We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so extraordinary”

Basilica San Miniato al Monte
Book In Advance
More Info
US$68.65*
and up
San Miniato al Monte and Orsanmichele Art Tour
Ranked #11 of 630 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Situated on a hill (monte) outside Florence with unsurpassed views of the city, this structure is one of the finest examples of Tuscan Romanesque architecture, built between the 11th and 13th centuries.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
1,246 reviews
1,004 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 584 helpful votes
“Not so extraordinary”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I've visited this church because I saw the ratings on TripAdvisor, as it was the No. 1 attraction in Florence; To get there you must climb one of the highest points of the city (the view is very nice, but you have Piazzale Michelangelo near by with the same view); The church is not very big, the outside have a nice Rennaisance facade, but inside, except the mosaic above the altar, there is nothing really spectacular, which makes me think that this church is overrated. Anyway, worth the climb to see it only if you are around and you want to see all the churches in Florence, but there are many others more spectacular than this one.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank menq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,522
    858
    136
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“you gotta go”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We took a cab there so I can't comment about the walk up. Tthe cabdriver long-hauled us there: 20 Euro from the train station... Oh well, they just chisel you constantly in Italy: it is a real shame. A bit like Mexico but ruder people, always gouging you. Yet I have been there two years in a row now because of their incredible riches such as this basilica. Plus, the view is priceless.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“San Miniato”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Worth the steep climb up. The views are wonderful. The church is beautiful and the singing at Mass is heavenly.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hilary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Sunset Must See”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is my favorite place in Florence and I have seen it all! The best time to go is in the evening in the fall for sunset. I say Fall because the sun sets earlier and I imagine by the time the sun sets in the summer it is closed.

The church is on a hill overlooking the city of Florence and Piazzalle Michelangelo. As the sun sets, you have a GORGEOUS view, but I love to be inside as it happens. The church doesn't have a lot of light, so if you sit inside, it is super dark, but the golden, peach sun is shining in the main door. It is just so peaceful and breathtaking.

Another feature I love is the cemetery. I know, sounds weird, but I love cemeteries. There is one grave with two statues - a man and a woman. I think is represents them from the 1940s or so - he is wearing a military uniform. They are dancing. It is just gorgeous and you really feel the love of these two people.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MO2181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“View amazing, church overrated”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

There's an overlook on a road that goes past Florence called the Piazza Michelangelo. The overlook, while basically just a parking lot in itself, has great views of the old section of Florence, and is the point from which thousands of amateur photographers capture the magic of Florence. Well, this church is on a hill that overlooks the overlook, and the view is even better, if you have the legs for it.

It's a little off the beaten path, which I enjoyed. Still plenty of tourists, but not overrun. The church itself is beautiful, but in an understated sort of way, and is undergoing a long term restoration. It's more a place for silent reflection and a relaxed walk than for big oohs and aahs.

This is a good activity if you want to get away from the crowds for an afternoon.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Basilica San Miniato al Monte also viewed

 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Basilica San Miniato al Monte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing