beautiful views. Incredibly elegant entrance. Attentive staff an luxurious rooms. I would recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Florence as a family or traveling as a couple.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimo B, Responsabile reception at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Jess,
we are very happy you had a good time with your family here!

If at any stage you might plan to come back, please contact us in advance, so that we can take a special care of your reservation!

All the best,

Massimo Bernardi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We had a room facing the Arno river an the view was exhilarating and definitely memorable especially the sun set view! The room was very big and clean done in typical italian classic stye yet not over powering and appealing. You can hear the rushing of the Arno river which was pleasant and soothing in the quiet of the night!

The breakfast has a wide variety and you can order eggs cooked to your liking! The food was good but not excellent and was sufficient to start your day. We had room service and the food arrive promptly and was good.

The concierge was very good and did not hesitate to recommend nearby restaurants for us to try and we like them too. They also helped to book tickets for sone of the places to visit and even help us to book a personal tour guide to take us around the sights in the city and Pisa. The guide was very good and knowledgeable and wasted no time in getting us up to speed with the history and collections of the museum there. Highly recommended if you want to know all the masters from the renaissance period and their masterworks!

The hotel is also very conveniently located as florence is not big and you can get around by just walking which we did for our city tour with the guide. Shopping is also available nearby and every corner seems to have something ineteresting to look or buy!

Although the hotel building is very old, you don't feel it that way cos it's been renovated to retain it's classical ambience and you feel like some distant viscount returning to his villa after a long day out! Would I stay here again? Definitely, and I would splurge to get the room with the arno view and do it all over again with a tour guide. you don't want to miss out on all the masterworks. There are so many masters and the guide is the expert to lead you see the ones you don't want to miss! And, I'll see them all over again and again!!

Room Tip: Get the view of Arno and you won't regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimo B, Responsabile reception at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Holee,
we are grateful to your comment, both due to the positive feedback and because of your mentioning the good food but not excellent. As we strive for excellence, it would be great for us to know a little bit more about it, and for this reason I will leave here below y email address on which I would be more than happy to hear your suggestions on what to improve.
And of course, please use my contact to set your future stay with us! It will be my pleasure to help you with the booking, on the river again!

If I can add a personal suggestion on what to visit next time (if you did not this time), don't miss the Cappella Brancacci: seeing so clearly where the Renaissance was born, in painting, is an incredible emotion and I am sure is something that will remain within your nicest memories!

My contact: massimo.bernardi@starwoodhotels.com

We look forward to welcoming you back in Florence in the soonest future,

Massimo Bernardi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Staff was very fluent and the service was excellent. The hotel is centrally located to all the great restaurants and attractions that most visiting the city would enjoy. We loved the roof top bar late at night before retiring to our beautiful room. You cannot find a better location in Florence. I will definitely be back on my next trip to Florence.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimo B, Responsabile reception at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Bill1007,
we thank you for your feedback, and we sincerely look forward to welcomig you back in Florence!
Whenever you will return to visit us, please contact us in advance and we will be pleased to take a special care of you!

We wish you a great start of 2014!

Massimo Bernardi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#9 of 422 in Florence
1,241 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#26 of 422 in Florence
992 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#33 of 422 in Florence
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#23 of 422 in Florence
956 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#10 of 422 in Florence
1,452 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#17 of 422 in Florence
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Excelsior Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Excelsior Florence

Property: The Westin Excelsior Florence
Address: Piazza di Ognissanti 3, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#19 Family Hotel in Florence
#21 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#30 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Excelsior Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Excelsior Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Excelsior Florence Hotel Florence
Westin Florence
Florence Westin
Westin Excelsior Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing