We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta
Ranked #66 of 672 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful Retreat”
Reviewed 5 August 2007

We loved this hotel - the room was newly upgraded and was beautiful and very comfortable. It was quiet and smelled so good. It is in a wonderful location - close for walking everywhere. It was clean and the room was large with a little patio right outside the room.

At first we were a little disappointed that breakfast wasn't included, but it gave us much more flexibility. We got up when we wanted to and ventured out to find great little cafes to have our pastries and coffee. We actually preffered not having the breakfast included.

  • Liked — It smelled so good! Location, Large Room - Peaceful and Quiet
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonisTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    89
    19
    6
    8
See reviews for
61
140
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland.
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2007

We spent five lovely days in the Morandi alla Crocetta in Florence. It is a charming hotel, the staff are english speaking and couldn't be more helpful and friendly. The rooms are full of character with beautiful antique furniture and lovely paintings. We had a beautiful room with a terrace to sit out in.

The hotel is in a quiet street yet only minutes away from the Duomo, Accedemia Gallery, Santa Croce etc.

I would highly remommend the Hotel Morandi alla Crocetta as a tranquil haven to return to after seeing the sights of Florence.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank Rachel67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2007

This was our second stay at the Morandi. We enjoyed our stay there and would love to go back soon. The hotel is a few minutes walk from the sights but it is not a big deal to walk around in Florence. The rooms we've had are big and immaculate, and we were fortunate to have stayed in their 2 best ones - the one with the frescoes and the one with the porch. The staff are very helpful and friendly.. and although there is no one at the desk during the night there is a number you can call in case you have an emergency.

I highly recommend the Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta for those who have a classic taste.

  • Liked — clean, quiet and spacious
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tuffnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2007

Beautiful room and facility. Immaculately clean. Very quiet. Staff were friendly and helpful. Great restaurant recommendation. Would stay there again, and would recommend highly. Our room was on the ground floor so the only time we used the stairs were for check-in and out and for breakfast. Within 5 minutes walk to the Accademia Gallery.

  • Liked — Quiet and friendly
  • Disliked — Expensive breakfast
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank XineF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2007

When your taxi pulls up to the front door (don't even think of driving yourself), you will be sure you made a huge mistake; the street is not exactly welcoming, the front not impressive. We actually went in and began to think of ways to cancel. Forget it. This hotel is a real find. Despite the exterior, the rooms are charming, the location 90% of perfect, the staff extraordinarily helpful (including a retired art professor from Conneticut who has lived in Italy for the last forty years). Try for one of the two rooms with a patio. Skip the breakfast - there is a fabulous bakery two blocks away where the locals stand (don't sit, it doubles the price). This hotel is a real value with history, comfort, and charm. We will return.

  • Liked — Location, charm
  • Disliked — Street scene
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mdwpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2007

My wife and I just returned from an Italian vacation of which we stayed 3 days in Florence at the Morandi. I did tons of research picking hotels in all the cities we visited and chose based on multiple factors including location, price, and reviews. After reading reviews of the Morandi on Frommers, Trip Advisor and Venere, I felt comfortable booking there. However, when we got there it was even better than we had expected.

The hotel is in the heart of Florence but tucked away on a side street where there is almost no noise, traffic or tourists. It is no more than a 5 minute walk to the Accademia and 10 minutes from the Duomo. The whole place was extremely charming. It was originally a convent built in 1511 so it just oozes with character. Our room was amazing complete with a private terrace which can be seen in the pictures included in this posting. I think there are only a few rooms with terrace so you may want to ask in advance.

In addition, the concierge was extremely helpful and professional. They really went out of their way to make us comfortable and take care of us.

We highly recommend the Morandi.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Doublelama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2006

I normally read the Trip Advisor comments before I click the final "ok" on a lot of my hotel reservations. I've learned to read reviews of the hotels that I am well acquainted with, to read what people say about these hotels and compare them with what I know first hand. I did this to better gauge with what some say about the hotels that I don't know anything about. My advice: throw out the very best and then then the very worst, consider eveything in between.

We stayed at the Morandi last week. Most of the staff were super nice, and helpful. There is an Italian/American there named Frank. He was especially nice and directed us to a nice restaurant by the Academy Museum (I think it was actually called Academie Restaurante (try the "fresh pasta" with clams.)

Anyhow, I think that the Morandi is over rated. For starters you should know that there is no overnight desk clerk (I think that the last one is there stays until 9PM). So to get into the hotel after that you have to use your room key, which turns the lock to the outer main entrance door of the building (which is still not the hotel yet..
Then you walk up (a good 2 flights) to get to the entrance door of the hotel. Use your key again, then go to your room and....you guessed it, use your key again. Presumeably the locks must get more detailed in that your room key will only unlock your own room lock (I'll buy that.) You have to carry this (heavy, so you won't forget it somwhere) room key around with you the whole time that you are out. Still, so far, this isn't bad, but if you are elderly, might want to stay where there is a 24 hour staff.

When we initially arrived, we were told that because there was "a problem" with our double room earlier that day, we were to each have a single room. It was late. We were tired and were reassured that the next day would have the double that we booked. The single rooms are not much bigger than a shoe box. I pitty the person that has to travel alone, and then stay in one of these small rooms! They each have a small (almost cot size) twin mattress which one side is against the wall. I think the bed covers were old (not appealing, and made me suspect freshness.) You can almost touch the other side of the room while in bed. I think the bathrooms were clean, but the other (single room) was a little musty. I hate smells of this sort.

The next night we did have the double. It was fine.

Don't get suckered into that old hotel, "old world charm" that some well known tour books tout. You will see "old" all day long in the museums and other sites there so no need to sleep in it too unless that really appeals to you. Next time, I am going big, new, and fresh, magnetic cards.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank stevekm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
#65 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
#50 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#44 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Torre Guelfa Hotel
Torre Guelfa Hotel
#67 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
San Marco
Residenza Il Villino B&B
Residenza Il Villino B&B
#20 of 672 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Duomo
Residenza Dei Pucci
Residenza Dei Pucci
#163 of 672 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta

Property: Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta
Address: Via Laura 50, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 672 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best of modern comfort harmoniously combined with the warmth of antique furnishings. A quiet, comfortable and distinguished atmosphere in the former convent of the Crocetta, the Hotel Morandi alla Crocetta is today, following an ancient tradition of hospitality, a place where one can enjoy a pleasant and relaxed stay in Florence. Located in the historical centre of the city next to the Archaeological Museum and a few steps from the Academy of Fine arts, it is within easy walking distance to every point of artistic, cultural and economic interest. With Individually controlled central air conditioning, every room has its fully equipped private facilities as well as sat-television, radio, free wi-fi internet connection, refrigerator-bar, direct dialing telephone and a safe. On premises garage. Private walking tours arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morandi Alla Crocetta Florence
Morandi Alla Crocetta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing