We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like staying in a friend's home” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta
Ranked #62 of 653 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Like staying in a friend's home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

The hotel is situated about 10 minutes' walk from the Duomo. It is quite small, perhaps 12 rooms, and everything has a welcome sedateness to it -- you feel like you are visiting a friend's home. The room was a little cramped but comfortable, the fittings were modern, and the internet connection was weak in some parts of the room. Nevertheless, this is a great place to stay.

The staff are very polite and helpful. Breakfast is served in a room with only three tables; you eat on chinaware with good cutlery, and you are personally waited on by the manager. You get your choice of coffee prepared as you like it -- cappuccino, "American", espresso, etc. -- plus cereal, croissants and rolls and jam and butter and cheese and meats. Overall, it's a friendly establishment that stands out for its genuine hospitality in a city where things are usually impersonal and touristy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rexpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ammmor, Direttore at Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your experience with us! I am delighted to read that you found our hotel to be warm and efficient.
We serve breakfast with original Richard Ginori chinaware and silver cutlery.
Your kind comments regarding the hotel’s location and service is highly appreciated. We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,
Rachele Nannini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    87
    19
    6
    8
See reviews for
61
136
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

The Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta was perfect for our family of four (two teenagers). It's about a 10 - 15 minute walk from the train station and only 5 minutes from the Duomo. The hotel is beautifully decorated with hints of it's religious history. Even though our room was right off of the reception area, it was quiet. We had a quadruple room that included 2 twin beds and a sofa bed on one level, and an additional bed up in a loft area. The beds and pillows were very comfortable, including unexpected turndown service. The A/C was nice and cool and the internet was quick. Although breakfast was served elegantly, it was included in the room rate. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Other than the bathroom being on the small side, this hotel is perfect. I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyOfFour91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ammmor, Direttore at Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice words regarding your stay with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us and that you had a wonderful vacation in Florence!
We look forward to hosting you again!

Warm regards,
Rachele Nannini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

The hotel was charming and the staff was very helpful and gave great service. I loved the breakfast as well! We were able to walk to many places within 15 minutes. It is very close to the Accademia. The hotel staff were very helpful with questions and gave good recommendations for restaurants. Our luggage came a couple days after our flight arrived and the hotel staff, without being asked, put them in our room. We were very pleased overall.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ammmor, Direttore at Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your experience with us. It has been our pleasure to having hosted you in Florence and do look forward to your next visit in the future.

Warm regards,
Rachele Nannini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

No complaints about this hotel, except that we could not stay longer! Just a short walk away from the Accademia, and a little further to the Duomo, this hotel's location could not have been better for our two-night stay in Florence. Loved the candy-stripe tiled bathroom! Very clean, comfortable, and quiet, with a friendly and helpful staff. I loved the fresh-cut daisies that were in the room, too.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ammmor, Direttore at Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for your review. It has been our preasure to host you in Florence and do look forward to being able to eceive you in Florence some other time in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

The outside may appear unprepossessing but, like many things in Florence, the inside has a timeless beauty and drips with atmosphere. We were referred by an acquaintance with long experience in Florence, who knows Paolo the proprietor ... you get the picture of a friends and family place where service is attentive and sincere. The location is excellent: only a delightful walk across the underappreciated Piazza SS. Annunciata, past the huge equestrian statue of Medici Grand Duke Ferdinando I, lies between the hotel and the heart of the old city, leading right to the Duomo. Breakfasts are fine and elegantly served; the air conditioning was a blessed relief during our visit, and the wi-fi worked well in my room. Perhaps most distinctive is the quiet:because the Morandi is on a back street, there is none of the street noise that can invade other locations in the congested old city. All in all, it's your own personal base for exploring the unequalled concentration of cultural wonders that is Florence.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a patio or balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Basingstoke60654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ammmor, Proprietario at Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for your review. The staff and managment all look forward to hosting you in Florence some other time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Beautiful hotel in a great location in Florence. Wonderful staff who are very accommodating, helpful and gracious. My room was lovely, with a nice little courtyard. Breakfasts were good and a lovely start to the day.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoulderKaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ammmor, Proprietario at Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for your review on the Hotel Morandi alla Crocetta. I do look forward to being able to host you in Florence once again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

My husband and I returned to Hotel Morandi 21 years after our first visit as a young(er) couple, this time with our 16 and 19 year old teens. The hotel has retained it's charm and grace and is a quiet and tasteful retreat from the tourist frenzy of Firenze. Our rooms were comfortable, breakfasts were wonderful, the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Hopefully, we'll return before another 21 years go by!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ammmor, Direttore at Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Thank you for your review. It has been our pleasure to having hosted you in Florence and do look forward to your next visit in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
#60 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
#41 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#53 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Residenza Dei Pucci
Residenza Dei Pucci
#130 of 653 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Duomo
Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo
Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo
#17 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Santa Croce
Residenza Il Villino B&B
Residenza Il Villino B&B
#21 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta

Property: Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta
Address: Via Laura 50, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 653 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best of modern comfort harmoniously combined with the warmth of antique furnishings. A quiet, comfortable and distinguished atmosphere in the former convent of the Crocetta, the Hotel Morandi alla Crocetta is today, following an ancient tradition of hospitality, a place where one can enjoy a pleasant and relaxed stay in Florence. Located in the historical centre of the city next to the Archaeological Museum and a few steps from the Academy of Fine arts, it is within easy walking distance to every point of artistic, cultural and economic interest. With Individually controlled central air conditioning, every room has its fully equipped private facilities as well as sat-television, radio, free wi-fi internet connection, refrigerator-bar, direct dialing telephone and a safe. On premises garage. Private walking tours arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morandi Alla Crocetta Florence
Morandi Alla Crocetta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing