We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Cavour
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Alessandra(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$253
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
San Firenze Suites & Spa(Florence)
US$543
US$527
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$765
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Florence Metropole(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$202
US$150
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$451
US$361
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$1,288
US$1,114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Brunelleschi(Florence)
US$869
US$737
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$454
US$429
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Hermitage(Florence)
US$290
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Cora(Florence)
US$621
US$590
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,005)
Filter reviews
2,005 results
Traveller rating
877
716
241
102
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
877
716
241
102
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop bargreat locationstreet noisedeluxe roomcentral locationthe room was nicebeautiful citylight sleeperwalking distance to everythingbreakfast roomair conditioningside streetmajor attractionswonderful hotelthe heart of the cityour honeymoonwould highly recommend this hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
727 - 732 of 2,005 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My wife and I have recently returned from a trip to Italy. We spent three nights at this hotel in Florence and could not have been happier! We had booked a superior room, but found that upon check in we were upgraded to a deluxe room. The reception service was fantastic throughout our trip. The room itself was beautiful with a fab view. Rooftop bar was very pleasant with an amazing view of the city. Very comfortable. Would stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Cavour on the first night of our honeymoon. We booked this hotel based on the ratings on tripadvisor. The staff could not have been nicer, more helpful or understanding of two American men on their honeymoon. They didnt bat an eye or react any differently from any other guests.

This is a very nice hotel right in the middle of everything. You can walk to all major sights, museums and restaurants. We appreciate a comfortable, clean, roomy hotel with a helpful staff. That is exactly what the Grand Hotel Cavour offers. This is not a 5 star hotel so if you are looking for the Ritz, keep looking. If you are comfortable in a Hilton you'll be fine. We felt completely safe and enjoyed our time with them completely. The only draw back was that we arrived on April 2nd and they had not turned on the hotel air conditioning. You'll see others have made similar comments. We were, however, given a much nicer room on the front of the hotel with a great view. Unfortunately, that same room (because the AC was off) meant that we had to leave the windows open at night for some cool air. The street below can get a little loud at night. If you go during air conditioning season, dont worry about being on the front of the building, the blinds and wooden shutters will block out all the light and you'll sleep in lovely place. Even with the loudness from the street, Im glad we were in the front for the view as opposed to the courtyard (which we did not see).

Some of the reviewers complained about the breakfast. We thought it was very good. Its a typical European breakfast with plenty of variety. I think the price was 14 euro. I thought that was a reasonable price for a buffet with eggs, breads, cheese, fruit and meats.

The only reason this we didnt give this a 5 was due to the AC. We were there at a perfect time of the year, great 65-70 degrees during the day and 50's at night. The only drawback was no AC at night. Not that we needed AC when its 55 degrees, but if they had it turned on then we would not have to open the windows at night. If you are there during Heat or air conditioning season, you will be very happy.

Be sure to go the rooftop bar! Yes its small but such an incredible view!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TwoGuysinMemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Everything was excellent about the grand Cavour Hotel. Near the Duomo and many museums/palazzos. Wonderful view from the roof top bar . However, our 2 rooms, booked to be adjoining were not. Their reason was that the adjoining rooms were very small so gave us larger rooms on different floors. That was ok but...if the new rooms were larger, I would have hated to see what the original adjoining rooms may have been in size. Big comfy bed, beautiful bathroom and a good deal. Since it was only for one night, we lived with it.

Room Tip: ask for a double. it might be larger, even if traveling alone.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I have really fond memories of staying here. Yes, it's not the fanciest hotel and the rooms aren't that big, but the staff were friendly, even with our limited italian, and the location was unbelieveable! To start with, the breakfast buffet every morning was incredible. I was there when I was 10 weeks pregnant and I was worried it would be all meats and cheeses I couldn't eat, but I was so wrong. There were pastries, bacon, toast, eggs, cereals, fruit, everything. We asked one of the english speaking waiters if we could take some fruit for lunch and he said it was fine, and that was really appreciated. The lobby area with ipads and newspapers was a great touch. We were very close to the river, the duomo, and many great shops and museums, everything was easily in walking distance even in the sick, tired, early stages of pregnancy nothing seemed too far away. My only piece of advice is the rooftop bar, whilst the views are stunning, the prices are ridiculous and there's a shortage of seats on the nicer nights. A great holiday though.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nik107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This hotel is located in a perfect position, with all attractions located within short walking distance. The rooms were gorgeous, great friendly service (except for the breakfast Nazi at the breakfast dining room who was Mr. Grumpy every day), awesome breakfast included, and the most beautifully comfortable beds! The top floor is a rooftop bar, serving drinks which they accompanied with tray of gorgeously presented nibblies. Nice touch! Highly recommended. Made our stay in Florence fantastic!

Room Tip: Stay clear of the 6th floor rooms close to the dining room. The clanging of cutlery and dishes will wake you up.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews