We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded our expectations in every way! Memorable stay in Florence.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta
Ranked #67 of 675 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations in every way! Memorable stay in Florence.”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We just returned from a two week trip to Italy with stops in Venice, Verona, Florence and Lucca. We were a little nervous about this hotel (convent!) given we have 3 teenage boys (12, 14 and 16). I can tell you everything about the hotel is superb. It is located 4 blocks from the Duomo in a quiet part of town (no crowds), close to very good restaurants (and gelato), a piazza showing outdoor cinema and absolutely sensational (albeit small and unusual) rooms with beautiful terraces. The staff were extraordinarily helpful in every way and breakfast every morning was something to be cherished - make sure you have the fresh croissants and cheese! This was well worth a visit and very affordable given its location. Be prepared if you drive to park in a tiny tiny parking garage which will test your driving skills to the limit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCBAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ammmor, Proprietario at Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Your wonderful comments regarding the hotel’s location, guest rooms and service is highly appreciated. We like to give our guests a good morning fragrance with fresh cooked croissant and bread. The parking place is in a narrow street unfortunately there is nothing we can do about it, but I'm happy to take the chance for announcing that since we took note of your consideration about it now we work with a garage service as well in order to be able to provide the best service for any car or SUV!
It has been our pleasure to having hosted you in Florence and do look forward to your next visit in the future.

Best Regards
Rachele Nannini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    89
    19
    6
    8
See reviews for
61
140
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta was a great place to stay for my wife and I while we were in Venice. It's conveniently located near most of the major sites (within 5 minutes walking distance), while being on a side street that is a little quieter than much of the area. The breakfasts were good, and the hotel staff was excellent: they were very attentive, helpful, and their advice on how to book reservations for the big museums in Florence saved us hours of time.
The decor is much what you might expect from an old converted convent, which gives the place a unique, if not exactly modern feel. The rooms are also much larger than many of the rooms we stayed at in Italy, which was a nice plus. Overall, I highly recommend the hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skadyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ammmor, Direttore generale at Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay with us and for recommending us!
We also appreciate your kind comments about our staff which is a crucial part of a successful stay.

I do look forward to being your host in Florence again in the future.
Best Regards
Rachele Nannini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2013

In July 2013, my husband spent 3 nights in Hotel Morandi. We arrived by taxi and were surprised at the graffiti covered wall on the opposite side of this sidestreet- but don't let that be off-putting. Opposite was the graceful Morandi, an oasis during our stay in Florence. The location was perfect- we were able to walk the city with ease and appreciated the quiet location on return to the hotel at night.
I returned there 10 days later for another 3 nights with my mother. Both stays were pleasant: breakfast in a small elegant dining room that included a selection of meats, yogurt, warm breads, and choice of coffees(espresso, Americano and cappuccino). The staff eagerly took our luggage up and down the stairs, arranged for taxis and made recommendations for restaurants.
I would describe the rooms as classic shabby- not a criticism, but gently worn, clean, in a quiet atmosphere that made us feel like we were coming "home" each night.
Paolo, the proprietor, was most welcoming. I made an error in the reservation and he graciously made an adjustment that could have been otherwise costly. He also gave us a sneak preview of the renovation of the hotel's street level - a large reception and dining area with an old European sensibility. I look forward to returning!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Debby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ammmor, Direttore generale at Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your experience with us!
We’re so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay. We are looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit!

Warm regards,
Rachele Nannini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, CT USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Our family of 16 stayed in this lovely hotel. It was beautifully decorated, convenient to many of the must -sees in Florence, and the staff was exceptional. We had use of a common room where we all gathered to review the adventures of the day before starting out to dinner. Surrounded by antiques and a notable history, the Morandi quickly became one of our very favorite places in Italy!

Room Tip: We had five rooms, all different, all lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ammmor, Direttore at Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and the time you took to share your experience. We are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us and that you had a wonderful vacation in Florence! The history, the antiques and the arti in the hotel allows our guests to continue the cultural and artistic experience of visiting the sites of Florence.
We are looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit!

Warm regards,
Rachele Nannini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

The hotel is situated about 10 minutes' walk from the Duomo. It is quite small, perhaps 12 rooms, and everything has a welcome sedateness to it -- you feel like you are visiting a friend's home. The room was a little cramped but comfortable, the fittings were modern, and the internet connection was weak in some parts of the room. Nevertheless, this is a great place to stay.

The staff are very polite and helpful. Breakfast is served in a room with only three tables; you eat on chinaware with good cutlery, and you are personally waited on by the manager. You get your choice of coffee prepared as you like it -- cappuccino, "American", espresso, etc. -- plus cereal, croissants and rolls and jam and butter and cheese and meats. Overall, it's a friendly establishment that stands out for its genuine hospitality in a city where things are usually impersonal and touristy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rexpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ammmor, Direttore at Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your experience with us! I am delighted to read that you found our hotel to be warm and efficient.
We serve breakfast with original Richard Ginori chinaware and silver cutlery.
Your kind comments regarding the hotel’s location and service is highly appreciated. We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,
Rachele Nannini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta was perfect for our family of four (two teenagers). It's about a 10 - 15 minute walk from the train station and only 5 minutes from the Duomo. The hotel is beautifully decorated with hints of it's religious history. Even though our room was right off of the reception area, it was quiet. We had a quadruple room that included 2 twin beds and a sofa bed on one level, and an additional bed up in a loft area. The beds and pillows were very comfortable, including unexpected turndown service. The A/C was nice and cool and the internet was quick. Although breakfast was served elegantly, it was included in the room rate. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Other than the bathroom being on the small side, this hotel is perfect. I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyOfFour91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ammmor, Direttore at Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice words regarding your stay with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us and that you had a wonderful vacation in Florence!
We look forward to hosting you again!

Warm regards,
Rachele Nannini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The hotel was charming and the staff was very helpful and gave great service. I loved the breakfast as well! We were able to walk to many places within 15 minutes. It is very close to the Accademia. The hotel staff were very helpful with questions and gave good recommendations for restaurants. Our luggage came a couple days after our flight arrived and the hotel staff, without being asked, put them in our room. We were very pleased overall.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ammmor, Direttore at Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your experience with us. It has been our pleasure to having hosted you in Florence and do look forward to your next visit in the future.

Warm regards,
Rachele Nannini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
#64 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
#49 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#43 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Torre Guelfa Hotel
Torre Guelfa Hotel
#67 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
San Marco
Residenza Il Villino B&B
Residenza Il Villino B&B
#19 of 675 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Duomo
Residenza Dei Pucci
Residenza Dei Pucci
#162 of 675 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta

Property: Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta
Address: Via Laura 50, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 675 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best of modern comfort harmoniously combined with the warmth of antique furnishings. A quiet, comfortable and distinguished atmosphere in the former convent of the Crocetta, the Hotel Morandi alla Crocetta is today, following an ancient tradition of hospitality, a place where one can enjoy a pleasant and relaxed stay in Florence. Located in the historical centre of the city next to the Archaeological Museum and a few steps from the Academy of Fine arts, it is within easy walking distance to every point of artistic, cultural and economic interest. With Individually controlled central air conditioning, every room has its fully equipped private facilities as well as sat-television, radio, free wi-fi internet connection, refrigerator-bar, direct dialing telephone and a safe. On premises garage. Private walking tours arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morandi Alla Crocetta Florence
Morandi Alla Crocetta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing