We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for exploring Florence”
Review of Grand Hotel Cavour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Cavour
Ranked #85 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We had a great stay with friendly staff ,rooms are not big but have all you need and very clean, great views from the roof top terrace. There is a superb restaurant next door called Yellow which we highly recommend.(gets extremely busy).All museums and sights are within walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul and sheena h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,872)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

640 - 646 of 1,872 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

I have stayed here many times over the past 10 years when in Florence on business and holiday. It is a great hotel in a great location. The rooms are very clean and nice and they have a good breakfast. A new perk, they have a great roof deck bar with beautiful view! I think for the money it is a good deal.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsBuoniViaggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in June.

The Cavour hotel is just a minute from the Duomo so is very well located for Florence centre.

The staff are very friendly and helpful.

There's a small roof top bar with amazing views. Although it was not always easy to get a chair because it gets very busy especially after dinner.

Breakfast is pretty average for a 'grand hotel'. We didn't eat dinner in the evenings in the hotel, preferring to venture outside.

Our bedroom (212) had a good bed and was large enough. The shower and WC is small but adequate.

The air con didn't work and the room was very hot at night. We couldn't open the window because it opened onto some kind of upper courtyard that for some reason smelled really bad.

The shower in the room next door must have been right behind our head because when they showered at 06:30 every morning it was very loud.

In summary; it's fine but if I came again I'd stay in a B&B or smaller hotel and save my money. Being close to the centre is good but not that much of an advantage given the fact that Florence is so small and easy to walk around. And if you want to use the rooftop bar you can, just take the lift to the top; don't need to be staying there.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The hotel is clean and in a good location, however it is nothing special (and looks nothing like the photos on the website) and this makes it vert poor value for money given it's cost. The room is ok, but the electric sockets don't work and the decor is dated. There is also a lot of outside noise. This hotel seems to cater for business guests not holiday makers, and certainly not honeymooners, which makes it sterile and unfriendly. The roof bar is nice but very expensive, so why not go to a better hotel and visit a roof bar independently, seeing as you have to pay anyway. Considering similar priced hotels in London, paris and venice offer afternoon tea and pre-dinner drinks within the price, we are left wondering why this hotel is so expensive but offers little to make it stand out? Florence is a small city so it is not necessary to stay close to the duomo as everywhere is very easy to get to on foot. Our advice would be to find a smaller hotel in a quieter part of town where you would undoubtedly find better value and a better experience. And if you do come, don't expect a room like the ones shown on the website.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room and avoid 321 as none of the sockets work, it is noisy and the bathroom is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hulliballoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

the location of the hotel was the best!! at the top floor, in the terrace, there is a mini bar with the "domo" view, incredible, romantic, and even my kids loved it!!

Walking distance from every tourist attraction. If I go to Florence again, this hotel would be my first choice!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mariarppd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Location is fantastic but room small and dark. However, it was quiet so got good sleep. Bottom of bath worn and quite sharp in places. One of our party complained about the state of their bath but nothing done about it.
Choice of food at breakfast was excellent but breakfast spoiled by the chaotic organisation, rude restaurant manager and lack of staff to clear tables and replenish food, resulting in queues - we weren't allowed to use overflow as there was supposed to me a meeting there, but no sign of it!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Grand Hotel Cavour has many fantastic features such as the Staff who were always pleasant and helpful to the roof top garden which we enjoyed a drink on our first evening and the hotels fantastic location in the centre of Florence. However, our room looked nothing like the rooms in the photos. Room 235 was dark, the furniture was dated and unappealing, the bed was uncomfortable and when we first arrived, there was a really strange smell so we had to open the windows. We were on the second floor towards the back of the hotel which didn't lead to a restful night's sleep due to the street noise but this cannot be helped by the hotel. On our last morning in the hotel we were awoken by a chamber maid who walked straight into our room at about 8:45am! An innocent accident but it still shouldn't have happened. Breakfast is limited so I would advise future guests to go down early to get the best selection of food. Expect to wait about 20 minutes for a pot of breakfast tea though.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#53 of 410 in Florence
1,453 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 410 in Florence
2,885 reviews
Duomo
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
#142 of 410 in Florence
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#59 of 410 in Florence
1,194 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 410 in Florence
1,847 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Pendini
Hotel Pendini
#36 of 410 in Florence
1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Cavour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Cavour

Address: Via del Proconsolo 3, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#97 Family Hotel in Florence
#133 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £84 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Cavour 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Cavour is a 4 star hotel located in a historic building of 1300 belonged to the Medici family. The structure is characterized by a majestic hall with colonnades and stucco of the time, on the same floor there is our Restaurant with American bar decorated in a cosmopolitan and lounge style where you can admire the frescoes by the artist Galileo Chini. Our rooms, recently renovated, designed in boutique style with fine furnishings, hardwood floors and frescoes that recall the age Renaissance are located on 6 floors and are ideal for a romantic weekend or for those traveling for business. The upstairs rooms have breathtaking views where you can admire the Palazzo Vecchio, the ancient Torre del Bargello and the Brunelleschi's Dome. Each room has a set with a kettle with coffee and tea, minibar, LCD TV, free WiFi, safe and hairdryer. Our suites are very spacious and can easily accommodate a family group or your honeymoon. On the sixth floor you will find our wonderful Divine Terrace where you can enjoy our cocktails and treat yourself to the most beautiful view of Florence. We offer our guests a small fitness center with turkish bath and 3 meeting rooms. We are in the district 1 in limited traffic between Dome and Piazza della Signoria 5 minutes walking from the Santa Maria Novella train station and close to the major shopping centers and cafes. In front of the hotel there is a loading and unloading area where you can live your car and park it with valet service in nearby garages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Cavour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing