We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Florentine Luxury ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Ranked #26 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Florentine Luxury ”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

My Wife and I stayed at the Westin Excelsior for close to a week and we loved the experience. The service was great and the hotel staff really takes care of the place. The hotel is a little off the beaten path but the surrounding area is very nice and safe. We had a room with a balcony over looking the square between the Westin and the St. Regis. It was during the Ferrari Cavalcade so there were close to 70 Ferraris parked in the square and around the hotel. It really added to the Italian atmosphere. Also, if you are in Florence get a drink at the Westin's rooftop bar. The best views in the city can be seen from there.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mchavez78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Mchavez78,

What a wonderful review! Thank you for sharing it with the TripAdvisor community.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed our little attention and the strong commitment of our team to create a memorable stay with us at The Westin. Thank you for your recognition and it will be a pleasure for us to welcoming you back on your next trip to Florence and to meeting you personally.

Warmest regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,136
    333
    68
    22
    17
See reviews for
308
713
46
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located on the Arno river and is a 10-20 minute walk from Florence's major sights. The lobby and rooms are nicely appointed. There is a rooftop bar/restaurant with beautiful city and sunset views (get there early to secure a seat). There is a lobby bar with live piano music in the evening. The staff is very friendly. However, a non-view room is just that: our third floor room looked onto a small enclosed courtyard. The noise from the rooftop bar was quite prominent one night. Also, our particular room (359) is located next to a service closet, which is accessed all day, with subsequent door slams that are very prominent in the room.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pw9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear pw9999,

Thank you very much for having shared your feelings with the TripAdvisor community.
We are sincerely pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us in Florence and that you have appreciated the newly renovated Lobby and rooms.
At the same time, we would like to inform you that we have taken good note of your comments and concerns about the noises from the service closet and the rooftop, which will be discussed with all concerned.
Thanking you for your feedback and your contribution, we would be honored to welcoming you back on your next trip to Florence to make you feel even more special.

With warm regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Gorgeous hotel in a fabulous location. Rooms are large and very well equipped. They seem to have thought if everything. The staff is incredibly accommodating. All requests (room service, reservations, and even additional converters) were quickly responded to. A great point from which to explore the city. Would definitely recommended this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandB31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear MandB31,

We are very happy to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with our service, our renovated rooms and our incredible staff. Please rest assured we will share your comments with all the team!
Thanking you again for recommending our Westin Excelsior Florence, we hope we will have the chance to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This hotel is the most beautiful, romantic place to stay. Totally embodies the spirit of Florence and my dreams of Italy. I arrived right after the Kim K wedding party lol. But even then the concierge and the staff for how prestgious this hotel is treats you with a lot of respect. I received the Arno view room as an upgrade and when the bellman opened the door to my balcony it took my breath away. The view was absolutely perfect and dreamy! My room was just stunning with the chandalier over my bed, and speaking of which the bed was soo comfortable. I did realize here I am allergic to feather beds. I told the front desk no problem, everything on my bed changed over no problem. The bathroom also had a view of the Arno river. I ate again on the roof top (seem to like this in Italy) and the food was expensive but good. The staff didnt speak too much English but they were warm and friendly. The view from the roof top was amazing too and the piano playing at the end of the evening was very good too. The restaurant was frequented by upscale locals so the food must be good. All in all a very pleasant stay. I am now a huge fan of Westin hotels.

The location of the hotel feels like a short 5 minute stroll to major sites. I also had to travel back to the train station a few times and other than getting lost, once I got my bearings it was also a quick 5 minute walk away.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony view over looking Arno river
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrenieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is a lovely hotel. It's in the perfect location for exploring Florence, it's beautifully decorated, and very comfortable. The concierge staff is outstanding and extremely helpful, as was the front desk, house keeping, and banquet staff. There is also a gem of a bartender in the lobby bar who was wonderfully charming and fun to chat with throughout our entire stay. The view from the sixth floor bar is breathtaking! The reason I gave a 4 star rating instead of 5 was because of the breakfast staff. They perhaps need to be reminded that if they are going to complain under their breath about having to deal with "stupid Americans", they should be aware that some of those Americans are fluent in Italian and can hear every word of their not so nice complaining. We were travelling with a well known and high end tour group when we stayed here and all three of the mornings we came in for the breakfast we were given very brisk, unfriendly service. This was a huge departure from the banquet staff we had for the dinner that was held for us there, all of whom were very kind and courteous. I myself am the Director of Catering at a resort in the States, and believe me, I know what it's like to have "annoying tourists" all the time, but these tourists are the reason we all have jobs. Complaining about them on the floor is unacceptable. Complaining about them when you're standing at their table because you don't think they can understand you is reprehensible. That aside I would absolutely stay here again and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peli_roja2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear peli_roja2204,

We are so happy to learn that you have appreciated the location of our property. Most importantly, we are truly honoured by your comments and by your recognition concerning our “outstanding” staff and service, especially for our Banqueting, Housekeeping and Concierge teams.
On the other hand, we are sincerely sorry to read your comments about the breakfast staff and about the service experienced. Please rest assured that your feedback has received our best attention and will be properly addressed to the appropriate team.
Thanking you again for your precious contribution, we hope we will have the pleasure of your return stay soon; please, do not hesitate to contact us directly in order to let us take care of your future reservation and to personalize your stay with us.

With Best Regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here during our first trip to Florence. Aside from falling in love with Florence and its surrounding areas, staying in a hotel that has friendly staff and who can remember your names is a BIG plus! We were upgraded to a suite where there is a sitting area and a champagne was delivered to our room free of charge. The only odd thing is that the television is located and visible only in the sitting area and not from the bed/bedroom. Plus you would need to walk past sitting area to get to the bathroom as there is no direct access from the bedroom. Maybe because its a very old building and it would be tough to rearrange the floor plan! The manager on duty and their concierge are extremely friendly and helpful. Very much the opposite of what we experience in Rome! The location is perfect as it is beside the river and it has its own quiet and spacious plaza. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Konea2178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Konea2178,

Thank you for your positive review! Your comments are greatly appreciated and will be shared with all the team. Learning that we entirely met your expectations makes all of us proud of our work!
Please let us also thank you for your feedback about the furniture of the room, it will be taken into consideration in order to ensure a most enjoyable and relaxing stay to our guests!

It has been a pleasure to have you staying with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Warmest regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed for 3 nights on a family vacation. We had 2 rooms and both had balconies with views of the Arno. They placed our 2 rooms across from each other so we were all near each other. The concierge team was OUTSTANDING! They helped us secure last minute dinner reservations, a day trip to Tuscany, and a swimming pool for my son to train in.......all was done with careful consideration. Truly exceptional service! The location is ideal also with a quick walk to all that Florence has to offer. We would stay here again without exception. The wi-fi signal was great too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHP70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VB_General_Manager, Direttore generale at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear CHP70,

Thank you for taking the time to post your amazing review!
It is so wonderful to know that you and your family had an amazing stay with us and that you enjoyed your accommodations with the breathtaking Arno view! Please let us know when you will plan to visit us again so that we can coordinate a even better experience.

Best regards from Florence,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#11 of 411 in Florence
1,261 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#28 of 411 in Florence
1,000 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#10 of 411 in Florence
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#24 of 411 in Florence
631 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#22 of 411 in Florence
974 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#16 of 411 in Florence
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Excelsior Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Excelsior Florence

Property: The Westin Excelsior Florence
Address: Piazza di Ognissanti 3, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#19 Family Hotel in Florence
#22 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#30 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Excelsior Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Excelsior Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Excelsior Florence Hotel Florence
Westin Florence
Florence Westin
Westin Excelsior Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing