We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family hotel!”
Review of Hotel Casci

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casci
Ranked #46 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Our family of 4 stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed it! The location is perfect and the room was clean & airy. The breakfast is included and very good - more than just a roll & juice! The hotel is family owned & operated and they're very friendly & helpful. We highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saj1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,790)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,302 - 1,308 of 2,792 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2011

We visited the Hotel Casci during our trip to Florence for (2) days. The hotel could not be in a better location. Minutes from the Duomo,Museums,Ponte Vechio, etc... Rooms were cozy and very clean. The owners are very nice and helpful during your stay. Internet was Free. Breakfast was very good. Would come back to this hotel for sure! Great value for what you get overall.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bladingod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

This hotel was a delight: friendly, helpful staff, spotless room and bathroom (small but everything worked), tasty breakfasts and a great location. Just around the corner from San Lorenzo and the Mercato Centrale, so a short walk from everything but quiet in the evenings.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbarafromYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

The hotel was very central, the staff was friendly and very helpful. They even booked Museum reservations for us. We stayed for only 2 days and were traveling with two teenagers. The family room for 4 was just perfect, roomy, very clean and comfortable. The best part of our stay was the breakfast, it was quite substantial, fresh and delicious. Hats off to Hotel Casci. Great Job and Thanks for the hospitality. Hope to visit again soon.

Room Tip: The hotel is close to all attractions and to the train station. Great value for the money when trave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebeurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Service is excellent at this very well run Hotel. the room we stayed in was a clean and spacious family room with 4 beds. The kids loved their "own space" as their beds were spereated by roman columns from ours. Lots of cupboard space, an airconditionaer and a small fridge made our stay very comfortable. Price was very reasonable. The bath was a tad small, but that was no inconvenience. Breakfast was a good continental spread in a gorgeous room with a big screen TV were we could catch up on the news on CNN. Free internet is also provided.
Very well located, close to all the big attractions and station and easy to get to, even by car. Staff are more than willing to point out all the sights on the map and are so accomodating. We had an incident in the city and they went beyond the call of duty to help us out.
Grazie!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Famstolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights, coming from Rome on the train. We took a taxi from the train station for about 8-10 euros, but if you were traveling light, it is walking distance (10-15 minutes) and easy to find on a main street. The return trip from the hotel to the train station was 12-14 euros because you are charged for the taxi driving to the hotel to pick you up. The entrance is on the 2nd floor, there is a small elevator that will hold 2 people and their luggage. As mentioned by other posts, this is a family owned hotel and the mother and son (as well as the very tall Italian young guy who worked there as well) really make you feel welcome when you arrive. They also give you all the information you need to know about the hotel as well as answering any questions about attractions in Florence. We had emailed them before we left for our trip to make reservations at the Uffizi and the Accademia (which they did without a problem) and they suggested that we try to go to the Accademia later in the afternoon when the line is gone and then we didn’t need our reservation for the next morning. It worked just fine and also freed up some time for the following afternoon. We also set up a day trip to Siena and San Gimignano and we were picked up at the hotel for this all day tour (which I would recommend, they were both very nice). This was 55 euros per person.

This hotel is very close (about a 5 minute walk) to the ‘central market’ which is an outdoor market selling leather purses/coats and also silk and wool scarves/sweaters/wraps, and of course your standard Italian souvenirs (t shirts, jewelry, etc). The market is open from 830am to 730pm (not sure if 7 days a week or not) and you are expected to bargain with the vendors for the best prices. There is a large building on the same ‘street’ as the central market that is open until 2-3 pm and it is worth going in to see everything they are selling. They have several meat markets and fish markets as well as many fruit/vegetable stands. Also, there are several places to buy packaged pasta (which makes for a great inexpensive souvenir for your friends back home!), olive oil and other Italian cooking items. There are a few places to eat lunch in here as well, both were very busy the day I was there. McDonald’s is less than a block away, turn left outside the hotel (for those who may me missing some American food!)

We asked for recommendations for dinner from the hotel and were pleased with their suggestions. We ate at Il Trebbio (about a 10 minute walk) and also Restaurant Nuti (on the same street as the central market). We each had one entrée (either pasta or meat), one salad to share and ½ carafe of wine as well as water and usually paid 30-40 euros total. Also, I really like ice in my water and both places are happy to give you a small dish of ice if you ask (which I really appreciated!). We usually stopped at a gallateria after dinner and a small cup or cone is 2.5-3.5 euros at most places.

Breakfast at the hotel was very good, including hard boiled eggs, breads/cakes, yogurt, canned fruit cocktail, fresh fruit (usually melon of some sort as well as some grapes and apples), juices and cold cereal. They also had a cappaciano machine as well as American coffee and hot tea The breakfast lady (Rose) was helped by the mother and son that owned the hotel. They have a big screen TV on the wall in the breakfast room that was usually on CNN since many guests at this hotel were Americans (or at least English speakers).

The room was very spacious (room #25), but we did see some much smaller rooms than ours as we walked through the hallways. Our room was quite large for European standards and had an empty frig which was nice to fill with water/pop that we bought at the store. The safe in the room was small, only room enough for money and passports.
The bathroom was fine, normal shower/tub combo. This place is VERY clean everywhere, from the hotel rooms to the breakfast room.

There is a free computer in the lobby to use and also if you bring your own laptop, they have free wifi as well (code and password). They also sell water (1-2 euros), soda (2 euros) and beer (not sure how much) in the lobby area. They have many guide and reference books you can use as well as about 50 DVDs that you can watch in your hotel room (the rooms have DVD players in them).

I am not sure why this hotel is only rated a 2 star. In my opinion it was at least a 3 star and given the warm welcome from all of the staff, I would suggest this place to everyone going to Florence. Also, if you pay by cash they give a 10% discount (our rate with the discount was 135 euro per night)

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iowa24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in August 2011. The staff at the reception were very friendly and polite. Our room was spacious and very clean. The bathroom included a tub which looked brand new. We were 3, including a child. You can't beat the location. It's centrally located. There's a grocery store around the corner where you can buy 2 liter bottles of water for 0.60Euro each. You can also pick up lunch or supper if your on a budget. It's a 5 minute cab ride to the train station (less then 10Euro). The free wifi in the room and reception area helped. The also have 1 computer available for guest use. It's a 2 star but has all the comforts you need. Great value.......

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petrellad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#29 of 410 in Florence
2,363 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#45 of 410 in Florence
826 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#59 of 410 in Florence
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#41 of 410 in Florence
820 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#39 of 410 in Florence
2,178 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#42 of 410 in Florence
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casci

Address: Via Camillo Cavour, 13, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#28 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £71 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Casci 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Casci is a small family managed hotel located in an ancient palace right in the heart of Florence, just a few steps from the Duomo and the Accademia (David), within walking distance from all museums and sights. It can be easily reached from the main railway station and by car, too, with a valet garage nearby. All rooms have private bathroom, air conditioning, flat screen TV with DVD, free WI-FI, hairdryer, fridge and safety-box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Casci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casci Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing