We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science
Book In Advance
More Info
US$101.54*
and up
Galileo Galilei Private Science Tour
Ranked #34 of 443 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Housed in an old palace that was restored in the mid-1800s, this science museum houses an impressive collection of scientific instruments dating from the 13th century.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not as Advertised”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed this museum because I like Galileo, the science of navigation and astronomy. But I was looking forward to plaing with some of the machines. The "hands on" section is very small and much of it is just touch screens. Only a few actual machines to play with. If you have the Firenze card its well worth a visit after the art and crowds of the Uffuzi (just take a right when you exit. It's right by the river).

Helpful?
1 Thank Hojomoro
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marco B, Incaricato at Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Visitor,
Thank you for taking the time to write. We regret for your disappointment.
We would like to point out, however, that our museum focuses on the history of science and the historical approach to the collections is the dominant one. The Museo Galileo is not a science center; nevertheless, with the interactive section, we offer our visitors the opportunity for a hands-on approach on some of the most significant instruments of our collection.
We hope we will be able to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,683 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    949
    503
    177
    42
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“If you've had enough of the art of the Uffizi, stop by here”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

It's just a short walk towards the Arno from the art museum to visit the Galileo museum, which boasts of holding his finger in the collection. The map and globe rooms alone are worth the trip just to see the painstaking details and beauty of them. The videos of how some of the instruments work were informative and made the experience much better.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marlene1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great science history”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Enjoyed the wide range of scientific instruments displayed (most of which not connected to Galileo). Appreciated the few videos demonstrating how some of the instruments worked (would have liked more text explaining some of the others).

If you want to purchase the family pass (22 euros for 2 adults + 2 under 18), ensure your teenagers have ID. We entered on a day when our teens didn't bring along purses as it was pouring outside. The cashier was very abrupt, insisted that both kids needed to show ID, even though they are obviously younger than 18, so entry cost us more than anticipated.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Break from Art”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is an excellent museum showcasing the scientific discoveries that contributed to today's foundations in scientific thought. They have an amazing collection of original scientific equipment from the 14-17th centuries. Hands on area for kids, too. It was a nice break from all of the Italian Renaissance art.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vassinator70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Unimpressed”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Perhaps due to my previous experiences with other science museums, I found this museum wanting regarding interaction and education.

As a non expert, I would have appreciated more explanations and more interaction.

Considering the size and the fact that, without understanding properly the purpose of the instruments, the visit doesn't teach you anything, the price (9 euros) should include the audio guide.

Sadly wouldn't return unless I get wind of significant didactic improvements.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Teliviel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco B, Incaricato at Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Visitor,
Even though we can understand your disappointment, we would like to point out that our museum focuses on the history of science and the historical approach to the collections is the dominant one. And we have to remember that ancient artifacts require particular conditions to be preserved, that made it impossible to mix ancient instruments and hands-on approach.
We hope we will be able to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Museo Galileo - Institute and Museum of the History of Science? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing