We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection in Florence!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Torre Di Bellosguardo
Ranked #19 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfection in Florence!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Perhaps the most wonderful experience during our recent trip to Florence was our stay at the Torre Di Bellosguardo. Right outside the bustling center of town is this hotel, an oasis in the middle of a very hot, crowded city. After taking in the culture and shopping there was nothing better than this retreat only 7 minutes by taxi from the Ponte Vecchio. The grounds are spectacular, the swimming pool is luxurious and a welcome relief after fighting the crowds!
Roberto welcomed and treated us to a tour of the property with panoramic views of Florence and the hills of Tuscany. The young lady, poolside, served us a yummy lunch and could not have been more helpful with towels, etc.
A special thanks to Mr. Franchetti who made our stay happen on a moment's notice. We can't wait to visit again!!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mifuneket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear guest,
We are so happy you enjoyed relaxing by the pool and having luncheon there. Thank you so much for your generous words. We look forward to you returning and staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    101
    22
    17
    10
See reviews for
205
391
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Our family of five had an incredible stay at the gorgeous Bellosguardo. It was the most idyllic way to visit Florence - busy city by day, rural and luxurious retreat by night. We absolutely loved it and could not imagine a better place to stay when visiting Florence.

Room Tip: We had a view of the entire city from our rooms - we stayed in the 'Library" as this used t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzieG343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you from our heart for your appreciation. We loved having you and are so happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Significant pros and significant cons.

The Good:
1) Beautiful views. You can see the entire city by standing on the grass by the pool or looking out some of the windows.
2) Gorgeous exterior. The villa is hundreds of years old and looks like it in a quaint way.
3) Unique gardens. The gardens are a maze of hedges, flowers, and organically grown fruits and vegetables. There is even a greenhouse, and there are a few animals (donkeys, chickens, cats, etc.) that kids would enjoy.
4) Original frescos. Many of the interior rooms feature original frescos on the walls and ceilings. There is also some impressive wood paneling in some of the bedrooms. However, most of these original features have not been restored, so they are missing pieces.

The bad:
1) Inattentive staff. No one helped us carry our bags from the car into the hotel or up the stairs to our room. One day we accidentally left the window open, and the maid did not close it, so the rain came in through the window and soaked our luggage.
2) No restaurant. You have to go down the hill into the city for lunch and dinner (prepare to spend 6 euros on a taxi to get there). They do serve a buffet breakfast, but it is simple (bread, eggs, yogurt), and the waitress spoke no English so it was even difficult to order tea.
3) Poor food quality. We had scrambled eggs for breakfast, and they were rubbery and tasteless. The rest of the food at the buffet was old (see number 6 below). If you walk the gardens, you will see beautiful fruits and vegetables just waiting to be picked. Why aren't they serving these to the guests?
4) No exercise facility. I know this isn't very important to some people, but it really wouldn't be difficult for the hotel to buy some weights and put them in a room.
5) Gross bathrooms. The shower did not have a shower head, only a hand-held sprayer, but there was no way to attach it to the wall. There was also no shower curtain so it was hard to not get water all over the floor. Every night when we came back, the bathroom would smell horrible like the toilet had backed up, although we looked and it hadn't. Whenever the toilet was flushed, we could hear it very loudly in our bedroom.
6) Dirty. In the lobby there was a bowl of flowers sitting in water, and after leaning in to admire the flowers, I realized that there were worms breeding in the water. At the buffet breakfast the mozzarella cheese had gone off, the tomatoes were wrinkly with age, and birds hovered around the table waiting for an opportunity to peck at any food that wasn't properly covered by a lid or a cloth.
7) Bad interior design. There is little furniture in any of the rooms. What is there is very old and worn (such as two broken pianos in the "music room"). The beds are fine, so don't worry about that, but be aware that inside, this place looks very shabby.
8) Poor wifi. I needed WiFi to do some work, and I kept getting bumped off the very poor signal. This was a big problem for me.
9) Unprofessional. The website and marketing for this hotel are misleading (such as claiming they have an exercise facility). The maids left the doors to the rooms wide open while they left to get more cleaning supplies, and someone could have easily gone in to steal from the guests. The main office is located in the lobby, so the owners and employees were doing all their business in front of the guests. If you look at some of the reviews with low ratings, the "management responses" are very rude and defensive.

When looking at this hotel on Trip Advisor, my family and I were won over by the four star reviews about the beautiful gardens. I advise you to read all the one, two , and three star reviews to see what this place is really like.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank HonestXplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,
In answer to your review I would like to get certain opinions and facts right :
1. You talk about the exterior of the building as being "in a quaint way". The Tower dates from the 13th.century, the main building from the 16th. century with precious graffiti on all sides. I would venture to remark that your description is "quaintly" misinformed. We took over the property when it was in very poor dilapidated condition. For 25 years we have been and continue to invest heavily in improvements with the sole purpose of saving a rather unique place, certainly not of making money what with the enormous maintenance costs.
2. You say there were worms in the vase of flowers at the reception. This is impossible. The water is changed every day. What you saw were probably drowned mosquitoes.
3. You describe the staff as being "inattentive". Our staff is well-known to be extremely attentive, helpful and polite. Perhaps when you arrived the porter was not at the front desk and attending other clients.
4. You cast doubt on the security of the hotel. If a maid left a door of a room open it probably was to fetch fresh sheets a few yards away, a matter of seconds.. No one would have been able to enter the room without her noticing.
5. You found the buffet breakfast "simple". We serve a large assortment of fresh breads, croissants and cheeses, not to mention fruits, marmalades, jams, fresh mozzarellas etc. There is absolutely NO "old" food as you claim.
6. You describe the inside as "bad interior design" That is your opinion, an opinion not shared by so many other guests.
7. We have had big problems with the WI-FI system because of the provider. We have finally solved the problem by finding an efficient provider and now the system works perfectly.
8. You are right about the shower curtains. In some bathrooms they are lacking, but will be installed shortly.
9. You describe my responses to guest reviews as "rude". I am NEVER rude, on the contrary I respect and appreciate criticisms when helpful and justified. That does not exclude the fact that we are free to defend ourselves when needed.
In conclusion I am very sorry you were not happy here. We are an unusual hotel, obviously not the right kind for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed at the Torre Di Bellosgaurdo for two night, it an amazing rustic place with stunning views over Florence. It was a great escape from the frantic hectic world we live in and very commercial hotels we all frequent. Staff very friendly, meal options limited but more than adequate, but it did not matter as you are a five minute taxi drive or a pleasant 15 minute walk from Florence.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarsem1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,
We are most grateful for finding the time to write such kind words. We hope you and your family will return one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had two rooms and stayed there for three nights. The hotel itself is one of its kind. We don't get chance to stay in a 800 year premise that often. It's located on a hill just a stone away from Florence city centre and has the best view of the city. It's delighting to wake up every morning with such a beautiful view. The rooms are huge and there is a piano in one of the rooms. I can't imagine any other hotel putting a piano in a guest room. We enjoyed our stay there but may not go back again. We are the type enjoying dining in the hotel but this one doesn't have lunch or dinner in house. You can order and the very nice bar staff can set up for you. We did order from the menu provided by the hotel on the first night but the food was not good. While the rooms are spacious, the bath room is very small without separate shower and bath tub and there is no shower curtain. We had to be very careful not to splash water all over. It is a very nice hotel and I think the owner has done best to maintain the 800 year old property.

Room Tip: Pick a room with view of Florence City
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scenic_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that the dinner was not to your taste. If you return we will make sure that you are served exactly what will please you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibel Island, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is my third stay at this wonderful hotel over the past 20 years and it just keeps getting better each time. The converted Villa with its spacious rooms and antique furniture (and modern bathrooms) is very charming. And every time you open a window you get a terrific view of all of Florence and the hotel's beautiful surrounding gardens. What also makes the place so special is the helpful staff and the management that makes sure that your stay is accommodated in every way. If you are visiting Florence, Italy there is no better place to stay. I am already looking forward to my fourth visit!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack6812914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear, dear Guest,
What a compliment for us that after ALL these years (and they are many) you keep returning and we can pick up from where we last left off our conversations. We are more than delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for all your kind and generous words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Fantastic setting, breathtaking scenery, and a wonderfully old typically Italian hotel that was just perfect. Well worth a visit, great staff that are happy to tend to your every need and the pool is just right. Would go back tomorrow for sure!!!

Room Tip: The views from all around the hotel are stunning but avoid room 1 as its very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind, warm review. We look forward to your return and will welcome you with open arms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 411 in Florence
781 reviews
Hotel David
#2 of 411 in Florence
3,176 reviews
Villa Cora
#7 of 411 in Florence
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#8 of 411 in Florence
908 reviews
Art Hotel Villa Agape
#15 of 411 in Florence
478 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 411 in Florence
2,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre Di Bellosguardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Di Bellosguardo

Property: Torre Di Bellosguardo
Address: Via Roti Michelozzi 2, 50124, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#9 Family Hotel in Florence
#16 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#95 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Torre Di Bellosguardo 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13th.century historical tower with extraordinary view of Florence, a stone's throw from the city, yet a country haven of peace and silence. Each room, very large, has its own character with antique furniture. Modern bathrooms and facilities. Vast garden with outdoor swimming pool. Extremely friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Torre Di Bellosguardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Di Bellosguardo Hotel Florence
Torre Di Bellosguardo Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing