We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Alessandra(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$255
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Il Guelfo Bianco(Florence)
US$241
US$220
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$497
US$445
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$356
US$276
L’Orologio Firenze
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$397
US$331
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$302
US$290
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$946
US$874
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Rapallo(Florence)
US$436
US$285
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Minerva(Florence)
US$575
US$434
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$383
US$358
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,703)
Filter reviews
1,703 results
Traveller rating
1,236
352
72
25
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,236
352
72
25
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarno riverheavenly bedrooftop barpiazza ognissantistarwood pointsbeautiful hotelconcierge staffst regisupgraded roomtop floorold worldan upgradeluxury hotelrental cartrain stationour honeymoondinner reservations
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
678 - 683 of 1,703 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Where do we start

- room wasn't ready when we checked in at 5pm
- "your room will be ready in 15mins" turned into a 90 minute wait
- 3 hours after check in we had to move rooms when the roof fell in
- second room flooded
- key didn't work for more than a day (every day we stayed)
- Internet didn't work for more than a day
- getting someone's attention to order in the breakfast room is harder than getting a cab in NYC on New Year's Eve
- Bar man too busy to take our order carries Negroni's over for the concierge staff (customer first)

As I started a beautiful property ruined by incompetent staff

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Mitchpa,

Please let us thank you first of all for the time taken to share your feedback with us.
We sincerely value our Guests’ comments and deeply regret when their expectations are not met. Indeed, we thank you for expressing your concerns regarding the service and the personnel, which will certainly help us to verify, intervene and improve the quality of the service we provide and our Guests' experience. Your comments will be kept into great consideration, properly addressed and discussed.
We thank you for sharing your thoughts with us and look forward to welcoming you back in your next stays.

With best regards,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location to walk to everything in Florence. Beautifully appointed large rooms with excellent amenities. We upgraded to a river view room. I think we could have forgone that extra cost daily. Daily breakfast is excellent and the hotel staff was very helpful and informative.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tennismum916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Tennismum916,

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful feedback with us!
We are delighted to know that we were able to entirely meet with your expectations. Your comments have been shared with the Team and very much appreciated among them.
We hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Florence in a not too distant future.

Warm regards,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Hands down. This is my favorite hotel in the world. The staff is great. The room is beautiful. The location is excellent. You really can’t ask for too much more in a hotel. The hotel overlooks the Arno River and has beautiful views. Plus, it’s within walking distance to the train station. There is a beautiful restaurant on the upper floor that overlooks the countryside. I spent 10 days in Italy and visited Rome, Florence, Pisa and Milan. The food at the hotel restaurant was the best I had during the entire trip. The hotel treats each guest like royalty. Simply the best.
P.S. - For SPG fans, the St. Regis is directly across the street.

Room Tip: If you want a great view, ask for a room that overlooks the Arno river. Some street noise, but not too much.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KMichelleM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear KMichelleM,

The title of your review says it all!
We are so proud to be considered the “best hotel in the world” and to be at the top of your preferred hotels! We will keep working hard to surprise you and to make you feel special even more on your next stay.
Thanking you, we hope you will return to the Westin Excelsior in the soonest future.

Warmest regards,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Our room was delicious and luxurious. The hotel staff was extremely helpful with all our requests and the rooftop bar with great views of the Arno was an added bonus. Beautiful lobby was great for congregating and watching the world cup.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DocRenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

One of my favorite hotels in the world! Simply expect Excellence in service at the Westin Excelsior Florence. The entire staff is absolutely amazing! The hotel just went under renovation this year and everything is refreshed. A must stay while in Florence!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaVok8Fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear CaVok8Fly,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us!
We are very happy to learn that you had an excellent stay with us and that we have achieved our main goal: be your Home away from Home.
We are also pleased to know that you appreciated the professionalism of our wonderful team, we always do our best to make every guest feel special!
It has been a pleasure to have you staying with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Warmest regards,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews