We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science
Book In Advance
More Info
US$96.98*
and up
Galileo Galilei Private Science Tour
Ranked #33 of 440 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Housed in an old palace that was restored in the mid-1800s, this science museum houses an impressive collection of scientific instruments dating from the 13th century.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
98 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“VERY NICE MUSEUM”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Almost ' hidden ' in the center of Firenze two steps away from the Uffizi Gallery. The museum of science is well arranged it takes one hour to one hour and a half to visit. Globes , measuring instruments , apothecary stuff , glass .... even a finger of Galileo and some of the instruments he used. A large variety of objects in different materials. Really worth the visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank tempiodelgusto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,645 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    928
    492
    173
    41
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A treasure trove”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We have to agree with other reviewers that this is an amazing find in Florence. A beautifully laid out modern museum in one of the oldest buildings with so much to see even if you have little interest in science.
Some of the early instruments are every bit as important as 'art' as they are practical.
This visit proved a happy relief from Renaissance paintings and statues.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clactonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful hidden treasure! Must go!!!”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

This was an unexpected wonderful surprise in Florence! This was my favorite museum in Florence!! It's a science museum geared towards adults and the history of science! I learned so much here! I'm not even a big science person and I was fascinated by it! They have so many amazing treasures! I love this place and will definitely go back when I come back to Florence! Other bonus, unlike the Uffizi or Academia, this museum is a hidden treasure so there are no lines or crowds, so you can walk right in, unlike at the other places and it's right around the corner from the Uffizi! I think this museum is totally underrated! A must go in Florence!

Helpful?
Thank britravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
137 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Super interesting, but hard for the little ones”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My husband & I loved it, but passed 2 families with small kids and strollers that weren't having a good time. Not interactive, the displays are very scientific and inspiring, if you can read well...but we spent at least 2 hours there studying what this great man did.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Keyrat04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great history of science museum!”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This is a wonderful treasure to find in Florence. Its a fantastic museum that chronicles the history of science in Europe. Tons of old equipment and great videos that explain how they all work. Very engaging! Worth a couple of hours if you're in the area.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank troymoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing