We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous service - definately would recommend”
Review of Hotel Maxim

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Maxim
Ranked #233 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Our family spent one night at this hotel taking a double and a triple room. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. Whilst the en-suites were basic - everything was clean and working and the air-conditioning was much welcomed. A really friendly welcome, we really enjoyed our stay and would definately return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (755)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

184 - 190 of 755 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2011

We recently spent three weeks in Italy, with a very busy schedule and not much time in each city. There was so much to see and do in Florence and this hotel is ideally situated. Short 20 minute walk to the main train station and then half-way between the Duomo and Piazza della Signoria. Very helpful and friendly staff, who spoke very good English, and recommended some great places to eat. The rooms were spacious, clean, breezy and clean. Thank you to all the staff for a very pleasant stay...the icing on the cake for a brilliant time in Florence.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Owen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Location: perfect! It's central enough that we were able to duck into the hotel between tours to get a snack - and just a few blocks away from Grom Gelato (which is fabulous and YOU SHOULD GO THERE). There's an elevator but you'll have to take your luggage up the 2 steps into lobby.
Staff: Super helpful and friendly! There are 2 computers in the lobby, and they have a printer, which is helpful when you forget to pre-print your tour reservations. They helped us find a nearby grocery store so we could get a picnic, and had a list of museums that were free in the evening during the 1-night-per-month.
Breakfast: Not exciting, but good. Yogurt, rolls and croissants, cereal, juices and (American) coffee (which wasn't that good, but that's no big deal).
Room: we got upgraded to a three-person room and it was huge! The bed was quite comfortable, the bathroom was small but nice, and the window overlooked a little courtyard. We could hear the chimes - but just barely.

In all, I highly recommend the place! Lovely with a semi- B&B vibe, great price and location.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

This hotel is in a great location! Right in the heart of Florence. Shops and restaurants are plentiful. The staff was great! We had a problem with our AC, but the staff was able to move us to a new room. The breakfast was great with a good selection. Nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve1289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Great location if you want to be near Ponte Vecchio, Uffizi, Academia, Duomo... We found the staff helpful. Room clean. Elevator to reach front desk but then we had to carry luggage up two flights of stairs to get to our room. If you do not want to carry luggage up the stairs, ask for a room on the same floor as front desk.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam12335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

The location of this hotel could not be better. I is literally down the street from the Duomo and in the middle of the best part of Florence. We walked to the train station for day trips out of Florence to Lucca and Piza. The building was very old, housing two hotels and various other apartments, which gave you a taste of living in the neighborhood. The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. We had 4 in our room. It was large and comfortable enough, many plugs for recharging all your necessary devices. So what could be wrong? The only issure we found was cleanliness of bedding. The bed spreads were dirty and therefore made the clean sheets dirty. Not wanting to cover up with the spreads, required pushing them to the bottom of the bed, where they consequently fell off, becoming more dirty. They were not made of an easily washable fabric, so it was evident that washing did not occur often. This wouldn't necessarily keep us from staying here again, but if you are a clean freak...you might consider this.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happyfeet16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I am so glad that we "found" this hotel. I can thank Rick Steves' Guide for Italy for the recommendation. This hotel is one minute from the Duomo and about three minutes from Uffizi Gallery etc on the main road. Train station is 10 minute walk. The hotel staff was excellent. The rooms large, bathrooms nice, clean. Breakfast included and good selection. The artwork in the hotel was amazing. The owner gave us our own private tour of his artwork. FYI: He also owns The Axial Hotel which is down two floors from Maxim. Can't say enough about this place. Classy.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IowaTraveler52245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Axial
Hotel Axial
#186 of 410 in Florence
774 reviews
Duomo
Costantini
Costantini
#348 of 410 in Florence
215 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Benivieni
Hotel Benivieni
#206 of 410 in Florence
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
#185 of 410 in Florence
426 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Olimpia
Hotel Olimpia
#301 of 410 in Florence
306 reviews
Duomo
Albergo Firenze
Albergo Firenze
#209 of 410 in Florence
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maxim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maxim

Address: Via Dei Calzaiuoli 11, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #233 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £63 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maxim 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Maxim is located in Florence historical city centre, between the Duomo and the Uffizi Gallery.All major sights and monuments are a few steps from our hotel.The Maxim has, single, double, triple and quadruple rooms, all have bathroom; all equipped with airconditioning in summer, telephone; satellite tv, Wi-Fi internet connection, safe and hairdryers.The hotel staff will be at your disposal to advise you and make your stay unforgettable.L'hotel Maxim, categoria 2 stelle, si trova a 50 metri dal Duomo e dal Museo degli Ufizzi. L'hotel all'apparenza introvabile, si trova invece al terzo piano dell'immobile dove sta il Disney Store.La reception è al terzo piano con ascensore. L'albergo offre il trattamnento della prima colazione incluso nel prezzo ed ha solo camere con bagno.Singole, doppie, triple e quadruple con aria condizionata d'estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Maxim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maxim Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing