We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a unique experience of elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Torre Di Bellosguardo
Ranked #16 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2013

one of the most exclusive hotels I stayed in my life. I will certainly come back and enjoy the charm.
I felt like living in the 17th century with all the comfort of a modern hotel. The beauty of the rooms and the charm of the personal make forget that Welan is only available in the main room and that in the the room on top of the tower the warm water shower does not really provide plenty of water and that the elevator is rather narrow.
The service is friendly and excellent and despite the many guest very effective and helpful.
You feel part of a family and not just a guest in a hotel.
The price compared with which you are getting seems to me very reasonable

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wolf b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear Guest,
Many, many thanks for your kind and generous words. We look forward to the day you decide to return and will welcome you warmly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (786)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 786 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

Ok, so ... as I was in a single room, albeit traveling with friends ... I only had a skylight (my room was in the tower and the Italian government forbids changes to heritage buildings, and rightly so, such as adding windows, etc.) but Torre di Bellosguardo (see photo) lives upto it's name, which means "beautiful view".

Built as a hunting lodge for Dante Alighieri's friend, Guido Cavalcanti, in the 1300s, this property was sequestered sometime by the Medicis, and some centuries later, passed through a couple of other noble Florentine families to incarnate right now as a heritage hotel. It's not a budget or even a middle cost hotel by any means, but if you can afford it, it is worth the cost for the location and the service.

My friends got a large room with a lovely view of the gardens, and a small but ok bathroom. My bathroom was larger than my bedroom but the bedroom was adequate. When in a city like Florence, one doesn't spend much time inside the rooms. The breakfast was surprisingly diverse - normally in Italian hotels have not seen so much of a spread. We had 4 types of juices, cereals, breads, baked stuff, eggs, fresh fruits, etc. There isn't a restaurant in the hotel but if you order food before 6PM, it is delivered and you can have a private dinner in one of the medieval rooms. My room was stocked with a bottle of San Pellegrino and my friends with a carafe of water. A lovely outdoor swimming pool, overlooking Florence, is there but we didn't use it. My friends mention an indoor pool too but I didn't see it. The gardens are beautiful to sit in through spring and autumn and kids would enjoy the donkey, goose, rabbits, a cat.

The charm of the hotel lies in the view, from the south, towards Florence and one can see all the sights from the garden, from the Pitti on the right, to the Duomo and Piazza Della Signoria in the center, to the suburbs on the west (see photo). One feels as if one has gone back in time - from the antique furniture to the 300 year old map in front of the elevator to the ancient paintings, one felt like a Medici. The reception area is the old ballroom, protected outside by a sculpture of Charity by the Flemish sculptor Francavilla (see photo), whereas the ceiling and the walls too have some, somewhat worse-for-the-wear art. The staff, whether Cosimo, Sabina, the good looking guy in the white jacket often serving dinner or the slightly portly man, are all very friendly - Cosimo and Sabine arranged a personalized guide for us for Florence (easy) but also for Siena (not so easy as they didn't know anyone but made the effort to find out and arrange). I was struggling to get my postcards written and posted in time but the slightly portly gentleman at the reception offered to get me stamps and post my cards.

What didn't I like ? A couple of mosquitos in the room but then, that's Florence and the Arno. Didn't like the long walk up the hill to reach the hotel but then, it was exercise I could do with. The drive to the hotel is past very nice views but narrow streets do needs driving with care but then, luckily i didn't drive. Suggestions for improvement - stock the minibar please as some of us (am much more than portly) get peckish at night.

We would all go back for sure.

Room Tip: Pay more and take a double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JagsM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for finding the time to write such an extensive review. We hope to be able to welcome you back again and make sure your mini bar is overflowing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We retourned to the Torre now for the third Time in three years and stayed another Ten days in August.
It is probably the Most exclusive Way to spend your holidays in Florence and Even in Tuscany.
The historic Villa ( that means "Palace" or " Castle") is a very Special Place indeed: being situated on Top of the Bellosguardo Hill, it is overlooking Florence since more than 700 years.
You do Not have to visit the Museum in the famous Palazzo Davanzati, this Torre was Build in the Same period and the Frescoes in the small Hall very much resemble the ones in Davanzati. And that is Not by Chance !

Unlike an Italian Museum the Torre offers very attentive staff, service 24/7 hours, a phantastic Swimming Pool and a Lot of public Roms to relax. Indeed the Most striking Feature is the Peace, the calm and the friendliness you encounter.

Having spent hours on the Loggia overlooking the landscape with a phantastic Breakfast Buffet, or in the wonderful Rose Garden, I return relaxed and with a peaceful mind. And that is the only Way I can stand the German spelling Programm on my iPad that makes me Look lika an illiterate.

Room Tip: You should go for a room with a view on Florence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Dear Guest,
It was wonderful having you and your wife here and I so enjoyed our conversations. You are such an optimist! I saw how much you enjoyed your stay in Bellosguardo and we all look forward to your return. I know what you mean about the translation/spelling program, but do not worry, the meaning of what you write is quite clear. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

An oasis in the hills with the most amazing view of Florence. If you don't like crowds, but like unique properties with history and charm then this is for you. I felt like i had my own private home, and the hotel staff are all wonderful. There is no restaurant on site for evening meals, and it is a good walk to town (20 minutes downhill) through scenic vineyards and the hotels beautiful gardens. Note, you need to get a taxi back up at night as they lock the path gate at 7pm but it's a short ride and not a problem, especially as the hotel is so tranquil with the most beautiful views of Florence and the surrounding countryside. The bar is available all evenin though! A truly unique hotel

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kiernjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for all your kind words. We so enjoyed having you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This remarkable hotel is for any person, couple or even family that prefers simple elegance over amenities overkill. What you get at Torre Di Bellosguardo is a gorgeously luxurious and first rate experience that somehow feels utterly modern (air conditioning, wifi, total cleanliness) and yet timeless all at once. I honestly know of no other hotel like it. Unless you're looking for the spa experience, and the convenience of a restaurant on the premises (there's a lovely breakfast each morning, a light minimal lunch available, and "dinner in" form a nearby trattoria) there is no better option in Florence. Since it's situated in the hills just South of the city, it does take a cab ride or a thirty minute walk in each day, but we found having a retreat in the hills for decompression invaluable, and an unrivaled view of Fllorence is available poolside over a cocktail after a late afternoon swim. Amerigo Franchetti has thankfully made the choice to keep this 14th Century villa as understatedly classy as possible, which projects true luxury and class when most other places take the position that "more is more." Torre Di Bellosguardo is the way to experience Florence.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim Blake N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Guest,
I do not know how to thank you not only for taking the time to write such an exhaustive review but above all for understanding so deeply what Bellosguardo is. You and your lovely family stayed so long that we felt you had become part of the family and were very very sorry to see you leave. We hope you will return and we can have more long conversations together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Staying at the Torre di Bellosguardo is like staying in an elegant home, not an impersonal corporate hotel. It is easy to walk or take a taxi to the centre of town, but such a delight to retreat to the cool Torre and its delightful swimming pool. Even though there is no restaurant at the hotel, it is possible to have a simple and delicious lunch at the pool or pre-order food for dinner from the truly fantastic La Vecchia Bettola at the bottom of the hill to be brought to the bar of the hotel. The hotel staff are all extremely helpful and appear to be very proud of working at such a beautiful place. The owners were absolutely charming, full of entertaining stories, and obviously take great care of their business/home. Despite the allure of Florence, it is so peaceful and lovely at Bellosguardo that it is tempting to spend the entire day sitting by the pool, wandering the immaculate gardens or hiking in the nearby olive groves. It is a wonderful retreat, but one that is so close to one of the most fascinating cities in the world that there is always something to do. Apparently many of the guests are repeat visitors. That alone speaks volumes about the charm of the place. We will certainly be returning (hopefully soon).

Room Tip: All rooms that I saw were lovely and full of beautiful antiques.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StubtonHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Guest,
We so enjoyed having you here and sharing thoughts and conversations. Thank you so much for all you write. We witnessed how you and your daughter would relax here and just drink in the serenity and peaceful atmosphere. We await your return with open arms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Since 1987 Hotel Torre di Bellosguardo has been our favorite place to stay. Its location, the atmosphere, the interior and exterior are unique. Outstanding service and friendly staff. THe garden is wonderful as well as the swimming pool.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words. It is always a joy for us to welcome you back to Bellosguardo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#19 of 410 in Florence
871 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 410 in Florence
3,325 reviews
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
#28 of 410 in Florence
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Cora
#4 of 410 in Florence
1,014 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 410 in Florence
2,891 reviews
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre Di Bellosguardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Di Bellosguardo

Address: Via Roti Michelozzi 2, 50124, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#9 Family Hotel in Florence
#13 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#95 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £195 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Torre Di Bellosguardo 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13th.century historical tower with extraordinary view of Florence, a stone's throw from the city, yet a country haven of peace and silence. Each room, very large, has its own character with antique furniture. Modern bathrooms and facilities. Vast garden with outdoor swimming pool. Extremely friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Torre Di Bellosguardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Di Bellosguardo Hotel Florence
Torre Di Bellosguardo Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing