We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect location”
Review of Gallery Hotel Art

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Gallery Hotel Art
Ranked #37 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“perfect location”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

I can't say enough good things about this hotel, but i will try and highlight a few.

Location: Fabulous. Steps away from the ponte vecchio. We had dinner almost every night in the oltrano so we were able to hop across the bridge easily. Also it is within walking distance to all the major attractions including the uffizzi, academia, duomo.

Room size: The room was absolutely perfect. We were upgraded to a studio on check in. Our travel mates were even lucky enough to have a room with a terrace...all wonderful. My one MAJOR complaint was that the bed was EXTREMELY HARD!! the bed felt like a table top. I used the extra blankets to make it bearable. Loved coming back to my room to soak in the tub after a long, hard day of sight seeing.

Breakfast: Wonderful variety and warm, attentive service. initially breakfast was not included in our rate. It was offered to us for Euro 13 and that was well worth it. Not having to go out every morning to get breakfast was very convenient and enabled us to get an early start on sight seeing.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mskradtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    590
    284
    75
    29
    4
See reviews for
144
482
37
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rye, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. When we first arrived, the front desk staff was very friendly. They offered us the hotel breakfast plan which was 13 euros per person a day. They didn't tell us, that we would still be charged even if we didn't eat breakfast at the hotel. That was annoying, However, the breakfast was decent and convenient.

We were lucky, as our room was pretty spacious with a nice sized bathroom as well. The bed was very comfortable. The location of the hotel is one of the best parts. It is right in front of the Ponte Vecchio bridge. The view at sunset is magical and all you have to do is step right out of the hotel.

The only complaint I have is about the front desk. The first day when we arrived everyone was very friendly. However, the rest of the trip I noticed they never greeted us when we were returning to the hotel and when we were leaving the hotel. I especially remember one male employee who we saw every single night when we returned to the hotel. He was always hunched over the computer and didn't even look up when guests passed his desk. Isn't greeting guests one of the first things you learn in the hospitality service industry? I think the whole staff needs to be retrained on how to make guests who stay at your hotel feel welcomed.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekx012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armonk
Level Contributor
367 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Let me start with the best aspect of the hotel - it is right off of Ponte Vecchio. I mean right off the bridge. Five minutes and you're at the Duomo. Really amazing location. Unfortunately the rooms are really small. May have been the smallest room i ever stayed in. Barely room to walk around the bed. Tiny bathroom. Very small elevator. Bed is very comfortable and all is clean and nice and breakfast is great. So as long as you don't plan to spend time in the room it is a good option. Note that this hotel is part of the Lungarno collection that has 4 hotels at least one of which is suites and i also heard from others in our group that their hotel was not as small but i did not see their rooms. Do some research before you decide which of the four to go to and i also don't know how their prices compare.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orrdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
177 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012 via mobile

I was there for business but will definitely return with my girlfriend.
The rooms are all doubles with ample and spacious rooms, with a modern decor.
Just a few niggling issues for the business traveller that would not really have bothered me if I was on vacation: there is no mobile network inside The Hotel (although they have wifi), The restaurant offers hip and trendy fusion dishes and sushi - nice but I would have welcomed one "boring" dish after a long working day.
On the weekends it seems (the lounge restaurant) to be a meeting spot for so me of the trendy locals.
Staff at reception are very attentive and professional. I would definitely return to stay either on business or pleasure.

Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank frequentflyer197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chile
Level Contributor
155 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

i have stayed at this hotel many times being the first may be more than 10 years back
i loved the way the concept and hotel itself doesnt age at all
got a bigger room which i recomend even its higher price ,kids got normal room which is ok
love general feel and for the first time got breakfast due to an instant offer upon arrival which was perfect value
location is superb ,arrived by car and honesty dont know if i can recomend others to do so (beware ZTL zone,doesnt apply if you arrive on sunday) ,anyway valetparking service was perfect
all and all i love this hotel ,i also love the city so maybe i overrate everything

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welltraveledA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Nice hotel in good location.I had a gallery room at the back that was very dark and rather small.The bathroom was a good size but the bath surround was badly stained.Breakfast was a bit of a disaster with long waits for coffee.The staff were friendly and helpful.Wouldn't bother to stay again as rather overpriced.

Room Tip: Try and avoid gallery rooms as very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dentist21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turnhout, Belgium
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Breakfast oké, beds good. Situated in the beautiful florence, (central situated)
hotel oké

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank culinairef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Continentale
Continentale
#41 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#31 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#22 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#46 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallery Hotel Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallery Hotel Art

Property: Gallery Hotel Art
Address: Vicolo Dell'Oro 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Florence
#28 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#40 Family Hotel in Florence
#59 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gallery Hotel Art 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests are invited to vernissages of exhibitions which take place in the public areas of the hotel.Gli Ospiti sono inviati ai vernissage delle mostre allestite nelle aree comuni dell'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Fastbooking, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gallery Hotel Art reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallery Art
Gallery Hotel Florence
Gallery Hotel Art Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing