We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebrities can say they stayed in my suite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Ranked #28 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Little did we know our visit to this stunning property would precede the Kanye West-Kim Kardashian wedding by a few days, or that many of the celebrity wedding guests would stay here. But, since we were treated like royalty by the entire staff, these celebrities could not have gotten any better treatment. The upgraded suite was fantastic, and the staff kept looking formats to be more helpful. Laura B. and Francesca at the the front desk made us want to book our return trip right then and there. They were particularly gracious despite the burden of a service workers 24 hour strike, which, due to their efforts, we did not even notice.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, consider asking for a room away from any large late night group parties.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimo B, Responsabile reception at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Steve R,
During the wedding time there was a group of people waiting to take pictures or autographs out of our front door; whenever someone was entering and asking us who this people were waiting for, we always answered: YOU!
Someone thought it was a joke, but is actually what we always try to do: treat everyone as a celebrity or a royalty... The trick is that we love what we do, and welcoming people is the common ground uniting everyone here at the Westin Excelsior. We are very happy you enjoyed it!
I shared your comment with Laura and Francesca, and they send their warmest regards!
A presto!

Massimo Bernardi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,604)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Excelsior Florence
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

636 - 642 of 1,604 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

My daughter and I stayed there for 3 nights the room was huge the beds were beyond comfortable and the staff was amazing, the highlight was the rooftop restaurant/bar and Luca ( bartender extraordinaire ) made drinks that were out of a book... The Westin is a first class experience for a moderate price.... I highly recommend this fantastic hotel.... not one complaint at all

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorialuminum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The 6th floor at Westin in Florence not only houses one of the most beautiful views but the best meal I had in Europe and fantastic service. Originally we were concerned that with the money we spent, that it we would not be full, but really it was totally worth the price. It averages about 90EUR per person including appetizer, main course, and shared bottle of wine. We did not have any room for dessert but the wonderful staff gave us two wonderful plates of these little cookies.
Magical evening....I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tsoi888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimo B, Responsabile reception at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Tsoi888,
we are very happy to read your review; we all love the SeSto over here, and try to make it the best restaurant around. Your comment has been a balm for many of the people working hard there, and we can't wait to have you back in the soonest future!
All the best,
Massimo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Very kind, we were greater by Connie who was amazing. She made sure we were in a room to our liking. SpG members are treated well. Great decor.
My only issue is at these rates internet/wifi should be free in the room. But that's a Westin thing.
Great hotel. Amazing room.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheerup2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimo B, Responsabile reception at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Cheerup2,
Costanza thanks you for your comment and says her job was so easy with such a nice person like you!
Indeed we love the SPG program and we try to recognize all benefits, especially the ones related to availability, to the guests we know are the most loyal...
Thank you for staying with us, we sincerely hope to have you back soon!
All the best,
Massimo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed for a week in May. We know Florence well but this was the first time at this hotel. Facilities, staff and food all excellent, and the bed was definitely the most comfortable we have EVER slept in - fully deserves the "Heavenly Bed' motif. Rooftop bar has one of the best views in the City, and is worth a visit, but don't bother eating in the rooftop restaurant - overpriced, mediocre food - you can eat far better Tuscan food for a fraction of the price in many of the osteria a few streets away, or eat the simple meals available to order at the lobby bar (we didn't eat in the main restaurant downstairs). Beware of conventions - there were several large conventions using the hotel when we were there and they tend to swamp lifts etc, although the hotel is generally very good at allocating bars and rooms so that the impact on ordinary guests is minimised. The hotel is slightly away from the busy heart of the city, so is refreshingly quiet after the crowds of tourists and organised tours that pack the centre! Staff are excellent in all respects. We will definitely return - review would be five stars if it wasn't for the disappointment of the rooftop restaurant experience.

Room Tip: Internal rooms face onto a courtyard with no view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillf936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimo B, Responsabile reception at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Gill F,
we thank you for your comment, and are very happy for the good experience you have had.
Upon your return we will ask you for a direct feedback on what we could improve at our rooftop restaurant, as we strive to make it always better.
Anytime you will plan to come back, please feel free to contact us, we will dedicate a special attention to your reservation!
All the best for now,
Massimo Bernardi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Great hotel in convenient location. Staff at reception is very welcoming, and the concierge service is also great. They go an extra mile to help you with information, bookings etc. I also recommend the roof-top restaurant with wonderful views and good Italian cuisine.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Konstantin72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Konstantin72,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments with all of us.
We are truly happy to learn that you appreciated our location and, most important, the attitude of our Staff. Moreover, we sincerely appreciated your wonderful comments concerning our Se.Sto On Arno Rooftop Bar & Restaurant.
Hopefully, we will have soon the pleasure of welcioming you back to Florence and to our Wstin Excelsior.

Sincerely,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Beautiful hotel, great stay. We were traveling with our 16 year old son and it is difficult to find rooms in Europe that can accommodate three people--and expensive to have to get two separate rooms. Our room was very spacious and had a roll away bed that was extremely comfortable for him. The hotel staff is wonderful--the concierge's restaurant recommendations were fantastic. We had lunch one day and cocktails another on the sixth floor-- The view from the restaurant is spectacular. Would recommend this hotel without reservation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#13 of 411 in Florence
1,287 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#26 of 411 in Florence
1,024 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#15 of 411 in Florence
642 reviews
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Hotel Lungarno
#12 of 411 in Florence
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Excelsior Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Excelsior Florence

Address: Piazza di Ognissanti 3, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Florence
#19 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#24 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#30 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £293 - £1,565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Excelsior Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Excelsior Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Excelsior Florence Hotel Florence
Westin Florence
Florence Westin
Westin Excelsior Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing