We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Casci...Great Team of Service Providers”
Review of Hotel Casci

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casci
Ranked #36 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hotel Casci...Great Team of Service Providers”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We spent two nights in Florence at Hotel Casci Sept 3-5/11. The management and staff of the hotel are truly outstanding. Although the hotel rooms and bathrooms are small the service and the customer orientation of the staff more than made up for the room's shortcomings.
Rooms are clean, well maintained and quite comfortable. My wife is a shopper and the proximity of the hotel to the leather merchants market couldn't have been better. She found some great handbags that she bought as souvenirs for our daughters. Dining was amazing. We found a restaurant about a kilometre from the Hotel that served the best (Bistecca Fiorentina) steak I have ever had. Proximity to all the major attractions enabled us to make the most of our short stay in Florence. Grazie mille l'Albergo Casci.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2experience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,876
    679
    85
    25
    8
See reviews for
796
1,041
172
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
menton
Level Contributor
120 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Close to the duomo, the Hotel Casci is on the first floor of a busy street. Parking facilities are nearby but it makes sense to drop your luggage at the hotel beforehand.

The room we had was large and clean. We opted for a triple room, although we travelled as a couple.
Breakfast was self-service and we were offered an adequate choice. The lady owner was both informative and very personable. She speaks English fluently and is a mine of local information.
This is a family run hotel where you will find a genuine welcome.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brigitteMenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2011

I'm a little late posting this review but we stayed here May 2010 for 2 nights before cruising the Mediterranean. All I can say is...fabulous, I have never stayed at a hotel with such a welcoming staff in my lifetime. The location was fantastic and close to all site seeing ventures and shopping markets. The hotel staff, rooms, & complimentary breakfast were great. If you are looking for a nice place to stay at a reasonalbe price choose this hotel you won't regret it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

we really loved this hotel - very central and the family running it were so friendly and helpful ( offering to book the art galleries for us in advance etc and recommending a trattoria for us to eat in which was off the beaten track and was very good)
The rooms were plain but very clean with everything one needed ( safe/ air conditioning etc )We did find the breakfast slightly chaotic as everyone happened to arrive at the same time and it was rather crowded in the small dining room.
We spent 2 nights here and went travelling - upon our return to Florence and with hours to wait with 2 suitcases before the flight, we decided to go to the station and leave them in the left luggage only to find all the station staff on strike . In desperation l rang the hotel Casci and asked if we could pay them to leave our cases there for the next 6 hours. They wouldn't hear of taking a payment and said we were most welcome to take the cases there. they even rang for a taxi for us to the airport on our return.
We so agree with all the reviews commenting on the hospitality of this small hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennyapples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Hotel Casci is small family run hotel on the second floor of a building 2 minutes walk (I am not kidding!) from the Duomo and the medevial centre of Florence. From the moment we arrived all of the staff couldn't have done more to make us more welcome - from organizing tickets for attractions, tours and even interpreting Italian medical instructions into English. The room was large, meticulously clean and air conditioned but basic. Breakfast was excellent with staff on hand to help and ensure plenty to eat. The whole hotel is spotless and charming backed up by a great location. We stayed 3 nights and felt like family at the end! We wouldn't hesitate recommending Hotel Casci to any friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton, CT
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Charming hotel.
Breakfast was excellent, but you can't get there early, starts 7:30AM.
They let us keep our bicycles in the lobby overnight. That was very nice. It is difficult getting a bike in the elevator, you have to ride it one person & bike at a time, and stand it up on the rear wheel, and even then a bit tricky.
It is a second floor hotel, but with small elevator. Not sure if you could get a wheelchair in it, so not certain it is wheelchair accessible.
Room was comfortable, A/C worked and wasn't overly loud. Clean, comfortable.
They arranged tour of the Ufizzi, which was kind of pricey, but worth it. Otherwise, you want to have your tickets to the museum in advance!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cardinal2B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Hotel Casci is just awesome. I booked a 5 days stay in this hotel but unfortunately due to some maintenance issue in the room I was assigned, on my first night they arranged for me to stay in another hotel stone throw away. It was fine because the hotel they assigned (Hotel Giogio) wasn't all that bad and the next day I simply went on my tours (sans luggage) and returned in the evening to Hotel Casci having my luggage automatically transferred.

Similar to most hotels in Italy, the room I was given was pretty small but it was to be expected. Considering, I had returned from Cinque Terre in which I had great hosts attending to me in previous accommodations, I was not hoping for anything that spectacular. But I was wrong.

Paolo was very professional and polite......and the guy in charge of the night duties were also equally hospitable. But breakfast was just superb. I was treated like a part of the family and they always ensure that I have enough food. Even when the place was full, they even offered to send the food to my room.

The reason I did not give it a 5* was the fact that unfortunately the shower in my room has slow drainage thus I cannot have long showers else it will flood. (To think of it, this was an effective way to save water).

Apart from that, I have a great stay at Hotel Casci.....and I don't know about you but the last time I visited this hotel there is a gypsy begging right at the entrance so there is no way this hotel is hard to find. I love it!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vafirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#29 of 422 in Florence
2,271 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#40 of 422 in Florence
1,730 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#57 of 422 in Florence
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#35 of 422 in Florence
774 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#41 of 422 in Florence
782 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 422 in Florence
1,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casci

Property: Hotel Casci
Address: Via Camillo Cavour, 13, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#28 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Casci 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Casci is a small family managed hotel located in an ancient palace right in the heart of Florence, just a few steps from the Duomo and the Accademia (David), within walking distance from all museums and sights. It can be easily reached from the main railway station and by car, too, with a valet garage nearby. All rooms have private bathroom, air conditioning, flat screen TV with DVD, free WI-FI, hairdryer, fridge and safety-box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Casci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casci Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing