We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT Budget Hotel in Florence”
Review of Hotel Casci

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Casci
Ranked #47 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I booked this hotel because the reviews were fantastic--and when I first arrived, I wasn't sure why. The building itself is from the 15th century. A sign out front states that Rossini lived there. We learned that part of the building had been a convent. But the faded frescos in the dining room and lobby were the only indications of its history--and the lobby and building itself did not make a great first impression.

The room was spacious, and I liked having a mini-fridge, but the furnishings and decorations were pretty basic, and certainly nothing special. So ... why did I give it 5 stars?

The staff were exceptional, the location was perfect, and the price was amazing (90 E per night included an excellent breakfast and free Internet). I can't over-emphasize how kind and helpful the staff were--and what a wonderful difference that made. They all spoke excellent English, genuinely cared about what we were doing, and whether we were enjoying ourselves, and were happy to make suggestions about places to go.

We had a fabulous time and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room (for two) was actually a a triple, and was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Songdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,789)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

757 - 763 of 2,789 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

Hotel Casci, Venice

2/17/14

A Good Affordable Hotel in a Great Location

Pros:
- The room is clean and practically furnished.
- The bedding is firm, but very comfortable.
- There is plenty of closet space.
- Public areas of the hotel are warm and welcoming.
- Hotel Casci is conveniently located a couple of blocks from the Duomo and Accademia Gallery.
- We were able to walk fairly easily from the train station with our luggage.
- Rooms have wi-fi and there is a computer terminal available in the lobby area for guests’ use.
- Prevention of sound transmission between rooms was good, with some minor noise at times from traffic in the hallway. There was no street noise despite being on a busy street.
- The complementary breakfast buffet was very good with many choices of items and maintained by polite and friendly attendants.
- There is plenty of hot water and good water pressure (and the tap water is quite good).
- Although the bath towels looked quite thin to me, when I used them, I realized that they were very absorbent and generously oversized.
- The hotel staff members all speak fluent English and are friendly, polite and helpful.


Cons:
- As in hotels in other cities in Italy, the bathroom is a step up from the floor of the room. At night, the room is quite dark as there are wooden shutters on the windows, and the bathroom step could prove to be hazardous. I would recommend purchasing a 220v night light for the bathroom.
- The hotel is located on the second floor of an old, but historic building which does not give a good first impression. The dark and somewhat gloomy atmosphere disappears when one enters the hotel from the elevator (the hotel is bright and cheerful with attractive public areas).
- The hair dryer provided did not have sufficient power to be effective.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dennis1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The Hotel Casci was the perfect hotel for our stay in Florence. It is located the heart of the city. The front desk staff were warm and friendly. They were always willing to help us make the most of our time in Florence. The breakfast staff was friendly and attentive. Especially Aleccia. She kept our coffee cups full and always had a smile on her face! We would gladly stay there again. Thank You to the staff!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed here for three nights when we first arrived in Italy, then traveled around for a week and returned for our last four nights. The hotel is cozy and friendly. The staff went out of their way to help us with logistics and had ideas on how to best use our time. We were traveling with three kids - ages 10, 13 and 15 - the hotel felt very safe as it's on the second floor. The Duomo is two blocks away as are many great restaurants and shops. The hotel was a great value - we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms that look onto the courtyard get the most light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This is a cute hotel in Florence. The family that run it are very nice and go out of their way to make your stay as good as possible. We had a few problems but it was not their fault just the ancient Italian plumbing. Breakfast was great and the rooms were nice and spacious. The cost was very reasonable and if we were to come to Florence again we would stay here. It is about a 20 minute walk from the main station and the same down to the Ponte Vecchio. Well located.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank rmp26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This was a return visit, and a very happy one. Nothing but a positive experience - from the time of booking; to a warm welcome; to friendly and helpful service throughout my there-night stay.
The room was spacious (I did order a double room so can't comment on single size), clean and well-appointed - fridge, safe-box; TV with international news channels; perhaps the best hotel bathroom I've experienced in Italy. My room was quiet and overlooked a rear courtyard. It was beautifully cleaned each day; linens and towels were very good. Breakfast (included) is excellent.
The hotel is a two-minute walk or a three-minute stroll from Piazza del Duomo (I timed it), so extremely close to San Lorenzo area (not only the church, but the street market and the Central Food market as well as a good range of restaurants wide range of restaurants); the Accademia; San Marco; Capelle Medicee. This is Florence, so a walk to anywhere else in town is only a few minutes.
The staff are invariably helpful; Paolo speaks excellent English and is happy to provide advice and information. He had booked a Uffizi Tour for me before my arrival.
Casci is in the best tradition of a small family hotel - there is a friendly, smiling welcome whenever you come and go.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Wow what a great place to stay! It was a pleasure to stay here. The hotel is about a 2 block walk from the Duomo and only about a 5 or 10 minute walk to the museums that house the David and Botticelli’s famous Primavera and The Birth of Venus. We were also a short walk from the Ponte Vecchio and Piazza della Signoria. We arrived to the hotel at around 10:00 in the morning the staff (a family I think) welcomed us warmly. It was too early to check in but they not only took our bags but they put them in our room for us. They happily honored our request for a room wit a large bed. Our room was very spacious and comfortable. Not only was the bed size what we wanted but also there was a day bed that doubled as a couch. The bathroom was gracious in size with a large tub / shower. The only thing it needed was a shower curtain (we got the bathroom pretty wet taking showers) The bathroom had a towel warmer that we used to dry clothes that we needed cleaned. Later we found out that the hotel did offer a washing service. Also the room had tile floors, which would be great in the heat of the summer. Also it looked like there was air conditioning which we leaned is not always a given in Italy. Breakfast here as wonderful. There were a large variety of sweet and savory items. The staff made any type of espresso or coffee you wanted. The breakfast room was gorgeous it had high ceilings and that were beautifully painted. This hotel felt more like a B&B than a hotel. . It was like staying with a very quiet aunt who was very happy to see you but was more than happy to let you do what you wanted and only got involved if you needed help. Everyone spoke wonderful English and was eager to help, and offer suggestions. We would stay here again in a heartbeat. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 578nancyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#29 of 410 in Florence
2,362 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#45 of 410 in Florence
825 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#58 of 410 in Florence
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#41 of 410 in Florence
818 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#38 of 410 in Florence
2,177 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#42 of 410 in Florence
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casci

Address: Via Camillo Cavour, 13, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#28 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £71 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Casci 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Casci is a small family managed hotel located in an ancient palace right in the heart of Florence, just a few steps from the Duomo and the Accademia (David), within walking distance from all museums and sights. It can be easily reached from the main railway station and by car, too, with a valet garage nearby. All rooms have private bathroom, air conditioning, flat screen TV with DVD, free WI-FI, hairdryer, fridge and safety-box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Casci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casci Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing