We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of my favorite hotels!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Ranked #24 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
570 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“One of my favorite hotels!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

The Westin Excelsior is in a great location and the beds are extremely comfortable. The breakfast is delicious. The views from the room are very nice and beautiful. This hotel made our stay in Florence a great one.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank FamTimeFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear FanTimeFL,

A big thank you for having shared your feedback with all of us.
We are more than pleased to know that you appreciated the comfort of our signature Heavenly Bed and that you enjoyed the location of our property, especially the breathtaking views from our rooms.
Mostly important, it is an honor for us to read that we created a memorable stay for you!
It has been a pleasure to have you staying with us and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Warmest regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,106
    326
    66
    22
    16
See reviews for
301
697
45
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here on a rewards trip with my employer. What a beautiful property! Rooms were tastefully decorated and hotel as a whole was well kept and clean. Service was great and I slept great each night I was here.

Our room faced the piazza over hotel entrance, looking right onto the Arno river. Ponte Vecchio and Duomo are each within a 7 to 10 minute walk.

I came in on train but you're still a close taxi ride to this station as well as the airport. What a magical city - and this great hotel added to the experience!

Room Tip: Face the piazza, across from the St. Regis - so you can see the river. Even better yet, get a room f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ut_ragazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear ut_ragazzo,

Thank you for your sharing your review with Tripadvisor community!
It is marvellous to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will personally pass on your nice comments to our staff.
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Westin Excelsior Florence in the near future.

Best regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Fab location and beautiful historic building. Unfortunately, some service hiccups which could have been easily avoided with better systems / processes. Andrea the concierge was excellent, as was one of his colleagues (I wish I could remember his name). Great to have the concierge pre arrange tickets to Uffizzi and Accademia, also dinner reservations

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank justanothertravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Justanoth,

A big thank you for having shared your comments with us!
It is so wonderful to know that that you enjoyed your visit and that you appreciated our wonderful location. We are very proud to have Andrea in our team and we will absolutely share your feedback with him and with all the team.
We thank you for your contribution as it allows us to always verify and improve the quality of service we provide.
We look forward to welcome you back to the Westin Excelsior Florence soon!

Best regard,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Well we came to this hotel after spending a week out in the beautiful Tuscan countryside where it was quiet and beautiful. In retrospect, I would have stayed in the countryside and traveled into Florence by train. The Westin Excelsior was a very nice hotel, large rooms and located right on the river. I did think the noise was a little much. You could hear people walking, doors slamming early in the morning and even someone getting in the bath tub in the room over us. I like dark rooms and that was also a problem. The bathrooms are large and the beds are large and comfortable. We also were able to get an extra bed in the room to accommodate our daughter. That is a hard thing to find in Europe sometime.
The very best thing about this hotel is the bar Se Sto on the 6th floor. Beautiful panaramic views, nice cocktails (although pricey) they were very creative. You can sit outdoors or indoors. Around 6:30 pm they have a wonderful hors d'oeuvre service which makes up for the price of the drinks. A great way to end the afternoon! I imagine the restaurant was equally wonderful and it is located right next to the bar with equally great views. I would suggest making a reservation because they were full each night. The concierge was very helpful in arranging for me to use the phone to make local calls to rearrange some airline tickets.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbraswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear bbraswell,

Please let us thank you for taking time to post your review.
We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for letting us know that you appreciated the service and the attitude of our professional staff. Moreover, we are delighted and honored to know that your visit to our Se•Sto On Arno entirely met with your expectations.
On the other hand, we feel very sorry for the noise experienced during your stay. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. Please rest assured that your comments will be addressed to the appropriate department and properly discussed.
Thanking you again, we wish we will have the chance to welcoming you back soon to the Westin Excelsior Florence.

Best regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
123 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Where do we start

- room wasn't ready when we checked in at 5pm
- "your room will be ready in 15mins" turned into a 90 minute wait
- 3 hours after check in we had to move rooms when the roof fell in
- second room flooded
- key didn't work for more than a day (every day we stayed)
- Internet didn't work for more than a day
- getting someone's attention to order in the breakfast room is harder than getting a cab in NYC on New Year's Eve
- Bar man too busy to take our order carries Negroni's over for the concierge staff (customer first)

As I started a beautiful property ruined by incompetent staff

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Mitchpa,

Please let us thank you first of all for the time taken to share your feedback with us.
We sincerely value our Guests’ comments and deeply regret when their expectations are not met. Indeed, we thank you for expressing your concerns regarding the service and the personnel, which will certainly help us to verify, intervene and improve the quality of the service we provide and our Guests' experience. Your comments will be kept into great consideration, properly addressed and discussed.
We thank you for sharing your thoughts with us and look forward to welcoming you back in your next stays.

With best regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
155 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location to walk to everything in Florence. Beautifully appointed large rooms with excellent amenities. We upgraded to a river view room. I think we could have forgone that extra cost daily. Daily breakfast is excellent and the hotel staff was very helpful and informative.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tennismum916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Tennismum916,

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful feedback with us!
We are delighted to know that we were able to entirely meet with your expectations. Your comments have been shared with the Team and very much appreciated among them.
We hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Florence in a not too distant future.

Warm regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Hands down. This is my favorite hotel in the world. The staff is great. The room is beautiful. The location is excellent. You really can’t ask for too much more in a hotel. The hotel overlooks the Arno River and has beautiful views. Plus, it’s within walking distance to the train station. There is a beautiful restaurant on the upper floor that overlooks the countryside. I spent 10 days in Italy and visited Rome, Florence, Pisa and Milan. The food at the hotel restaurant was the best I had during the entire trip. The hotel treats each guest like royalty. Simply the best.
P.S. - For SPG fans, the St. Regis is directly across the street.

Room Tip: If you want a great view, ask for a room that overlooks the Arno river. Some street noise, but not t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMichelleM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear KMichelleM,

The title of your review says it all!
We are so proud to be considered the “best hotel in the world” and to be at the top of your preferred hotels! We will keep working hard to surprise you and to make you feel special even more on your next stay.
Thanking you, we hope you will return to the Westin Excelsior in the soonest future.

Warmest regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#9 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#23 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#28 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#21 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#11 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#14 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Excelsior Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Excelsior Florence

Property: The Westin Excelsior Florence
Address: Piazza di Ognissanti 3, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#19 Family Hotel in Florence
#21 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#30 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Excelsior Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Excelsior Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Excelsior Florence Hotel Florence
Westin Florence
Florence Westin
Westin Excelsior Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing