We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Stay in Florence!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Torre di Bellosguardo
Ranked #17 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Our stay here was fantastic. First of all, when our taxi pulled up to the front of the hotel, the view of the city took our breath away. Just stunning. Cosimo, the manager was already waiting to take our luggage. He helped us make reservations for a couple of the Galleries in town, (no waiting in lines), and I must say that the entire staff was amazing. Walking the grounds of the property is like being in a "secret garden", with its lush lawns, walkways, flowers. We could have spent our whole trip there! The hotel itself is quite impressive, as it was originally built in the 13th century. Our room was very comfortable and cozy, with a view from one of the windows of the city. Very quiet. We didn't hear a peep at night from anyone. It is hard to put into words the feeling of staying at this incredible property. Do yourself a favor, stay here. You are just a short taxi ride into Florence, and the short trip is worth it. This is truly a one of a kind place. We will be returning!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre di Bellosguardo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear Guest,
We so enjoyed having both of you here in Bellosguardo and are more than pleased that you so appreciated your stay as well as valued the silence and peace. It will be a joy to welcome you back in the future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (795)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 795 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

Do you want to travel in time and experience the real meaning of beauty?
If yes, this is the right place!!!!!
Wonderful view of Florence, 5 degrees cooler than the town, and the possibility of an exclusive dinner !!!!!
Simply wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessandro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre di Bellosguardo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your enthusiastic review. We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

It is difficult to imagine a more idyllic place from which to start a visit to Florence. Set on a hill overlooking the city, the views are fantastic but it is still an easy walk into the city. The gardens and the building are marvelous, as are the relaxed and welcoming staff. The absence of a restaurant is not a problem; excellent snack lunches by the pool are perfect and evening meals can be "ordered in" from a local trattoria and eaten in the well-stocked bar. This is a place you will want to return to again and again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPC7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre di Bellosguardo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind review. We loved having you here and are so glad you relaxed and enjoyed your holiday here. We hope you will return next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed at Bellosguardo 15 years ago and didn't even consider any other hotel, even when we could afford a more expensive one, when we planned our Florence trip with 2 tweeners in tow.

The tower was built as a hunting lodge by a friend of Dante Alighieri's in the 13th century. Staying at this hotel is like walking into a movie set for "The Red Violin" and awakening in an antique 4 poster bed to hear all the church bells of Florence ringing and a view of the city sprawled at your feet.

There are beautiful frescoes in the reception area that used to be a ballroom and in a lot of bedrooms as well. Furnishing in the bedrooms tends to vary considerably from antique heirlooms (Rooms 5, 6, 1,2) to 70's consignment store (higher rooms). I haven't had a chance to check out all the rooms but in general, a regular room is the size of a suite in any other hotel. Value for $, Rm 5 is our favorite for view and for furnishings. It even has a little altar with a fresco of the Madonna and a vestal lamp right by the jaw dropping view of Florence. Tower rooms are a bit of a climb since the elevator only goes up to the 2nd floor. They have a 360 degree view but the furnishings are not as original as the other rooms.


Bathrooms are small and fairly basic. Breakfast is not included and is rather steeply priced at Euro 20/head when we visited in July 2013. Downtown Florence is a quick 7 min. cab ride away and cabs appear almost instantly as soon as you request one. Since we visited 15 years ago, they've added an indoor pool, gym, and a/c in the rooms but the gym and indoor pool were closed for renovation when we visited.

The only downside are the vicious mosquitoes which attacked us both in September and July. The staff have now added a/c and provide plug in insect repellent but we all got bit nevertheless.

Still, mosquito bites are a small price to pay indulge in the fantasy of being a weekend guest of the Medicis.

Room Tip: Rooms 5,6 have original frescoes, furnishings and fabulous views. Rooms 1,2 are on ground floor hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crisanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre di Bellosguardo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Guest,
I am so grateful to you for taking the time to write such a kind and informative review and description of Bellosguardo. Thank you very much. You certainly understand the character of our hotel. Next time you visit we will show you more rooms....some have smaller some far larger bathrooms. So you will be able to choose.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My husband surprised me with a two week trip to Italy for our 25th wedding anniversary and fittingly, we arrived at Torrie Di Bellosguardo on our actual anniversary date. After much research he selected Torrie Di Bellosguardo because he wanted to find a very special place to mark this special occasion. He could not have done a better job! In anticipation, we read about the beautiful, historic villa with fresco’s, the indescribable views, the lush gardens and expansive lawns, the inviting pool, and the marvelous staff who were knowledgeable and helpful. Once we arrived, all of our high expectations were surpassed. We traveled with close friends who were visiting Italy for the third time in the last ten years. The day we arrived as we were walking through the gardens and taking in the stunning views, we met up with the staff by the pool who served us the most succulent lunch. As the four of us sat under a shade tree by the pool, with Florence as our backdrop, I felt like I was living in a dream; the perfect fantasy. It was hard to put into words how lucky we felt to be experiencing such an idyllic, magical setting.

            Our room was spacious and clean, with unbelievable views of Florence. The service was superb; all the staff were friendly and provided first class service. Cosimo recommended the perfect restaurant for our anniversary dinner and all the dinners which were arranged for us were unique and delicious.

            Each day we enjoyed the walk into town, through the olive grove and we also had fun climbing up the hill, as it provided us with excellent exercise. Unlike in Rome, the staff were able to reserve a tennis court for us. We didn't want our days at Torrie Di Bellosguardo to end.

            Needless to say, Florence and Torrie Di Bellosguardo was the highlight of our trip. We have all traveled and stayed at some amazing locations and resorts, but Torrie Di Bellosguardo tops the list for me. I look forward to returning to this paradise with our children, but in the mean time I have unforgettable memories and photographs of a very special treasure.  

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Director of Sales at Torre di Bellosguardo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

Dear dear Guest,
There must be a guardian angel up above or it is destiny which brought you and your husband to our hotel. You loved it but we too loved having you and talking to you. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for writing such kind things. We are so happy your wedding anniversary in Bellosguardo was such a success. We really look forward to your return, this time with your children. If there is anything we can do in the meantime please do not hesitate to contact us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This was certainly the most idyllic way to end a very busy holiday touring around Europe.

Torre Di Bellosguardo was perfect for our last stop in Italy as we were in much need of relaxation. It was a short taxi ride from the train station and the city, but removed from the high traffic areas. Upon arrival we were absolutely mesmerised by the views of Florence. We instantly felt the charm and soul of the renaissance villa. The frescoes, the furniture, the gardens - all uniquely impressive.

The rooms were comfortable and spacious, the ensuite was hidden away behind beautiful panneled walls. Be prepared for an unusual showering experience, I just gave up and had a bath, given I was on holiday, this only added to relaxation bliss.

We walked into town (20 mins) despite the hot weather, good exercise and not too difficult.
I would recommend getting a taxi on the return though as the hill can be daunting for some.
Dinner at the hotel was good. The meals were ordered from a nearby restaurant and the servings quite large. Lunch and service by the pool was excellent. The staff provided an excellent restaurant recommendation and directions - we wanted somewhere that the locals frequent, away from the tourist area.

Overall, this was my favourite stop in Italy and I can't wait to return. Thank you for the wonderful stay and the memories of a lifetime.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre di Bellosguardo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear guest,
Clients like you fill us with real satisfaction and make all the work so worth while! We are delighted that all went well, that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you soaked up the peaceful atmosphere of Bellosguardo. A million thanks for all your sweet and enthusiastic remarks. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Myself and family had the pleasure of staying at Torre Di Bellosguardo Florence Italy recently.
We all were "gobsmacked" by the beauty and amazing history of the villa hotel, and i could not believe that a Tower built in 1270 AD was still in use for accommodation for guest visiting Florence.

Our family had a delightful time at the villa/tower complex, and especially enjoyed admiring the frescos and amazing decor of the complex. The grounds were kept in immaculate condition, there was a large swimming pool to enjoy, the elevated location gave spectacular views to the city and churches, I could simply write an essay on the features and benefits of this villa hotel.

We were so happy with our stay at Torre Di Bellosguardo that we plan to return again in the future for 1-2 weeks and continue to enjoy the sights and delights of one of the best boutique hotels in Florence, Italy. Of all the cities were visited Florence was an absolute treasure.
Thank you for the opportunity to provide this review, Bob Hayward, Australia

Room Tip: If you are elderly choose a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre di Bellosguardo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear Mr. Hayward,
It was wonderful having you and your family at Bellosguardo. I very much enjoyed talking to you even if not for long enough. Thank you very much for all the nice things you write. We all look forward to your return and will welcome you with open arms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
Villa Cora
#6 of 410 in Florence
1,048 reviews
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
588 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 410 in Florence
3,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Saulina
#2 of 3 in Lastra a Signa
361 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 410 in Florence
2,958 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 410 in Florence
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre di Bellosguardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre di Bellosguardo

Address: Via Roti Michelozzi 2, 50124, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#9 Family Hotel in Florence
#14 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#95 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £206 - £331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Torre di Bellosguardo 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13th.century historical tower with extraordinary view of Florence, a stone's throw from the city, yet a country haven of peace and silence. Each room, very large, has its own character with antique furniture. Modern bathrooms and facilities. Vast garden with outdoor swimming pool. Extremely friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Torre di Bellosguardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Di Bellosguardo Hotel Florence
Torre Di Bellosguardo Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing