We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An indulgence for the senses”
Review of Mercato Centrale

Mercato Centrale
Book In Advance
More Info
US$77.20*
and up
Cooking Lesson: From The Market To The Table in Florence
More Info
US$69.48*
and up
Small-Group Florence Food Walking Tour
More Info
US$76.01*
and up
Private 3-Hour Food Tour of Florence
Ranked #21 of 631 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Open-air market that has a cast-iron structure dating back to 1874, which offers a variety of food shops catering to local residents and restaurants.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An indulgence for the senses”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This place was so cool! Huge open-air market outside with hock leather, jewelry, souvenirs, ect that's worth checking out. But the inside is incredible! The bottom floor (as others have described) is a vast market, meats & wine and beautiful fruits and veggies. I bought some pasta to bring home as well as limoncello and some balsamic vinegar. Food upstairs has lots of options and is a little pricey but delicious

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,606
    2,779
    652
    195
    82
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A must go place”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We were shopping in san lorenzo market and pass by this old building which say market so we decided why not take a look. It was aorund 6pm and we took the escalator up. To our surprise it is an open concept market with all kinds of food. So clean and nice. There is even bar and wine shop. You have to see it to understand what i see. I love this place. We try the steak, the fried chicken which smell so good a mile away, burrata, fresh oyster, mussel in wine broth, mini dessert pie, italian draft beer, sausages and god know how many things we have ate. There is big screen with the world cup live so we spent time just hanging out there. Is such a lovely place.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anniegmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great market--stop at Marconcini!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Interno Mercato Centrale is a must-stop for a visit to Florence. I specifically recommend you stop by Marconcini to taste some olive oil, balsamic vinegar and/or wine. Talk with Julia!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Margaretta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A fun place to get a snack or meal”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This was a great place to stop for a light dinner. Here you will find delis, butchers, cheese and more. There is also a bar for drinks and gelato for dessert. Best of all, it didn't seem overrun by tourists. Lots of locals watching the world cup and enjoying an after-work drink or meal. A great stop near the train station!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank texas_tanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Highly recommend it”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We learnt about this place from our hotel receptionist. During our five day stay in Florence, we ate there three times. This market has two floors: you can do grocery shopping and also there are some restaurants on the first floor. Upstairs is a big seating area and there are different restaurants: pizza, pasta, pastries, gelato, cheese, fruit, wine, beer and cafe and etc. Prices are reasonable. We really enjoyed the concept of fresh food and the variety of food.
The first floor of food market has limited opening hours, e.g. during our first visit there after 2p.m., it was closed but restaurants upstairs are open from 10 to midnight.
We enjoyed tomato and mozzarella, mushroom bruschetta, capri pizza and pastries. I highly recommend to add a glass of red wine to your food. My personal preference is Chianti Classico, e.g. Renzo Marinai (Riserva) and also Felsina.
It is a nice get-away from heat and just simply enjoy the atmosphere.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Samaneh U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mercato Centrale also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Mercato Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing