We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from the maddening crowds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Torre Di Bellosguardo
Ranked #17 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have stayed previously in the middle of Florence but this time we wanted something quieter. Torre was perfect, a superb building and gardens, full of character. The views over Florence were unequalled. Breakfast on the large terrace was a delight. Our room (6) was a suite with a separate lounge, superb views and full of quirky antiques. The downside to being away from the centre is that you get a bit more exercise and need to factor in taxi fares. We tended to walk down the steep hill to town then taxi back. The taxis were very prompt and much cheaper than Australia (about 10-12euro/trip). The cooking course with Anna was a great experience (but be prepared to eat a lot). We had a wonderful 6 days and would certainly stay again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank BChristieAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest,

How wonderful that you enjoyed Florence, Torre di Bellosguardo and the cooking class.
It was a great pleasure having you here and I as usual had great fun organizing the cooking class. I hope you will cook at least some of the dishes we prepared and from my point of view I think it is always better to have a generous dinner with lots of food...
I wish you all the best and await for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (785)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 785 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is a wonderful Hotel. The gardens are superb, overlooking Florence itself, a quiet oasis.
It has a quirky charm that is impossible to find in any modern hotel. Furnished with wonderful antiques, it has everything you could ask for. If you find yourself bored, Anna offers inspiring cookery courses. In the evening try the owners own cocktail, it's served him well for many years, if you get the chance to meet him, he is truly engaging.
The staff are friendly and extremely helpful.
This is an Hotel set in a castle and is impossible to praise too highly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for all your kind words. We so enjoyed having you here and getting to know you. We hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My wife and I visited Florence and the Torre Di Bellosguardo for our 10 year wedding anniversary. Amazing views from the property overlooking all of Florence. Easy walk into Florence - car not necessary if you enjoy a 20 min safe hike into town. Tremendous service, very friendly, and top notch stay. Great pool and beautiful gardens --- very relaxing. No question we will stay here again next time in Florence. Thank you for making our stay so memorable!

Room Tip: Deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guest,
We felt honored that you and your wife decided to celebrate your anniversary with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and await your return with open arms. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We were very excited about coming to Torre di Bellosguardo so it had a lot to live up to and it more than surpassed itself. It has the most beautiful view of Florence with a 20 minute walk down into the centre. But at the end of the day you walk back up to the peace and quiet of this special hotel. Our room/bathroom was sumptuous and everyone was charming.The swimming pool was so inviting that we couldnt resist! Thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 245Nikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guest,
How wonderful that we lived up to your expectations and that you felt at home here. Thank you so much for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying 2 nights at the Torre Di Bellosguardo for a wedding. I can't imagine a more perfect setting for a dream wedding. The grounds, including the pool, are absolutely gorgeous, and the views of Florence are even more beautiful than one could imagine. My wife and I stayed in room 17 - the Tower Room, which had tons of charm and one of the best, if not the best, views of any hotel room we've experienced.
A couple of things worth noting, however. The Villa is about a 20 euro cab ride to the center of Florence, which gets expensive given that the Villa is quite isolated and you need to take a cab to get anywhere. Most rooms don't have stand up showers, which adds to the charm and authenticity but may be inconvenient for some.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeSantaMonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind words. It was a magical wedding and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My new wife and I arrived here as part of our honeymoon and were blown away by the beauty, the location and level of service.
The setting is magnificent, with unbelievable views and superb grounds. Nothing is too much trouble for the very accommodating staff and we have enjoyed every minute of our stay.
A pleasant surprise was the comprehensive wifi connection throughout the hotel and by the pool area which is a subtle modern necessity in an otherwise stunning 13th century building.

Will live long in the memory.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winton10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Guest,
It was a joy to welcome you and your wife here and it is wonderful that you enjoyed your stay. We hope both of you will return one day. Thank you so much for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I agree with all the ecstatic TA reviews in their specifics. I could simply re-quote them here, but I would add that with the tourist related insanity of Florence, this was an escape to an earlier, non-commercially polluted time. I can't emphasize this enough. It's best to rent a car and have it available to use T. Di B. as a base to reach out into Tuscany, particularly the South, though we drove to Ravenna from here. The A1 Super Stradda access is relatively close. But to push open your blinds in the morning and see the views of Florence was pretty mind-blowing. After much travel; I will never forget them. Spring weather would give them intriguing changes in aspect. Taxis were the best route to specific Florence destinations and back, though the walks through the property were wonderful and enabled you to kill some calories and improve cardio. Reports of guests being miffed about bugs, ease of access to central Florence, etc is to complain of this not being the plush Marriot. This is not. If you wish something like it, go find it out there in Tourist Congestion Land. But for those wishing for authenticity, come here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccmarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Guest,
It gives us so much satisfaction to have clients like you who really and deeply understand what Bellosguardo is about : a "different" kind of place where peace, beauty and atmosphere are the most important aspects. Above all we want our guests to feel at home here. Thank you so very much for your generous comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#19 of 409 in Florence
860 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 409 in Florence
3,315 reviews
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
#29 of 409 in Florence
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Hotel Villa Agape
#13 of 409 in Florence
553 reviews
Villa Cora
#4 of 409 in Florence
999 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 409 in Florence
2,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre Di Bellosguardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Di Bellosguardo

Address: Via Roti Michelozzi 2, 50124, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#9 Family Hotel in Florence
#14 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#95 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £201 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Torre Di Bellosguardo 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13th.century historical tower with extraordinary view of Florence, a stone's throw from the city, yet a country haven of peace and silence. Each room, very large, has its own character with antique furniture. Modern bathrooms and facilities. Vast garden with outdoor swimming pool. Extremely friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Torre Di Bellosguardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Di Bellosguardo Hotel Florence
Torre Di Bellosguardo Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing