We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5-star quality without the big hotel cost”
Review of Hotel Casci

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Casci
Ranked #51 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We spent 9 nights at the Hotel Casci and never stopped wondering why it has only 2 stars! It is a family run hotel and you feel like a welcomed member of the family. On the first morning we slept in (jet lag!) and thought we had missed our breakfast (which is included in the price). But no! As we walked towards the exit to find something to eat, Signora Lombardi pushed us to the dining room saying breakfast was still waiting for us! Great Italian coffes, hot eggs, fresh breads, cakes, fruit, and a lot of other goodies. Mamma mia! And on our last day as we were about to get into the taxi, Signora Lombardi rushed downstairs just to give us a good bye hug. All the personnel at Casci was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was always clean and the breakfast (eat as much as you can) very good. The hotel is in an old building (but modernised) and has its own atmosphere in tune with the surrounding Florentine masterpieces, which are only steps away. The Duomo, the Academia (with Michelangelo’s David), the Medici Palace and more, just around the corner! If you are looking for 5-star quality without the big hotel cost, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sorelle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,837)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,256 - 1,262 of 2,838 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2011

While the Hotel Casci is not an elegant hotel we chose to stay there a second time on our recent trip (early November 2011) to Florence. The facility offered all that we needed. The central location was perfect. A short walk brought us to the Duomo, the Ufizzi, Piti Palace, Ponte Vecchio, etc. Rates were reasonable. Our room was clean and spacious. The bathroom offered modern fixtures and plenty of (very) hot water.

The staff was knowledgeable, friendly and always available. Our spoken Italian is pretty poor, the staff's English is very, very good. The continental style breakfast offered was very plentiful with many choices; eggs, cereals, yogurt, whole wheat and white bread, fruit, etc. The choice of coffee, espresso and capuccino go without saying.

They arranged parking for a fee (we paid E30 for two nights.) They recommended restaurants and offered to make reservations.

We hope to visit a third time.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

This place is on the second floor (which really means the third flooor in Europe) and it is a long walk up the stairs. There is an elevator, but it is really small and slow. The hotel does not have a spa. There is no room service to order. The sign outside is really small. There are no trendy restaurants or stores across the street. They don't have a bellhop/porter to carry your bags. And the staff does not wear fancy hotel uniforms.

So why would you stay here?

1, Fantastic location - Accademia is around the corner. The Duomo is two blocks away. The Ufezzi is a whopping 8 minute strole away. The train station is a 12 minute strole away. And the bus to Fiesole is 3 minutes away.

2. Great Rooms - A very nice sized room with a great bath. The rooms come with a computer/smart phone power station that accomodates US plugs, cable TV and free wifi.

3. Clean - the entire hotel is very clean. Nuff said.

4. Wonderful Breakfast - the breakfast options range for hot and cold cereal to fruit to soft boiled eggs to breads with pate'. With excellent coffee and juice.

5. Best Staff - the entire staff work to make your stay enjoyable. The are helpful and very accommodating.

So if you stay here, you have been duly warned. Expect a great value in an unpretentious setting.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddelux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We stayed one night in Ocotober. A little put off at first by the second floor entry but it turned out to be the perfect place for us. Nice breakfast and extreamly well located to Ufezzi, Duomo and Achedmia (David)''Manageent went out of their way to make sure we were warm during a cold snap, We will definitely return.

Room Tip: We had the room next to the check-in desk, overlooking the street, It was purfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tallulaha32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Stayed for only one night at the Hotel Casci, wish we could have stayed longer! Room was great, service was impeccable. Our hosts helped us make museum reservations, gave us tips for dinner, and were really very helpful The room was very nice, nothing fancy, but more than adequate.One of our best stays in Italy. They also let us leave our luggage after checkout so that we could continue to roam around Florence until the last possible moment.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judetravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Staff really made you feel welcome and at home. Location is superb. Close to the train station, Accadamia/ Uffizzi, and the Duomo.
Only issue was that rooms were cold and beds were hard. However the staff kindly helped to resolve.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Italy1trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casci, Manager at Hotel Casci, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

We thank this guest for his comment and we are happy to learn that he/she enjoyed his/her stay with us.
This is just a quick note to mention that, besides the central heating, which works on a general basis, each of our rooms is equipped with single air conditioning both for cold and heat, therefore each guest can adjust the room temperature to his/her liking or requirements, both in winter and in summer.
Re the beds, we have just changed all our mattresses last year and almost all guests comment that they are comfortable - now and again someone finds them hard, in which case we provide a softer surface, which works fine.
It is good, though, that this guest has mentioned any problems straight away, therefore we have been able to solve any issues, so that everybody has been happy.
Paolo Lombardi - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Hotel Casci is in a great location. Close to the train station if you don't mind the walk and EXTREMELY close to all of the best sights. The Duomo is just a short walk up the street. Our room was not fancy but it was more than sufficiently comfortable. They offer free WiFi. Breakfast was included and offered an assortment of fresh fruit, rolls, eggs, yogurt and cereal and espresso. It was very good. The staff will make you want to come back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Primabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#39 of 410 in Florence
2,276 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#48 of 410 in Florence
844 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#40 of 410 in Florence
856 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#27 of 410 in Florence
2,417 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#80 of 410 in Florence
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casci

Address: Via Camillo Cavour, 13, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#26 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £44 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Casci 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Casci is a small family managed hotel located in an ancient palace right in the heart of Florence, just a few steps from the Duomo and the Accademia (David), within walking distance from all museums and sights. It can be easily reached from the main railway station and by car, too, with a valet garage nearby. All rooms have private bathroom, air conditioning, flat screen TV with DVD, free WI-FI, hairdryer, fridge and safety-box. Buffet breakfast is served in fresco a large decorated room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Casci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casci Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing