We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Torre Di Bellosguardo
Ranked #20 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed 5 October 2012

This hotel is a peaceful paradise. The building itself is beautiful and the gardens and view are amazing. We had a great time swimming in the pool and enjoying the property. Our room was spacious and comfortable, but in August the air conditioning was not great and it was a bit warm. They also kindly let me park my car there for an extra night. The extras are a bit expensive -- we skipped the breakfast since we didn't want to pay $20 or more a person (we were with our kids, ages 12 and 15, and they wanted something like $6 for a can of coke. They did, however, send us to a lovely moderately priced restaurant for dinner. the only problem is getting from the hotel to the city -- we did it by taxi which was in the 13 euro range. Overall I would recommend it though.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Percypooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to comment favourably on our hotel. We hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    102
    22
    17
    10
See reviews for
203
388
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Ideal for a few days visiting Florence and having a quiet and lovely retreat after the overcrowded city.
No restaurant, dinner can be ordered at the reception and will be prepared by a traiteur. We had a pasta dish, quite good but a little too cold and a cod fish wich was not good. The wine should be served much colder.
Definitely not suitable for disabled people or wheelchair users.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rapsac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayreuth
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Torre del Bellosguardo is definitely a small paradise !
At every point you feel the peace and the serenity.
beautiful gardens, an outstanding view over Florence, a very helpful staff...
and the chief of the hotel Amerigo Franchetti is really soul and heart of it all.
...we will come back!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Dear Guest,
It was such a pleasure having you and your lovely wife here for five days and we thank you sincerely for your comments. We eagerly look forward to your return and more stimulating conversations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

If you are looking for luxury with all the trappings of a 5star hotel then go somewhere else and pay a lot more!

The views from the hotel are some of the best in Florence and the gardens are great and will soon be wonderful when the current work is completed.

The rooms are large but our bathroom was not big enough and the bath itself was very small.
The room we had was adequate if a little basic in its amenities. But it was fine for the price we paid.

The staff are excellent and are prepared to do anything they can for you.

Breakfast was a bit basic for the price.

Overall an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOG316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. In case you decide to return one day please let us know in advance all your requirements and we will do our utmost to satisfy you. For instance, we do have rooms with larger bathrooms. Above all, we want you to feel totally spoilt and satisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Why stay in central Florence in the heat and dirt of high summer when you can retreat at the end of your day in the city to the breathtaking beauty and relaxing calm of Bellosguardo? As other reviewers have intimated, this hotel is not for you if you expect up-to-date mod cons, the latest interior design, or don't want to have a short journey into the city. If, however, you appreciate Florentine history (Bellosguardo was built for a friend of Dante's and Galileo Galilei lived here for a time), have a eye for cassetted ceilings, frescoed walls, and relish the opportunity to experience something of the atmosphere of a Renaissance palazzo at the end of a day enjoying Florence's exquisite art collections and churches, then this hotel is the best possible place to choose. The service is attentive and helpful, the buffet breakfast on the terrace generous (with fresh fruit, apparently from the hotel's gardens), the gardens surrounding the palazzo extensive and full of interest, the views over the city cinematic (as witnessed by the many guest photographs). Inside, every vista pleases, from the entrance hall, the rooms going off from the staircases, the ground floor Limonaia (where resides Coccobello, a grey and pink parrot: very chatty and a bit of a drama queen!) to one's own vast bedroom with a well-appointed sitting area, comfortable bed and bathroom artfully concealed. We came here at the end of a fortnight's travelling in Italy, and were delighted by the air-conditioned room, and the serene grace of the surroundings. In previous years we have stayed in central Florence, which has become a very Hell for motorists. Such a relief to arrive, park the car in Bellosguardo's underground carpark (out of sight so as not to spoil the view), and manage the city thereafter by taxi, always arriving within minutes of the request. Easy connection for drivers to and from the airport via the A1 superstrada (but note that the Certosa exit from the A1 has recently changed its name to Impruneta: the hotel's instructions otherwise very clear). We are looking forward very much to returning.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorginaOxfordUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Dear Guest,
We are infinitely grateful to you for taking the time to write such a long and detailed appreciation of your stay here. Needless to say that we so look forward to your return one day and make sure that everything you experienced now will be repeated. You have well understood that the secret of Bellosguardo is the peace and silence, something which is becoming rarer and rarer in our hectic anxious modern world. Something we will always make sure remains. Guests like you make everything well worthwhile. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

HAD THE PLEASURE OF STAYING HERE IN 1994,IT WAS GREAT!
FAST FORWARD 2012.
Was looking to stay ten minutes from from the center.
A light bulb went off remembering this gem!
We went back and it was better than we remembered.
Romance oozes from the walls.
the Rooms are spacious,the plumbing looks old acts NEW!
The rooms have been refurbished ,still keeping the old world charm.
The gardens are from a story book.
The villa has been in the family for hundreds of years,and the owner,is charming and very modest about what he has done with the place,he was schooled in England and is super charming.
The staff is very accommodating,and cheerful.
Have breakfast in the garden,it is enchanting.
This is a hidden gem not to be missed.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seyjimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
Dear Guest,
We are delighted that your "light bulb went off" and that you were not disappointed. Thank you very very much for all your generous comments. It gives us infinite pleasure to know that you and your wife enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

If you are looking for a standard luxury hotel experience then I dont think this is the place for you. It does not have some of the usual trappings but The Torre Di Bellosguardo is so much more. Perched on a beautiful hillside with the most incredible views of FLorence, the villa is so peaceful and serene, the gardens a joy (thank you so much for labelling the plants!) and the staff so welcoming (Chira could not do enough for us and is delightful).
I could have happily spent my long weekend entirely within its grounds and not even ventured into the city.
Our rooms were enormous. Our bedroom so beautiful and the library room completely covered in hand nailed panelling - we felt priveleged to stay there.
Thank you for a wonderful and unforgettable weekend. We will be back one day I'm sure!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
Dear Guest,
It is always a great pleasure for us to know that our efforts to make our clients feel at home and relax both in the hotel and in the gardens are successful. Thank you very much for such positive remarks. We so look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 422 in Florence
3,135 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 422 in Florence
887 reviews
Villa Cora
#7 of 422 in Florence
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 422 in Florence
768 reviews
Art Hotel Villa Agape
#17 of 422 in Florence
455 reviews
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
#28 of 422 in Florence
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre Di Bellosguardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Di Bellosguardo

Property: Torre Di Bellosguardo
Address: Via Roti Michelozzi 2, 50124, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#9 Family Hotel in Florence
#17 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#95 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Torre Di Bellosguardo 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13th.century historical tower with extraordinary view of Florence, a stone's throw from the city, yet a country haven of peace and silence. Each room, very large, has its own character with antique furniture. Modern bathrooms and facilities. Vast garden with outdoor swimming pool. Extremely friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Torre Di Bellosguardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Di Bellosguardo Hotel Florence
Torre Di Bellosguardo Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing