We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The tower of palazzo vecchio is incredible”
Review of Palazzo Vecchio

Palazzo Vecchio
Book In Advance
More Info
US$65.62*
and up
Palazzo Vecchio Tour Including the Arnolfo Tower and Underground
More Info
US$45.13*
and up
Florence Palazzo Vecchio and Arnolfo Tower Sunset Tour with Optional Dinner or...
More Info
US$71.26*
and up
Palazzo Vecchio Morning Guided Tour
Ranked #15 of 631 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Florence's principal palace was begun in 1299 and built as the seat of the Signoria, the fathers of the city's republican government.
Florence, Italy
1 review
“The tower of palazzo vecchio is incredible”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This was the first attraction I saw in Florence. The church ceiling was amazing as were the walls with incredible artwork on display here. The tower of the palazzo vecchio is worth the 200+ Steps to the top. The view is 360 degrees and awe inspiring as you can see all that Florence has to offer. It is very beautiful. For those scared of heights don't be for the most part it is all enclosed and at the top it has been roped off before the edges. For about 14 euro you can see everything here. Great way to spend an afternoon.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joshlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,362
    1,800
    321
    43
    28
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Currumbin, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Wonderful to walk in Medici foot steps”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

For those who love renaissance architecture as I do. This is a wonderful place to visit to step back in time. Make sure you visit the private Medici chapel inside....this was one of my personal highlights in Florence and I would definitely go again just to see this!!!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SherelleFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorpark, California
Level 6 Contributor
729 reviews
419 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
“We had time, thank goodness!”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Should we go inside? It wasn't on my must see list, but we were in Florence for several days, and we had time. Why wasn't this ON my list? Duh. Sometimes I scare myself. WHAT was I thinking? It should be on everyone 's list! The Grand Council Chamber should be seen from the floor and from the balcony. Allow time to study the ceiling. Wow! As you wander through the rooms, enjoy the frescoes and the statues and the art. Even the molding, floors, and furniture are wonderful. Marvel at "The Art of Spinning" ceiling, the Apartments of the Elements, the lavish Audience Rooms, the Hall of Lilies, and the Room of Maps. It's well worth the extra to see The Royal Study of Francis I. It's like standing in the middle of a jewel box. Stop and look at the carved doors. Go, go!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Secret Passage Tour”
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

We went to the Vecchio with our Firenze card and paid only 2€ for the Secret Passage Tour.
The tour guide was excellent with lots of enthusiasm and knowledge of the palazzo.
My favourite parts in the tour was the geography room (with the secret door) and the stories of the suspicion of the Medici's and the secret tunnel that leads to the pitti palace (Even though we didn't go through it)
Thumbs up for the Vecchio! A must see it Firenze.

Helpful?
Thank SJ2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful old palace”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Entering the palace you feel a bit lost, no splendid explanations. Without a travel book you miss some information.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Worldcitizen_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palazzo Vecchio also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Palazzo Vecchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing