We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Amazing Location”
Review of Hotel Maxim

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Maxim
Ranked #232 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 2 February 2011

Rooms are expensive in Florence especially if you want to be in a good location. This hotel is a great value. We didn't pay much and the hotel was a two-second walk to the Duomo. The reception was nice and always available. The room provided everything you need and was very clean. No frill room, but a big size. I have stayed in Florence before and this room was a lot bigger. The walls were thick enough to not hear your next door neighbors. The apartment was two floors, so if you were on the second you have to pull your luggage up the stairs. This didn't bug us because many places are like this in Italy :). Breakfast was also included which was a nice addition.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (755)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

220 - 226 of 755 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2011

My wife, my 18 years old daughter and I stayed at the Maxim hotel for two nights last week. The hotel is well-located in the city center, within minutes walk from most of the attractions the city has to offer. Lots of shops and great restaurants around.
If you arrive by car, hotel staff will provide you with specific instructions how to get to the hotel. They can also arrange valet parking service for a fee, starting 24 Euros per day.
The rooms, the bathrooms and the dinning room are all clean and neat. All the staff very courteous, friendly, professional and willing to help.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

My sister-in-law and I traveled to Italy for 2 weeks in September (not on a tour.) Hotel Maxim was mentioned in Rick Steve's guidebook. It is one block from the Duomo in Florence, so the location is great! It's on the third floor of the building but there is an elevator big enough for two people and their luggage. The room was clean, and pleasant. There was one hinge missing from the toilet seat, and that's the only bad thing I have to say. Breakfast (not an American breakfast) was included in the price, which was very reasonable. (If you present Rick Steve's guidebook on Florence and Tuscany, and pay cash, you get a discount.) We had single rooms and the bill for 6 nights for each of us was 432 euros. Very, very reasonable. The staff, night and day, spoke English, Italian and usually at least one more language. They were always pleasant and helpful. There is free internet (two computers in the lobby.) For no extra charge, they made our reservations for the Accademia, the Uffizi, and the Brancacci Chapel. (If you have made a reservation ahead of time for those museums, you don't have to wait in line!!) I can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccaldarone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

Excellent location just opposite to duomo and that's the only reason for its price at 100 euros per room. It looked clean but i could not be excited by this place: it's a sad and very tired 2 stars hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2010

Visited Florence in Nov 2010 for 2 days. The location of this hotel is very convenient BUT you are not really supposed to drive on the street at the hotel. Often in Italy you can not drive in the city or certain areas and it is strictly enforced with video cameras which you get tickets for later. The GPS in our rental car directed us to approx 3 blocks from the hotel. The GPS would not direct us onto the street of the hotel because it is a pedestrian only area. We drove around quite a bit and made calls to the hotel where they tried to give us directions. Finally we found the hotel. If the clerk does in fact submit our rental car's license plate number we should not receive any tickets. PS You can drive on the street just to drop off and pick up your luggage. If you are driving there make sure you have a map of Florence and have an idea where the hotel is located. They have a garage service who will pick your car up at the hotel and bring it back when you are leaving for 30 Euro/night or they can direct you to another cheaper option.
LOCATION: Excellent. Between Duomo and Uffizi. 1 block from Duomo. Great restaurants and gelato nearby. We ate at Paolo's which was delicious.
HOTEL: 3 rd floor. Elevator. Front door is next to Disney Store. Rooms are similar to a single-room- occupancy residence. Clean. Nice continental breakfast. Front door locks late at night. Need to get code if you are staying out late. The person working the reception desk was always helpful. 2 computers with internet in lobby available to use free of charge. Buy bottled water at reception desk for 1 Euro per bottle. Someone else complained about the shower. We had 2 rooms. One had a regular tub with a shower which was nice. The other room had a wierd tub that was like 2 big stairs. A little strange and scary when showering but not impossible. Would ask for regular tub if available.
TIPS: Facing front of Duomo go to the outside left side of the church and pay 8 Euro to walk up lots of stairs to top of dome. Beautiful view of a beautiful city.
VALUE: This hotel was reasonably priced and was a good value.
WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO A FRIEND. Only sticking point was trying to find hotel using GPS. Wish we had known that the GPS would not direct us to the hotel. We thought we were totaly lost. Perhaps the hotel should give that info out when you make a reservation. If we were taking a taxi that would not have been an issue.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 46NeverForgets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

The only positive thing about this hotel is the central location. I have traveled extensively throughout Europe and this is the worst hotel I have seen.
We traveled with 4 other couples; somehow we ended up with the smallest room in the hotel - VERY, VERY, VERY small up two flights of stairs. Our bathroom door opened about 40% of the way before it hit the bed. The shower was disgusting; not only was it so small that you couldn't turn around, it had a shower curtain that wrapped around you whenever you turned on the water. This was made worse by the fact that the shower curtain was forced against the toilet due to the small size of the room, so it was urine stained. The water pressure was so low that you had to hold the nozzle about 1/2 inch from your body to try to get wet and rinse which meant you didn't have a free hand to try to keep the horrible shower curtain off of your body.
Not only did the walls of the room look like it had been 20years since they had been painted, the grout on the tile floors was dirty and mildew stained.
Security is non-existent - keys are required to be left at the hotel when you leave (not atypical at hotesl this size in EU); however, they were left on hooks on the wall where anyone could pick up any key. Most hotels keep them behind the desk so there is some level of verification of client. We were shocked one day when we returned to find our key missing and asked the person at the desk; she accompanied us to our room and we found the key hanging in the door such that anyone could access our room. No apology was offered, only a casual statement saying one of the hotel maintenance personnel had been trying to fix something earlier and must have left the key in the door.
Don't forget the lack of temp control in the room. We visited in November - imagine our surprise wehn we figured out there was no heat control in our room --- the radiators come on twice day - 6 PM to midnight and then from 6-7:30 AM. So, you burn up at midnight and freeze by 3 AM and you can imagine how cold the bathroom gets - quite a treat in teh middle of the night.
It was a horrible experience and nearly ended our vacation. Don't do it.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CathyK_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

I stayed at the Hotel Maxim for two weeks while I conducted some research in Florence. The staff were very kind, helpful and sympathetic to the fact that I was travelling alone.

The common areas were comfortable, warm and clean as was the bedroom and bathroom.

The hotel's location is ideal as it is situated in the centro storico on the main thoroughfare between the Piazza della Signoria and the Duomo.

Had a super stay and plan to return in spring. My only complaint would be that there's no meat or cheese included in the breakfast buffet and the addition of cappuccino or hot chocolate too would be superb.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammythevamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Axial
Hotel Axial
#187 of 410 in Florence
774 reviews
Duomo
Costantini
Costantini
#347 of 410 in Florence
215 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Benivieni
Hotel Benivieni
#209 of 410 in Florence
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
#177 of 410 in Florence
427 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Olimpia
Hotel Olimpia
#302 of 410 in Florence
306 reviews
Duomo
Albergo Firenze
Albergo Firenze
#208 of 410 in Florence
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maxim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maxim

Address: Via Dei Calzaiuoli 11, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #232 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £62 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maxim 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Maxim is located in Florence historical city centre, between the Duomo and the Uffizi Gallery.All major sights and monuments are a few steps from our hotel.The Maxim has, single, double, triple and quadruple rooms, all have bathroom; all equipped with airconditioning in summer, telephone; satellite tv, Wi-Fi internet connection, safe and hairdryers.The hotel staff will be at your disposal to advise you and make your stay unforgettable.L'hotel Maxim, categoria 2 stelle, si trova a 50 metri dal Duomo e dal Museo degli Ufizzi. L'hotel all'apparenza introvabile, si trova invece al terzo piano dell'immobile dove sta il Disney Store.La reception è al terzo piano con ascensore. L'albergo offre il trattamnento della prima colazione incluso nel prezzo ed ha solo camere con bagno.Singole, doppie, triple e quadruple con aria condizionata d'estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Maxim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maxim Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing