We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not many places like this”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Torre Di Bellosguardo
Ranked #18 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not many places like this”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This totally unique hotel offered us a perfect contrast to the crowded and hectic days in museums and shops in central Florence. The centuries old castle has a very special atmosphere with peace and quiet, like on the country side and still it is only two kilometers from the city centre. We used to walk down to Firence through the beautiful gardens and olive groves. It is downhill so we recommend clients to take a taxi back to TdB. Leave your car in the garage. What we will remember from our stay at TdB is the absolutely fantastic view over Firenze and its church towers, the genuine and well kept rooms, the relaxing swimming pool area in the rose garden and the helpful/professional staff and the charming owner couple.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KL123Helsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear Guest,
You are so kind! Thank you from the bottom of our heart for all the nice things you write. We loved having you and talking to you. Do please return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    101
    22
    17
    10
See reviews for
206
391
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Wow what a lovely place. From the moment you drive in and see the view you just know youve chosen well. Beautiful room. Lunch by the pool is fantastic . Staff always ready to help. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnandtash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear Guest,

We loved having you here in Bellosguardo and so look forward to spoil you when you return. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

To say that our stay at Hotel Torre Di Bellosguardo was first class would be an understatement. And I don't mean that in a Ritz Carlton or Four Seasons kind or way, but more in a "feels like your own private villa" kind of way. Trust me and do yourself a favor - save the hustle and bustle for Rome, Venice and Milan, and treat yourself to a stay here while in Florence.
It is close enough to town to still see all the sites (without a taxi if you enjoy a short walk) but far enough away to be romantic and non-touristy. We occasionally saw other guests, but it felt like we were staying with friends, rather than in a hotel. The rooms are very large with extraordinary views of Florence, the surrounding gardens, and hillsides. The staff was very attentive, but not ever-present. We liked that. Our room was large, well appointed and on a corner so we had a breathtaking view of the Florence rooftops on one side, and the gardens on the other side. My favorite part was the path down the hill, through the olive trees and vineyards to the main road. You can walk about 20 minutes and be in the middle of all Florence has to offer. We actually never used taxis while staying here.
It's worth noting that there are no restaurants on the property, but they will prepare lunch upon arrival (very expensive, but tasty). I heard they bring in food from a nearby restaurant if you need that. The only thing we didn't care for was the mediocre and very expensive breakfast on the terrace. Sounded like a good idea, but can be skipped in favor of one of the local cafes or restaurants.
Oh, and good luck with the shower. It's fun, but you are going to get water everywhere! My fiancé and I named this the best place we stayed while in Italy and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the top floor (the one with the blue bed and chairs). Absolutely amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevandSvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear Guest,
You are so extremely kind to take the time to write such a glowing review. It is wonderful to know that you so enjoyed Bellosguardo, its peace, beauty and silence. We are totally in the country (that is why we can have all sort of animals as well as make our own wine and olive oil) and yet so close to Florence. We hope you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

There is no other hotel quite like the Torre di Bellosguardo in Florence. Its authenticity is lovely, and utterly unique. One feels there as if one is visiting a private home as opposed to a tourist destination or a overly marketed, overly priced resort.

If you are looking for the Four Seasons, or a Traveler's Hotel or business destination, then the Torre di Bellosguardo is definitely not for you. The air conditioning is unreliable, there is no real restaurant onsite, and you are far removed from the center of Florence (though you do have a spectacular view of it from the hotel). However--winter, spring, summer or fall - I always can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John-Goldstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Staying at the Hotel, Torre Di Bellosguardo, in Florence, Italy, is a wonderful experience. The spacious guest rooms, furnished with antiques, transport the guest back in time. The hotel itself, located on a hill, and the truly lovely gardens surrounding it, have the most beautiful views of Florence and the surrounding countryside. The pool is cool. The small bar is cozy, and what a relief from the noise and crowds of the city, so close beneath it. All is well; enjoy it. - - - -

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear Guest,
We so enjoyed having you two here as well as your son and his family. We are also delighted that you had a good holiday with us and look forward to the day you return. Thank you for your kind positive remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2013

A stunning view, elegance without being formal or stuffy, serene and lush gardens surrounding the "pool with a view," and more than a little art and history combined to make this former villa the perfect place to stay in Florence. My son literally spilled out of the car upon arrival, took one look at the view, and declared, "I found Italy!" The location on a hill above the city was a big plus, and made our stay as relaxing as it was exciting. The large rooms were full of authentic Old World charm while being completely comfortable, the hosts and staff were warm, welcoming, knowledgeable, and helpful. The walk down into town was charming, and there were buses and taxis readily available (as well as great gelato, a wonderful restaurant, and the Boboli Gardens) at the bottom of the hill. The peacefulness and quiet beauty of the hotel were a welcome respite from the bustle and heat of the city. Accommodations can truly set the tone for a vacation, and this hotel and the people running it made this my most memorable stay in Florence by far. This is truly a special place, in every sense, and will delight all your senses.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Guest,
It was a real joy for us to have you and your lovely family here in Bellosguardo. All our staff said that they loved greeting you every morning. I am more than delighted that you all were happy here and we look forward to your return. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a glowing review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Positives - exclusivity, the views, rooms and ambience, quiet and efficient service, breakfast on the terrace
(Slight) Negatives - no on-site restaurant (evening meal can be pre-ordered and served in-house, but its not the same), not really walk-able into centre of town - best to get a taxi

Room Tip: Double aspect room on floor 3 had Florence out of one window and the Tuscan hills out of the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.
We would like to have a restaurant, but then it would have to be first class and we have too few rooms as well as huge maintenance costs. I hope you understand. In any case we are happy you enjoyed your stay in Bellosguardo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#17 of 411 in Florence
783 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 411 in Florence
3,178 reviews
Villa Cora
#6 of 411 in Florence
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#7 of 411 in Florence
912 reviews
Art Hotel Villa Agape
#14 of 411 in Florence
478 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 411 in Florence
2,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre Di Bellosguardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Di Bellosguardo

Property: Torre Di Bellosguardo
Address: Via Roti Michelozzi 2, 50124, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#9 Family Hotel in Florence
#15 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#95 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Torre Di Bellosguardo 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13th.century historical tower with extraordinary view of Florence, a stone's throw from the city, yet a country haven of peace and silence. Each room, very large, has its own character with antique furniture. Modern bathrooms and facilities. Vast garden with outdoor swimming pool. Extremely friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Torre Di Bellosguardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Di Bellosguardo Hotel Florence
Torre Di Bellosguardo Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing