We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Disappoints”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Ranked #26 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at this fantastic property many times over the years and our most recent stay in May was perfect. We traveled with family (there first time at the hotel) the staff treated them like they were family and went out of the way to make them feel at home. We arrived at the hotel and were warmly greeted by our friends Jacapo, Andrea, Nikko, Daniele, Massimo, Ambra, Pier Paolo, Franco, Stefano and Costanza. We were escorted to our room on the 5th floor with a fantastic view of the Arno and the Duomo and our Family had a great room with a view of the Arno. The staff could not have done more for us and we appreciate all they do, they are the reason we return year after year. A trip to Florence would not be complete without a stay at the Westin Excelsior and seeing all our friends.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FirstcoastTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimo B, Responsabile reception at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear FirstCoastTom (it is bizarre to address you with this name!!!),
just a most sincere thank you from the whole staff over here!
I have read to message to Costana, Stefano and all the guys at concierge, but will definitely share it with Franco and Pierpaolo who are going to send you the same smile we all have felt naturally opening in all of us!
All the best from the whole Westin Excelsior,
Massimo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

667 - 673 of 1,682 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

We really lived staying at this hotel in Florence. It overlooks the water if you have a room that faces that direction or it may face the ritz Carlton their sister hotel. The charm of the hotel also lies in that it was once an old Medici mansion. The large artworks in the hallway reminds you that you are in Italy. The reception area was beautiful. The concierge was ver helpful. We walked from the hotel to all our touristy hits.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimo B, Responsabile reception at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Julie W,
We are happy to read you had a great time in Florence for your honeymoon!

Just let us point one thing, for whoever will be reading your comment: the building we are in belonged to Carolina Bonaparte (sister of the famous Napoleon) but not to the Medici family, as far as we could document its history... It is sure that this neighbourhood was under the influence of the Vespucci family, or at least was where they came from, and their Amerigo was the man who understood that America was America, but we do not have more precise information until the 19th century. We were anyhow very proud to be identified as a Medici property!

We hope to have you back soon in Florence, or maybe for your anniversary!
All the best,

Massimo Bernardi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

My Wife and I stayed at the Westin Excelsior for close to a week and we loved the experience. The service was great and the hotel staff really takes care of the place. The hotel is a little off the beaten path but the surrounding area is very nice and safe. We had a room with a balcony over looking the square between the Westin and the St. Regis. It was during the Ferrari Cavalcade so there were close to 70 Ferraris parked in the square and around the hotel. It really added to the Italian atmosphere. Also, if you are in Florence get a drink at the Westin's rooftop bar. The best views in the city can be seen from there.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Mchavez78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Mchavez78,

What a wonderful review! Thank you for sharing it with the TripAdvisor community.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed our little attention and the strong commitment of our team to create a memorable stay with us at The Westin. Thank you for your recognition and it will be a pleasure for us to welcoming you back on your next trip to Florence and to meeting you personally.

Warmest regards,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hotel is located on the Arno river and is a 10-20 minute walk from Florence's major sights. The lobby and rooms are nicely appointed. There is a rooftop bar/restaurant with beautiful city and sunset views (get there early to secure a seat). There is a lobby bar with live piano music in the evening. The staff is very friendly. However, a non-view room is just that: our third floor room looked onto a small enclosed courtyard. The noise from the rooftop bar was quite prominent one night. Also, our particular room (359) is located next to a service closet, which is accessed all day, with subsequent door slams that are very prominent in the room.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank pw9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear pw9999,

Thank you very much for having shared your feelings with the TripAdvisor community.
We are sincerely pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us in Florence and that you have appreciated the newly renovated Lobby and rooms.
At the same time, we would like to inform you that we have taken good note of your comments and concerns about the noises from the service closet and the rooftop, which will be discussed with all concerned.
Thanking you for your feedback and your contribution, we would be honored to welcoming you back on your next trip to Florence to make you feel even more special.

With warm regards,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Gorgeous hotel in a fabulous location. Rooms are large and very well equipped. They seem to have thought if everything. The staff is incredibly accommodating. All requests (room service, reservations, and even additional converters) were quickly responded to. A great point from which to explore the city. Would definitely recommended this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandB31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear MandB31,

We are very happy to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with our service, our renovated rooms and our incredible staff. Please rest assured we will share your comments with all the team!
Thanking you again for recommending our Westin Excelsior Florence, we hope we will have the chance to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This hotel is the most beautiful, romantic place to stay. Totally embodies the spirit of Florence and my dreams of Italy. I arrived right after the Kim K wedding party lol. But even then the concierge and the staff for how prestgious this hotel is treats you with a lot of respect. I received the Arno view room as an upgrade and when the bellman opened the door to my balcony it took my breath away. The view was absolutely perfect and dreamy! My room was just stunning with the chandalier over my bed, and speaking of which the bed was soo comfortable. I did realize here I am allergic to feather beds. I told the front desk no problem, everything on my bed changed over no problem. The bathroom also had a view of the Arno river. I ate again on the roof top (seem to like this in Italy) and the food was expensive but good. The staff didnt speak too much English but they were warm and friendly. The view from the roof top was amazing too and the piano playing at the end of the evening was very good too. The restaurant was frequented by upscale locals so the food must be good. All in all a very pleasant stay. I am now a huge fan of Westin hotels.

The location of the hotel feels like a short 5 minute stroll to major sites. I also had to travel back to the train station a few times and other than getting lost, once I got my bearings it was also a quick 5 minute walk away.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony view over looking Arno river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irenie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is a lovely hotel. It's in the perfect location for exploring Florence, it's beautifully decorated, and very comfortable. The concierge staff is outstanding and extremely helpful, as was the front desk, house keeping, and banquet staff. There is also a gem of a bartender in the lobby bar who was wonderfully charming and fun to chat with throughout our entire stay. The view from the sixth floor bar is breathtaking! The reason I gave a 4 star rating instead of 5 was because of the breakfast staff. They perhaps need to be reminded that if they are going to complain under their breath about having to deal with "stupid Americans", they should be aware that some of those Americans are fluent in Italian and can hear every word of their not so nice complaining. We were travelling with a well known and high end tour group when we stayed here and all three of the mornings we came in for the breakfast we were given very brisk, unfriendly service. This was a huge departure from the banquet staff we had for the dinner that was held for us there, all of whom were very kind and courteous. I myself am the Director of Catering at a resort in the States, and believe me, I know what it's like to have "annoying tourists" all the time, but these tourists are the reason we all have jobs. Complaining about them on the floor is unacceptable. Complaining about them when you're standing at their table because you don't think they can understand you is reprehensible. That aside I would absolutely stay here again and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peli_roja2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear peli_roja2204,

We are so happy to learn that you have appreciated the location of our property. Most importantly, we are truly honoured by your comments and by your recognition concerning our “outstanding” staff and service, especially for our Banqueting, Housekeeping and Concierge teams.
On the other hand, we are sincerely sorry to read your comments about the breakfast staff and about the service experienced. Please rest assured that your feedback has received our best attention and will be properly addressed to the appropriate team.
Thanking you again for your precious contribution, we hope we will have the pleasure of your return stay soon; please, do not hesitate to contact us directly in order to let us take care of your future reservation and to personalize your stay with us.

With Best Regards,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#14 of 410 in Florence
1,328 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#10 of 410 in Florence
1,669 reviews
Hotel Lungarno
#6 of 410 in Florence
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#36 of 410 in Florence
660 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 410 in Florence
2,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Excelsior Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Excelsior Florence

Address: Piazza di Ognissanti 3, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#19 Family Hotel in Florence
#22 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#30 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £264 - £640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Excelsior Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Excelsior Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Excelsior Florence Hotel Florence
Westin Florence
Florence Westin
Westin Excelsior Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing