We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What They Said”
Review of Hotel Casci

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Casci
Ranked #46 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2010

I won't repeat the other satisfied guests' comments. This is the place to stay, and we'll be back. The elevator wasn't in service, and the walk up about 60 dusty steps discouraged some arriving guests. But it's worth the walk, and the management will help with the baggage.

Just one caveat: The official wake-up call came at 7:00 a.m. The trouble is, we did not request a wake-up call, and were in a deep sleep, thanks to good bedding and adequate air conditioning. I commented at the Reception, and was immediately told that the call must have come from another guest. I'd expected to hear an apology and some intent to not do this to other guests. So, when you stay here, and you should, please confirm your wake-up plans at the Reception before turning in for the night.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuViPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casci, Manager at Hotel Casci, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2010

Thank you for the time to post your kind comment and I am happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at the Casci !!
As you mentioned, the last one was a bad week-end - probably due to the very bad storm we suffered on Thursday, a few things went out of order - anyhow:
- the elevator has been repaired and is now working properly;
- the wake-up system has been restored and is also working properly - sorry if this guest was waken up early (7 am).

And most of all - the scaffholding in front of the building is now done away with, as the façade is finally restored.

Thanks to all our guests for their patience - we all did work our utmost to avoid any problems.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,789)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,532 - 1,538 of 2,789 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2010

Hotel Casci provided us with a wonderful spot to explore Florence from. We were within two blocks of the Duomo, with about as far to the Accademia. The Uffizi was a quick walk, and even Palazzo Pitti was an easy walk across Ponte Vecchio. While the accommodations at Casci are not fancy, they are quite comfortable and affordable. Our quad room had three beds with a queen for the adults, and plenty of room to move around in, as well as ample closet space. The private bathroom was just fine too. Breakfast in the common dining room provided plenty of good food and a very friendly atmosphere. Mrs. Lombardi even took to personally making our girls hot chocolate every morning. The host family was incredibly friendly and helpful, providing museum advice and wonderful restaurant recommendations. One of the highlights of our entire trip was a tour of Tuscany that the Lombardi family helped us arrange. Hotel Casci won’t fulfill the needs of those seeking upscale or formal accommodations, but it was absolutely perfect for a family looking for a comfortable and affordable place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j_kDad2266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

Loved the cleanliness and coolness (air conditioning made for a good night's rest) of the quad room we had. It was a good value for a great location, very comfortable beds and the breakfast was EXCELLENT. The front desk let us borrow a DVD for the kids to watch one evening and we borrowed a tour book from their library to help us plan our visit. Since I asked in advance via email, the hotel also made our Uffizi reservations and we got right in - makes you wonder why everyone standing in the 3 hr wait line doesn't make reservations too...
The front desk arranged valet parking for us, which might have run around 26 euros until 1pm the next day, but it was worth it for us not to have to drive around. The location can't be beat - just a few blocks from the duomo, and Firenze is a great walking city.
We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank easthamptontraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

This hotel is a family run hotel centrally located in Florence. It is easily reached fron SMN train station - you dont need taxis just follow directions from the hotel's website. Facilities in hotel are very good, bathroom modern - absolutely everything you will need. We stayed in the room that Rossini lived in for 4 years.A little bit of historyThe hospitality of the family is exceptional. They will give you all the help and advice you will need. The highlight is the breakfast the owner is attentive she will make sure you have everything you want the soft boiled eggs were lovely. We stayed in a 4 star in Rome though good was not as nice as CASCI
Florence more expensive than Rome or Venice. In the square beside the Uffizi gallery there is an Irish bar OLD STOVE I think which has good value happy hour from 6 - 9p.m The restaurant next door has agood tourist menu.
Many thanks to the Lombardi family for such a pleasant. stay

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gretchenBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We loved the Hotel Casci! It was hard to find a triple in Florence and Casci had nice size rooms, a truly wonderful family who runs it, and a delicious breakfast every morning. You are very near the Duomo and the Central Market and plenty of places to eat. I booked my husband here 2 years ago and he loved it as well... and wouldn't let me stay anyplace else.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAluggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Perfect location - really central. Run by eccentric, friendly, helpful family. immaculate rooms. (Our triple room was large, but the single was very small and dark). Free Wi-fi. Big breakfast, and a GLUTEN FREE option - our only one in Italy.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJandHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Everything about Hotel Casci was ideal - especially the friendly, knowledgeable staff, all willing to help you out from the time you make your booking.

Mr. Casci even helped us try to procure soccer tickets (a tough thing to do for foreigners in Italy) and let us have tickets mailed to the hotel in advance of our arrival. He also kindly booked our visit to local museums ahead of time.

The rooms are compact, but clean and cozy, with everything you need. It's such a hospitable environment, you'll feel like you're visiting your aunt and uncle's place in Florence. And the price isn't far off staying with relatives' either! :)

They have great little touches throughout, such as a resource library of Florence travel books, an internet work station, and a little bar. I loved the morning breakfasts. Simple, fresh, healthy and good.

A year later, I still ache for the simple peace and quiet of this hotel - on the doorstep of the city's cultural thrills and historical magnificence. Florence was our favourite place in Italy, and Hotel Casci was a big part of making our experience so wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#29 of 410 in Florence
2,362 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#45 of 410 in Florence
825 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#58 of 410 in Florence
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#41 of 410 in Florence
818 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#38 of 410 in Florence
2,177 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#42 of 410 in Florence
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casci

Address: Via Camillo Cavour, 13, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#28 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £71 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Casci 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Casci is a small family managed hotel located in an ancient palace right in the heart of Florence, just a few steps from the Duomo and the Accademia (David), within walking distance from all museums and sights. It can be easily reached from the main railway station and by car, too, with a valet garage nearby. All rooms have private bathroom, air conditioning, flat screen TV with DVD, free WI-FI, hairdryer, fridge and safety-box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Casci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casci Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing