We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Torre Di Bellosguardo
Ranked #20 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, Italy
1 review
“A beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

An exceptional hotel with real character and the feeling of a place you never want to leave. The staff are all friendly and helpful, the hotel and gardens retain are beautifully kept, and the pool must have one of the best views in Italy. Great to get out of the city in the hot afternoons and view the Duomo etc from this hillside idyll. And 10 minutes walk through vineyards and olive groves into the city. Great restaurants and trips recommended by the helpful and informative staff who really care about you and their hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stella a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear Guest,
YES! We really do care enormously about our clients. It is they who bring life to this building and hill. Thank you so much for your appreciative words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    102
    22
    17
    10
See reviews for
202
387
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Wonderful staff and a wonderful view. For our 3 day Florentine adventure we had amazing view of the city from this hotel. Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the city was amazing. Wonderful pool and poolside lunch was also great for relaxing and a break from the city rush if required. The hotel is ideally situated with a countryside feel just minutes from the local and not touristy part of the city. On a hilltop overlooking the city you get a full grasp of Florence while also being immersed in a peaceful environment.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear Guest,

We are extremely grateful for your kind remarks and above all so pleased that you felt comfortable here in Bellosguardo. We hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

My family loved everything about this amazing hotel. Gracious staff, historic building, beautiful estate and gardens. They even had donkeys and a pony. We were fortunate to arrive for the festival of San Giovanni and watched the fireworks from the swimming pool. The staff arranged dinner to be brought in from a different restaurant each night. The breakfast was good and the view from the breakfast balcony was enchanting. The prices were not cheap but considering the benefits, worth much more.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johntphipps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Guest,
How nice that you and your family were able to enjoy the fireworks. Thank you very much for all your kind words. I am so happy that you felt comfortable here and appreciated our hotel. We hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We have stayed at Torre Di Bellosguardo multiple times during different seasons and have always thoroughly enjoyed our experience. It feels like home each time we come back. The Villa is magnificent with breathtaking views of Florence. After a busy day in the city it is very relaxing to come back to the Villa and sit on the terrace or stroll through the beautiful gardens. The staff is very friendly and always helpful. We highly recommend staying here when in Florence.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaphaelleahpaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Guest,
This truly IS your home away from home. It is always a joy to us when you return. Thank you very much for your kind words of appreciation. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston-Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

My wife, my two daughters (ages 25 and 26) and I just returned from two weeks in Italy and for us, the Torre Di Bellosguardo was a real highlight. All four of us were totally blown away by the beauty of the hotel and the grounds. The staff could not have been more friendly and accomodating. My wife and I had a corner room on what is considered in Italy to be the second floor (we would call it the third). We had the most fantastic view of the City and the surrounding countryside. In fact, we both loved waking up in the middle of the night just to see the lights of the Duomo, Santa Croce and the Palazzo Vecchio twinkling below us. We could hardly tear ourselves away from the hotel and the pool to explore the City, and we looked forward to returning in late afternoon to relax before heading out to dinner. The walk down through the hotel's gardens, and the olive groves and fields, was something that I looked forward to every day. Yes, it takes 25 minutes to walk to the Ponte Vecchio but it is an easy walk. We took cabs back up to the hotel to avoid the uphill climb. The cost of a taxi for four was 8-12 euros depending on the time of day; not a big deal. Others have commented on the lack of the restaurant. That didn't bother us. In addition to wine and soft drinks, they do serve prosciutto and melon, caprese salad, and some other things at the pool and everything we ate was better than just good. I could go on and on about the staff, and the amazing beauty of the entire hotel and grounds. For us, this hotel was just beyond belief. We would go back there in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgwsnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear Guest,
What can we say? A review like yours just fills us with such joy and especially makes us feel appreciated. How wonderful that you and your family got the most out of Bellosguardo and thoroughly appreciated the peace and beauty. You will always be more than welcome here. A million thanks for taking the time to write such wonderful things about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My family and I were recent guests of the Hotel Torre di Bellosguardo. Upon arrival we were all awed by its beauty. The first thing you notice is the view of Florence. Absolutely perfect. The Villa itself and the grounds with pool, pathways, secret niches, flowers, running brook and an olive grove complete the seduction. The staff was exceptionally courteous and helpful. We stayed for six nights and found this to be the perfect respite from days spent in Florence and day-tripping through Tuscany. My nine year old son was particularly enamored of the donkeys, rabbits and Cocobello, the parrot. My 16 year old daughter loved lounging by the pool during the hot afternoons. We did not want to leave and if ever in Florence we hope to stay there again.
I highly recommend this Villa/Hotel.

Room Tip: Do not have laundry done by the hotel. Ask for their help in finding a laundry service in Florence...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Guest,
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We love children especially when they wander everywhere and have contact with all the animals on the property. We look forward to your return. Thank you very much for your generous words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2013

My husband and I stayed again at Torre di Bellosguardo during a recent trip to Florence and found the place as wonderful as we did when we first stayed there many years ago and after recommending Bellosguardo to many friends and acquaintances over the years I decided to write this review. This is truly a unique place and I have felt each time we have stayed as though we were transported back in time to the Renaissance while at the same time still enjoying modern amenities. I have stayed in a number of villa, chateau and castle hotels through the years in many locations and they all suffered the same problem in that was they were "villa" or "chateau" in name only. They had been so thoroughly gutted and remodeled to maximize the number of rooms for commercial purposes, that the only thing that resembled the original structure was the exterior, while inside the guest rooms were all basically the same and conformed to the same floor plan as did every one of the rooms in every other hotel owned around the globe by the same hotel chain. Bellosguardo is not like this. The rooms are each unique and have maintained their original character with original frescoes, antique furniture, vaulted ceilings, beautiful exposed wooden beams, terra cotta floors and large casement windows, so that the original character and beauty of the home has been preserved as much as possible without sacrificing comfort and modern conveniences. The views of Florence and surrounding hills from the rooms are stunning and waking up with the sun streaming in and the birds singing in the cypress and umbrella pines on the lovely estate grounds is so refreshing and restful. The villa is situated on one of the several hills over Florence and has without dispute the best and most lovely view of the City, including as you are sitting by the pool on a grass terrace just below the house.

Bellosguardo has a rich and long history first as a tower or "torre" for the protection of Florence and then starting in the 15th century when a residence was added, Bellosguardo became the coveted home, owned through the years by members of the some of the powerful and leading families of Florence including for a time, members of the Medici family. Towards the last third of the 19th Century Bellosguardo was bought by the wife of a British diplomat and finally in the early 20th century, the Baroness grandmother of the current owner purchased the property and managed to see that it survived the forced occupation by the German high command during the last years of World War II. There is a reason all these rich and powerful people chose to live at beautiful Bellosguardo when they could live anywhere and that thankfully has not changed. Staying at Bellosguardo is it's own vacation and staying there has greatly enriched my experience of Florence each time I have stayed, because it is wonderful to come home to the timeless beauty and peace of Bellosguardo after being in the city below, which is always teeming with tourists. There are many hotels in Florence, but there is only one Torre di Bellosguardo.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTM4122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Words are not enough, dear dear guest, to express our gratitude to you for taking the time to write such a warm and exhaustive review. You certainly understand Bellosguardo and the fact that we respect its beauty and history and want to keep it that way for as long as possible. I so hope to be able to welcome you back in the future. Many, many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 422 in Florence
3,130 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 422 in Florence
879 reviews
Villa Cora
#7 of 422 in Florence
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 422 in Florence
765 reviews
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
#27 of 422 in Florence
1,083 reviews
Art Hotel Villa Agape
#16 of 422 in Florence
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre Di Bellosguardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Di Bellosguardo

Property: Torre Di Bellosguardo
Address: Via Roti Michelozzi 2, 50124, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#9 Family Hotel in Florence
#17 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#95 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Torre Di Bellosguardo 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13th.century historical tower with extraordinary view of Florence, a stone's throw from the city, yet a country haven of peace and silence. Each room, very large, has its own character with antique furniture. Modern bathrooms and facilities. Vast garden with outdoor swimming pool. Extremely friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Torre Di Bellosguardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Di Bellosguardo Hotel Florence
Torre Di Bellosguardo Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing