We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice old place with great food and ambiance...”
Review of Gilli

Gilli
Ranked #14 of 120 Nightlife in Florence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dating back to 1773, this indoor and outdoor café is centrally located on a large busy square, making it a perfect spot to drink, have a bite to eat and do some people-watching.
xxxxxxxxxxxxx
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice old place with great food and ambiance...”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We wanted to eat at a local established restaurant during our day in Florence. Our guide mentioned this one. I loved the building and atmosphere. It was pricey for our budget but the sandwiches were delicious. Service was good as well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kim_OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    63
    47
    29
    43
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Bad experience”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Bad service, nu water on table untill food was served, no bread, no knifes on table... children's food had to be reheated en even then it wasn't really warm, waiter tried to make it up with free ice cream for the children but even then overpriced and bad food!

Helpful?
Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergerac, France
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“late night coffee.....”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We rather like this cafe for an after dinner coffee or drink as the square is a lot quieter & less hustlers than the Piazza d Signora in the evenings. The maitre di is delightful & never hurries one out.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Henrietta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marksville, LA
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great place to sit and people watch with great coffee”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Lovely place with outside seating great pastries and coffee...had the freddo shakerato with white chocolate pastry and it was delicious :)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank merrudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
623 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
“Excellent coffee! This is Florence like years ago”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Tired of weak hotel coffees, we went out before breakfast to find a good cup. For €1 the cafe espresso or €1.10 the best Macchiato you can imagine. If they are crowded next door is just as good. It's like decades ago - pay first then go to the counter and order. Wonderful!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gemma'smum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gilli also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Gilli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing