We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and over-rated”
Review of Hotel Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Savoy
Ranked #25 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2009

We were expecting great things from this hotel but were disappointed in almost all regards. Whilst it was new and the two rooms we had were modern, clean, comfortable and well appointed the standard of service we received was not commensurate with the price we paid. Very Americanised - and therefore appearing very insincere. Breakfast choice was poor - all sugary/chocolately cereal and fired everything - appealing to the American market. Items often ran out and service at breakfast was very slow. We had to wait for one of the rooms to be ready although we arrived after official check in time. Great location though - right on the square - but dont breakfast outside as the local beggars come right over and stand close until you give them money - the staff seemed oblivious to that. Go somewhere much nicer, with more charater for much less cash.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank denise40smile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,041)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

693 - 699 of 1,041 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2009

I travel a good bit and was very impressed with how immaculate the hotel was!
It was "top notch" and one that was close proximity to shopping, sightseeing and great
places to eat. in my opinion, it was "the best of the best!"

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank upgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

We recently returned from a 4 day stay at the Savoy. It is centrally located on the Piazza della Repubblica. Very close to all the major historical sites in Florence, as well as the great shopping the city has to offer. We had booked a Brunelleschi Suite, on the 5th floor overlooking the Piazza. The Suite had a small separate living room and a small separate bedroom. It has a nice modern decor, wood floors, with a contemporary look to it. Lighting in the rooms were nice, but you could not dim any of the lights to give it a warmer cozier feel. It is not as plush and comfortable as Brown's in London, nor the Russie in Rome. To be honest, it was a bit underwhelming. For some reason they have divided the suite with a large walk in steam shower, which was nice, but in an odd location. The bathroom was nicely appointed but very small, certainly not suited for 2 people to get ready at the same time. The rooms do not have wi-fi, but there are cables for your pc, but pricey internet costs 20euro per day. There was a portable ipod speaker system, set up for the nanos, if you have another model, bring your own cable to connect it to. There were a number of little things that just was not quite right about the room, noisy ac/heat, showers that dripped, house keeping that cleaned half of the room or did not replace bath supplies etc. When we asked if these things could be taken care of, they were fixed/replaced etc. I just dont think we should have had to ask, especially at the room rate we paid. Just not what we have come to expect from Rocco Forte hotels. On the other hand, the Concierge was excellent, very helpful in booking nice local restaurants on short notice. Would we return, probably not, there are a number of choices in the city.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DuffCooperJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2009

We spend the weekend in Florence in august 2009. This hotel was a bit on the expensive side, but was located in the middle of the attractions providing the superior service quality amongst its european peers. Our room had a duomo view and large compared to european standards. For short visits, I believe it is the best value..

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TolgaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

We stayed in Savoy for 3 days during our 2 week eurotrip. Excellent property, trully 5 star place. Nice decoration, super clean and cool, outstanding service and concierge. Super location right on the Piazza Republica in the middle and close to EVERYTHING. Cant imagine better place in Florence.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexshulman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

Doormen were excellent. They were very spontaneous and helpful in greeting us. Concierge staff were very good. Made reservations for us and had a book that we could flip through for restaurant/activities etc.

We stayed in the hotel in 2 stages in between we travelled elsewhere in Italy for several days.

On the first stay, we got a room facing the back alley with no view. This was very unpleasant considering the prices.

The bed in that room was bumpy and the reception lady who served me was seemingly shocked when I brought this to her attention when checking out for the first time. No apologies offered. BTW her name is Victoria. She was the one person in the whole hotel that I fould unbearable!

On our second stint, we got a nice room facing the piazza. This view and its location is the only saving grace of the hotel. The reception staff are not helpful. Please do not ask for a late checkout no matter how late your flight is in the evening. When I asked during the second check in, the guy who helped me said he would get back to me, Of course he didn't. One day later asked again and our "friend "Victoria reluctantly gave us an extra hour.

The forgot to give us the complimentary newspapers during the second stay.

The letter they give you on the night before checkout shouldn't give the impression that you have a say in the checkout time. It really is entirely up to victoria to decide!

Restaurant staff always standing around talking amongst themselves.

Food is very overpriced even considering the location etc. Poor choices very limited menu. Breakfast buffet unimpressive.

I am going back to florence soon, I will certainly try my best not to stay at the savoy. I would expect more at these prices. They should send their staff to villa il patriaca in Chiusi for training on hospitality!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lordelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

The Savoy charges for its great location, but rooms are not worth the price. Paying 442 Euros per night we expected a truly 5 star experience. Service was good, specially the Concierge which was very helpful in tours and restaurant reservations. Rooms are not that impressive. Maybe having linen sheets is nice, but not comfortable, would prefer cotton, same case with towels. The hotel has central Air Conditioning, weather was kind of cold in Florence, so was the A/C. We turned it off, but air was still coming out, so rooms are not that cozy. We expected free internet, but they charge 20 euros per day. Room floors where very dirty. Our room was supposed to be a non smoking, but I found ash below the working desk and stayed there for 4 days. Breakfast food was fine, but for 32 euros per person a day I expected much better quality and choices (eggs not included).

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#14 of 409 in Florence
1,306 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 409 in Florence
2,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#5 of 409 in Florence
566 reviews
Hotel Lungarno
#11 of 409 in Florence
1,269 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy

Address: Piazza della Repubblica 7, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Florence
#21 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#23 Family Hotel in Florence
#28 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £370 - £826 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Savoy 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star Hotel Savoy offers luxury and style in the heart of Florence. Located on the Piazza Repubblica, close to Florence's renowned landmark the Duomo, the hotel is just a short walk from the Uffizi Gallery and the Ponte Vecchio. Just steps away from the main Florence fashion houses, the Hotel Savoy is the ideal base from which to visit the key attractions of this beautiful and historic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocco Forte Savoy
Forte Hotel Florence
Forte Florence
Florence Forte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing