We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Torre di Bellosguardo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Torre Di Bellosguardo
Ranked #19 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Torre di Bellosguardo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

I have been coming to Florence for 30 years, and this is the most perfect place to stay. Everything the other reviewers have said is true. Apart from the views and the extraordinary gardens, the most remarkable things about Torre di Bellosguardo is the atmosphere of staying in a private homeI just hope, somehow, it never changes!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrhennessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Dear Guest,
Do not worry! We will always continue to make improvements in order to keep up with the requirements of the times, but never never will we change the character and atmosphere of the place. Thank you so much for your kind words of appreciation. We so look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    598
    100
    22
    17
    10
See reviews for
200
380
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Torre di Bellosguardo is more than just a hotel, it is an experience.
Arriving at Bellosguardo (as the name suggests, the views are indeed breathtaking!) and checking into my room, I felt like I had just stepped out of my TARDIS and into the Renaissance. Staying there was like time-travelling and the rooms (full of character, yet contemporarily comfortable) were the cherry on top of my Doctor Who experience.
The staff was helpful, ever ready but never pushy, allowing us to discover the building and the grounds at our own pace.
The décor is perfectly in tune with the architecture and the al-fresco balcony breakfast (see photo attached) has to have been one of the highlights of our days.
However, the most exciting aspect of the Torre di Bellosguardo is its location. A stone's throw away from the centre of Florence with the sometimes maddening crowds bubbling with far too many tourists from the four corners of the world clogging the small inner-city arteries, this hotel, perched upon a hill overlooking the city, is the epitome of calm and tranquillity. After all, why choose between the hustle and bustle of the city and bucolic harmony with nature when one can have it all?
The perfect getaway.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jorgeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Dear Guest,
This was your first visit here at Bellosguardo and we are more than delighted that you immediately understood the character and peace of our hotel. Thank you so much for all you write. Yes, the centre of the city is over crowded and difficult to enjoy, but every evening one can return to the silence and beauty of our hill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

What could make a trip to Florence more perfect than a stay in the time when the city flourished? This was our 4th visit to this gorgeous and glorious former hunting lodge of the Medici"s. We adore the large public rooms and the romantic bedrooms, each with old furniture and a spectacular view of the city. Walking thru farmland to town, passing horses, donkeys and luxurious gardens adds to the feeling of a return to the 14th century.

Room Tip: We have visited all 16 rooms and each is unique peaceful and special. One has a four poster bed, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Dear Guest,
Each time it is a joy for us to welcome you to Bellosguardo and ensure that you relax and are comfortable. We are most grateful for all you write and will always make every effort to make you feel at home. Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

We have just returned from four lovely nights at this country retreat. It is very happily situated which means that you can enjoy views of Florence which are second to none and truly breathtaking. It is an ideal place to stay if you want to be away from the hustle and bustle of the city but just a short taxi ride away from it at the same time (NB you can walk to and from the city but it is rather tiring unless you are very fit!).

The gardens are absolutely beautiful and there is ample space to laze and enjoy the scenery outside, or within the many pleasant rooms inside (the orangery was my favourite room). The building itself is old and has not been restored into a modern swanky hotel, so do not expect abundant luxury here like the Four Seasons as you will not get it. Instead, you will get comfort and peace in a building that is full of character and charm, and will be attended on by staff who are all eager to help and very friendly and personable. You are definitely made to feel welcome as a guest in a sincere way.

It is a shame that there is no restaurant (and you have to pay extra for breakfast, which is cold) so you should not expect otherwise. It is possible though to have dinner in the hotel if you order from a changing menu which is linked to a local trattoria.

Although it is expensive, the space you get is definitely a lot more than you would get from a hotel room in the city itself and you should bear in mind that your money is funding the maintenance of an enchanting 13th century building which Galileo himself once stayed in.

I would also highly recommend doing the cookery course that is on offer, which takes place within the home of the owners of this hotel. It is a really fun, enjoyable experience and the hosts are extremely warm and welcoming.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABens0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your review and for understanding this place . We try our best to give a different, special and genuinely Florentine experience to our guests. We will continue to improve Torre di Bellosguardo and to make it an even more special retreat to everyone who wants to stay with us and experience an atmosphere of times unfortunately mostly vanished.
I had great fun cooking with you and enjoyed enormously our conversations about different cultures.
I hope to welcome you in the near future and to share many other new stories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

We returned back from a week long trip to Tuscany last Monday. Part of the trip was to spend 2 days in Florence so we chose the Torre di Bellosguardo. Yes, the reviews are correct when they say the views are breathtaking - they really are and we were lucky enough to have a room with views of Florence and the pool from 3 windows. The house is beautiful and a pleasure to wonder around, the staff incredibly helpful and attentive, however there is a big BUT. .....The hotel is not really what you would classify as a hotel. Yes they have attempted to make it a 4 star hotel but it falls down in many areas.

There is no restaurant. When we arrived we were told we could have food sent up from the local restaurant into the bar. It was, however, openly reheated in a microwave in front of us with no condiments - it was all very strange. The staff were not to blame at all, they were so helpful it's just tHat it was all a little strange. Then our bedroom, we had two rooms, one for us with a four foot six bed and another for the children with a sofa bed - they both had security cameras in the corner of he room - rather disturbing we thought whether in use or not!

The breakfast arrangements were a joke.... We arrived at 9 .30, there was nothing left on the counter. The poor waitress was run off her feet and we didn't even dare ask her for a pot of tea! The tables as previously mentioned were ridiculously low and all in all just shoddy - not what you'd expect from a four star hotel.

Now onto the pool.....the sun loungers were all broken so lying flat on the ground!

Now the rabbits at the end of the garden in cages -lovely rabbits but kept in filthy conditions - why?

All in all would we go back again? NO. For 400 euros a night the 'hotel' was not up to scratch and its quite apparent there is a great need for investment into the place.

Lovely staff, but hotel not up to 4 stars sadly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophiehs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Proprietario at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your words, good and bad.
I am extremely sorry about your negastive experiences. Breakfast is served officially until 10.00 am but often we extend it for the convenience of the guests. I cannot understand what happened that day. What you took to be cameras in the rooms is the smoke detective system. We would NEVER instal a camera in a room,apart from the fact that it would be strictly against Italian law. I am sorry the rabbit cage was not clean. It has been raining for months and now that the sun has appeared the four gardeners are trying to catch up with the weeding, pruning etc. That is why the cage had not been tended to; it normally is regularly. Lastly, we have maintained the same prices for over ten years. You had perhaps our best suite, very large. I think you would have paid more for something similar in a 4 star hotel in the centre of Florence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

torre di bellosguardo is not what you expect. the house retains its historic atmosphere and has not pandered to the modern malaise of needing every 'mod-con' conceivable. this is a place to slow down and to get away from the usual demands of modern living. we loved it. the hotel is set in a lovely garden with florence laid out below you. a little pool sits surrounded by roses and this makes a fantastic place to while away a few hours in the late afternoon sun. the staff are very attentive and go out of their way to help make your visit as pleasurable as they can. we felt like house guests and will certainly return next time we visit....

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Dear Guest,
It was such a pleasure to have you and your wife here. We are delighted that you were comfortable and that you relaxed away from what you define as the "modern malaise". Thank you sincerely for all your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at Torre Di Bellosguardo. It's a 13th century palace in the hills above Florence, upgraded for modern sensibilities. If traveling to Florence I wouldn't stay anywhere else! This is not your average hotel. Our room was incredibly spacious, covered in exquisitely carved wood paneling, with traces of old frescos on the walls. It felt like we had stepped back in time to the 13th century, when the property was used as a hunting lodge by a wealthy Florentine friend of Dante's. The property is covered in lush gardens, which we enjoyed exploring, from which you can see exquisite views of the city of Florence. As much as I loved Florence, I loved admiring the red roofs of the city from this hillside retreat even better! Every morning on our way to see the sights of Florence, we took a 10-minute walk through adjacent olive groves, stopping to greet the hotel's three donkeys along the way. It was a truly bucolic experience, at the end of which we ended up just minutes from the Boboli Gardens and the Palazzo Pitti. My husband also enjoyed playing with the hotel's parrot, Cocobello! The only downside was the size of our bed: my husband is quite tall, 6'4", and the bed was no larger than a standard full size bed, making for a rather uncomfortable sleeping experience. (Perhaps 13th century Florentines were not as tall as my husband.) For our second night the hotel quickly accommodated my request for a rollaway bed...and thanks to the utter peace and quiet of the surroundings we both slept very well that night. A few of the rooms have larger beds, so when you are booking, you should be sure to ask for those rooms. Otherwise it was an absolutely magical experience and I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myrazoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Guest,
It was a joy to have you and your husband here, especially since you quite clearly understood the spirit of Bellosguardo. We make every effort to provide all the necessary modern amenities and conveniences but at the same time are extremely careful not to alter the original character of the building, preserving always its atmosphere. Thank you so much for all your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you again and will certainly make sure your husband has a big bed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,035 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Villa Cora
#7 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#16 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Art Hotel Villa Agape
#13 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
#22 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre Di Bellosguardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Di Bellosguardo

Property: Torre Di Bellosguardo
Address: Via Roti Michelozzi 2, 50124, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#9 Family Hotel in Florence
#16 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#94 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Torre Di Bellosguardo 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13th.century historical tower with extraordinary view of Florence, a stone's throw from the city, yet a country haven of peace and silence. Each room, very large, has its own character with antique furniture. Modern bathrooms and facilities. Vast garden with outdoor swimming pool. Extremely friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Torre Di Bellosguardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Di Bellosguardo Hotel Florence
Torre Di Bellosguardo Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing