We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel after a negative experience the first night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta
Ranked #66 of 672 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel after a negative experience the first night”
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We booked the hotel several months ahead of time. When we arrived, we were told we would be staying in an older room for 1 night and then they would move us into a newer room for the next 4. We felt a little used since this was to accomodate a better booking for them. The first room was a little too quaint with a small bathroom and weak shower, and we thought of changing hotels, but we were glad we didn't when they moved us into the new room on the ground level. They are enlarging the hotel, and this room was very nice. It was nicely renovated with a huge, modern bathroom, a patio, and very comfortable. A/C was wonderfully cooll in hot Florence. Breakfast was included since we booked directly, and it was very good. Staff was very helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay there again and will look forward to further renovations they are going to make to enlarge the breakfast room and lobby. The only negative was that wifi was extra which we hadn't expected.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoponatrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    89
    19
    6
    8
See reviews for
61
140
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

This was our first trip to Italy and to travel abroad with our 3 college and teen-aged kids. Our friends who had visited Italy claimed Florence as their favorite, but we had no good hotel recommendations. We turned to Trip Advisor. Based on those reviews, we booked the Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta, which is two - three blocks from the San Marco Piazza. Tucked away on a quiet street just a 5-7 minute walk northeast of the Duomo, we were most pleasantly impressed. The hotel is on the first floor up, which was not a problem for our family. We reserved superior rooms and they were quite large - the largest we had in our travels to Amalfi and Rome. The triple room had a nice patio. The bathrooms were also modern and spotless. The breakfast was excellent and was served with lovely classical music playing in the background. Ricardo, Frank and all the attentive staff spoke excellent English and were helpful with directions and hotel reservations. Overall, it was an outstanding experience. They are currently in the process of enlarging their boutique hotel with plans in motion to move the lobby to the first floor and to add an elevator.

Room Tip: If you want a patio, be sure and request it. Superior rooms were very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CNReese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Our first time in Florence, and we were apprehensive about our accommodation choice.
We need not have been, as this hotel was perfect for our four days here.
Small, oozing with history, subtle yet efficient service, the Morandi Alla Crocetta was quiet and well located a ten minutes walk northeast of the Duomo and close to many good restaurants.
Our room was a generous size and had a pretty terrace, the breakfast enjoyable and the hotel was like staying in an exclusive club.
We felt very much at home in this comfortable hotel, and would certainly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank binksy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albuquerque
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

I stayed at the Morandi Alla Crocetta on my first trip to Italy in 1996 and have wanted to go back ever since. I finally returned for 3 nights in June 2011 and loved it even more the second time. We had a large room on the ground floor with a private courtyard and, by Italian standards, a very large bathroom. This was a twin bedded room with space for a nice chair and a small desk area large enough for the laptop. There was also an in room fridge, perfect for keeping a bottle of wine to enjoy in the courtyard before dinner.
Breakfast is simple but good and served in a charming breakfast room or in your room if you prefer. The owner (Paulo) and staff are warm and so helpful. The location is fabulous, very near the Accademia and walking distance to everything but in a quiet area away from the big crowds. It was my favorite hotel of the 4 we stayed in throughout Italy.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cattivojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We stayed here for three nights and thought it lovely. The staff were friendly courteous and helpful and the room was very elegant and cool to come back to after a hot day's sightseeing. Only criticism was that the bathroom was a bit small. Breakfast was served to you by two very obliging men.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterandvivien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2011

The room was spacious and filled with soft light--furnishings exceptional--air conditioning worked uncommonly well. The staff was gracious, charming and exceedingly helpful--arranging taxis, tickets, etc. The breakfasts are served in a cozy but elegant dining area--lovely service and food--also several spacious sitting areas/parlors to relax in. Location great too--we walked everywhere. If we go back, we'll most certainly stay here again. Loved it!

Room Tip: Our room was on the lower floor--
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelpals2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2011

We stayed for 3 days at this hotel, and opted to pay for the breakfast.

The staff was knowledgable about the area, friendly, and very helpful. More about that later.

The room was big enough, clean & quiet ... but we didn't stay in it much (too much to see in the city.)

When we forgot a passport in the room safe, the staff called us. By then, we were in Rome and fretting about what to do. The staff mailed us the passport, express, at the hotel's expense, to our Rome hotel. Crisis averted, due to the great staff at Hotel Morandi.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikebetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
#65 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
#50 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#44 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Torre Guelfa Hotel
Torre Guelfa Hotel
#67 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
San Marco
Residenza Il Villino B&B
Residenza Il Villino B&B
#20 of 672 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Duomo
Residenza Dei Pucci
Residenza Dei Pucci
#163 of 672 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta

Property: Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta
Address: Via Laura 50, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 672 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best of modern comfort harmoniously combined with the warmth of antique furnishings. A quiet, comfortable and distinguished atmosphere in the former convent of the Crocetta, the Hotel Morandi alla Crocetta is today, following an ancient tradition of hospitality, a place where one can enjoy a pleasant and relaxed stay in Florence. Located in the historical centre of the city next to the Archaeological Museum and a few steps from the Academy of Fine arts, it is within easy walking distance to every point of artistic, cultural and economic interest. With Individually controlled central air conditioning, every room has its fully equipped private facilities as well as sat-television, radio, free wi-fi internet connection, refrigerator-bar, direct dialing telephone and a safe. On premises garage. Private walking tours arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morandi Alla Crocetta Florence
Morandi Alla Crocetta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing