We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Excelsior Florence
Ranked #26 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Top class hotel in great location”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

There is almost nothing about this hotel to dislike. First class rooms and service. Lavishly furnished, excellent rooftop restaurant, great breakfast and fantastic high floor views. Across the river or towards town and the Cathedral are probably the best. Location is perfect for walking the city and arriving by car is very easy since you can drive right up to the front door. Naturally the hotel is very expensive - but everywhere is very expensive in Florence. Valet parking is handled by a third party and paid separately. If you want a full breakfast it's much more cost effective to have it included with the room. If you want an easy drive to the hotel try to avoid directions that take you through the South gate of the city and through back streets south of the river which is a very difficult drive through narrow one streets.. It is much easier to drive in and out from the West along the South bank of the river.

Room Tip: High floor, river views with a balcony are probably the best. High floor city views are also good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Granada100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,136
    333
    68
    22
    17
See reviews for
308
713
46
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

As the third stop on our Italian Grand Tour, the Westin Excelsior is by far the most amazing and beautiful hotel we have been at. The building, the room, the service - all was the most spectacular. The Ponte Vecchio from our balcony was romantic & gorgeous. Thank You so much.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rose2li
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Rose2li,

Thank you for taking the time to post your extraordinary review!
We are really honored to know that The Westin Excelsior is at the top of your preferences, thank you!
It has been a pleasure to have you staying with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Warmest regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

If you looking for a place to impress your girlfriend, you have to go to this hotel with this amazing and very class terrace on the rooftop.
The view and the atmospher is very romantic.
You will be less impressed by the food.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Olivier S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Oliver S,

Thank you very much for having shared your comments with us.
We are delighted to know that you appreciated the amazing views of Florence from our rooftop bar and restaurant.
We hope we will have the chance to welcome you back to the Westin Excelsior Florence.

Best regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring, Herts
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed for two nights - very comfortable hotel with views over the Arno River. Well situated - about 10-15 walk to the Ufizzi Gallery and Duomo through some lovely narrow streets. We ate out each night but enjoyed a cocktail on the rooftop restaurant/bar and enjoyed lovely views across Florence. The breakfast was good with a wide range of food available - there were a number of tour parties there but the tables are well spaced and we did not feel crowded. One complaint is that there is no wifi in the room unless you have their loyalty card (it is free in the reception area) - for a hotel of this standing I think this marks it down. Luckily my husband is a member and we were offered a free drink or free wifi in the room and we went for wifi, but it should be available to everyone. The staff were all very attentive and helpful when we asked the concierge for help regarding restaurants, car hire etc. We checked out later in the day and they kept our luggage safe until we returned to collect it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzyb28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Lizzyb28,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your experience at our Westin Excelsior Florence.
We are delighted to know that you appreciated the location of our property, the wonderful view of Florence and our “attentive and helpful” staff.
Please let us also thank you for your feedback concerning wifi; it will be taken into consideration in order to improve the quality of service we provide our guests.
We sincerely wish we will have the chance to welcome you again to the Westin Excelsior in Florence.

Best regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is breathtaking. The building is gorgeous and the rooms are stunning. The workers are very nice. Especially Davide. He gave us a great riverside room, but it was on a lower floor and we called him and asked him if he could change. He was up in our room in 5 minutes and showed us 3 more rooms and got us a room 3 floors up with an even better view.
I think the rooms with a river view with a balcony are the best, but to each their own.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank NYC507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VB_General_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Excelsior Florence, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review!
It is great to learn that you appreciated the property, which has been recently refurbished, and mostly important it is a true honor to know that you enjoyed the service provided by our team; we assure you we will pass your amazing feedback on to the staff, especially to Davide.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Florence and to the Westin Excelsior soon!

Best regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

It is a tough hotel to review dispassionately.

Not a single glitch or expectation not met or exceeded. It is just such a tranquil sophisticated refuge from the hordes of tourists and vendors of Florence.

Focussing on the major highlights for us were the superb position and views, the "fine dining" breakfast complete with Prosceco, the generally wonderful warm service, the great value express lunch on the rooftop terrace and of course the exquisite rooms.

We agonised over the Westin and St Regis and left comforted with our decision.

Would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Any room facing the river with a terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynden K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Orange, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This was a lovely hotel with loads of charm and beauty. It faces the SR and is less the price for all that the SR offers. It's walking distance from shopping and restaurants. Very close to the train station.

Room Tip: You could ask for a room overlooking the Arno River but honestly the river is adjacent to the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicolekshealey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#12 of 411 in Florence
1,262 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#27 of 411 in Florence
1,002 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#10 of 411 in Florence
1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#22 of 411 in Florence
632 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#23 of 411 in Florence
974 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#16 of 411 in Florence
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Excelsior Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Excelsior Florence

Property: The Westin Excelsior Florence
Address: Piazza di Ognissanti 3, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#19 Family Hotel in Florence
#22 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#30 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Excelsior Florence 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Excelsior Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Excelsior Florence Hotel Florence
Westin Florence
Florence Westin
Westin Excelsior Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing