We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Museum full of Treasures” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museo Nazionale del Bargello

Museo Nazionale del Bargello
Book In Advance
More Info
US$14.82*
and up
Skip-the-Line Bargello Museum Ticket
Ranked #16 of 426 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Housed in the Palazzo del Podesta (1255 AD) as the residence of Florence's chief magistrate, this museum houses an unrivalled collection of Italian Renaissance sculpture..
Stanford, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Museum full of Treasures”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I'm a sucker for arms and armor, and there is plenty of that at the Bargello, but also some fabulous sculpture. Make sure to explore all the floors. There's more than you think from the courtyard, and then the building itself is fascinating.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,563
    507
    78
    13
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice museum but i expected more!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

It was our first museum in Florence, and with all the nice reviews and a ticket price equal to the Uffizi we had a lot of expectations. The building in itself is wonderful, small crowds so you can take your time but from all the rave reviews i expected more, it not a 5 Star (at least in Florence were the "competition" is enormous). Its good, visit it if you can.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vitor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

With so much amazing art and history in Florence, it is hard to decide what to see in a limited amount of time. Based on Rick Steves recommendation, we put the Bargello on our must-see list, and we're glad we did. The sculpture museum is open limited hours compared to some of the other sites in Florence, so plan accordingly. There is no need to buy tickets in advance, however. This is a short walk from the Palazzo Vecchio and easy to find.
Not only is the sculpture fascinating and varied, but the building itself tips worth visiting. The outdoor courtyard ringed with sculptures is beautiful on a sunny day. During our visit, a special exhibit on artist/sculptor

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bossfan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
92 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Different and less crowds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

On the day we visited the crowds here were substantially less than at other attraction visited in Florence. But the Bargello is a gem. The history of the building is fascinating - we spent a considerable time sitting in the main courtyard viewing the building. Add to that a variety of exhibits, some quite famous all makes for a gem.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireProff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We were staying at the B&B across the way, our hostess recommend we stop by, and so glad we did. What a quiet, interesting Museum, small crowds, a must see

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shayroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museo Nazionale del Bargello also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Museo Nazionale del Bargello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing