We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel with great location”
Review of Hotel Art Atelier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Art Atelier
Ranked #136 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel with great location”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I'm leaving Florence tomorrow, have stayed here for 3 nights. Checked on TripAdvisor before booking it, and this is really a good choice!
It's only 5 minutes' walk from the Florence SMN train station, same distance from the Cathedral. Very easy for the sightseeing. The air conditioning worked very well, which is one of the preconditions for me to book a hotel for a summer visit to Florence. The breakfast is quite ok, I would have liked it even more if there were some vegetables available. But it was surely good.
The decoration of the room is very nice, you can see that they put love in it. Rooms with soul, I would say.
The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. You can see they have high standard for themselves. Today my 81 year old father got lost, one hotel staff went out to help searching for him in the neighbourhood. Afterwards they called the police for help. I was really touched by the way they helped!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank pingbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artatelier, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Art Atelier, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Mr Pingbai,

we are so happy to know that our efforts are so much appreciated.
We thank you very much for the time spent to give such a wonderful review.
Kindest regards
Paolo Guidotti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    137
    47
    10
    13
See reviews for
51
232
22
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

First of all, when arriving in Florence via the Santa Maria Novella railway station I found the hotel quite difficult to find, primarily because it is situated on a very small narrow street. This, however, is not a negative, and in reality it is in a great location, within short walking distance of the Duomo and the railway station.

The room size was average, but it had great air conditioning, a good bathroom/shower, and excellent soundproofing. Also, surprisingly for a small boutique hotel, it had an superb choice of TV channels in a variety of languages.

Breakfast at Art Atelier is excellent for a hotel of this size, but on the negative side, they charge an additional 2€ for extra tea bags, and the fresh orange juice is also expensive.

Overall, my three night stay at the hotel was very enjoyable. With the location, price, and friendly staff at Art Atelier, I would definitely recommend the hotel and would stay here again. One thing to note is that the WiFi worked well most of the time, but went down a few times. However, once letting the staff know, they almost immediately sorted the problem.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nataliavr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artatelier, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Art Atelier, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Client,

we are happy to know that your stay was so pleasent. We hope to see you again in the future and we thank you very much again for your kind words.
Paolo Guidotti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel.

Firstly it is very close to the train station, a 5 minute walk maximum and easy to find so long as you have worked out the directions before you arrive. All the sights are easily within walking distance. The main Florence leather markets are just 2 minutes away for great shopping and a useful and trendy food hall upstairs. Good restaurants even closer. We caught the local bus from outside the train station (you buy tickets from the little tobacconists on the road opposite the station and it costs next to nothing) up to Piazzale Michaelangelo and walked back down to the hotel through the city.

The receptionist was friendly and helpful - when we discovered the room allocated to us didn't have a fridge or safe he happily showed us another which did and gave us a bottle of water to cool us down after our journey.

There is no kettle in the room but he was happy to turn on the coffee machine downstairs so we could have a drink at any time. Nothing was too much trouble.

The room we had was room 100, really quirky - once in the room there is a passage and then the main room, there are lots of windows all opening onto interior courtyards so the room was very quiet.

The beds were very very comfy with lovely light duvets and the air-conditioning worked so well you could actually sleep with the duvet on. There was also heating for winter nights and you were in charge of the temperature heating/cooling yourself.

The breakfast was fun, lovely fresh hot pastries.

The wifi worked in the room but only by the door. It was ok but a little slow.

All in all good value and highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sujatojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artatelier, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Art Atelier, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Client,
we thank you very much for your kind words. We are very happy to know that our efforts are appreciated by the clients.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Thank you very much again
Paolo Guidotti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Quiet location, well situated with Duomo, markets, cafes all within walking distance.
Friendly staff.
Room positively charming with well appointed bathroom, internet, skytv. Relatively spacious for inner city hotel. Air conditioning a saviour.
Will definitely come back, and recommend to other couples.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artatelier, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Art Atelier, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Client,

we appreciated very much your kind words about our service, and hotel. We hope to see you again in the future to show you our improvement.
Paolo Guidotti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bulawayo, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Revolting odour in Rm 207 coming from toilet. Unbearable with no help from hotel staff, no refund on our costs except for 10% discount which was a joke. Rest of hotel great but holiday ruined by sleepless nights and horrid days as we could not hang around the room but just went in to change. Our suitcases took on the odour and we had to wash all our clothes on getting home. Ask to 'smell' your room before staying. Honestly one of the worst rooms I've stayed in in ages.

Room Tip: Check out the room physically on arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronit L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artatelier, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Art Atelier, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Mrs Ronit,
we refer to your review and we apologize for the inconvenience regarding the bad smell in your room. But we would like to point out some remarks:
Hotel Art Atelier is located in an ancient building, situated in an ancient street of an ancient city. The pipeline system of the whole historical center can be affected by the age of the town. With a weather conditions (low pressure as in the days you were here) the problem of the smell comes out (in the historical center streets), and that room could feel mosltly this problem. In fact you stayed 2 nights with us, you had the problem only on the second night. As you may have the best idraulic system of the world in the hotel, but you can’t do nothing with the underground pipeline. So the problem is not due to a bad clearing of the room, but to a more factors that are not depending on our willing.
To confirm the above is also the fact that you were 2 rooms and the second room did not have a problem at all. We had no complaint (as you may see from the other review) regarding the smell in our rooms.
Regarding the discount we allowed to you much more than 10%. You seemed that you agree for the discount because you paid the amount you proposed.
We are very sorry to know that you changed opionion (“worst rooms I’ve stayed in ages”)on your stay, because you booked 2 nights and after the first night you were satisfied of the holidays at the Art Atelier. In addition to this, at the check out (after we allowed the discount you asked to us) you told, for your possible trip to Florence, to have a different room. Now, reading this review, we are surprised of your words.
In any case, we will be very happy to host you again in the future. We will show that the night with the smell it was an accident and we will be very happy to allow you a very good rate.
Kindest regards
Paolo Guidotti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

A really great experience , situation of hotel is great, a 5 minute walk from railway station
Easily the quickest check I have ever experienced and staff so charming and polite. The room was immaculate , large, and the bathroom first class. One of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed in and this includes all areas. Breakfast very good and plenty to eat and a varied choice. The attitude of the staff was first class and always polite and cheerful , they allowed you to stay without fuss , but ensured an enjoyable stay in Florence . WORTH EVERY PENNY great value

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artatelier, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Art Atelier, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Clients,
from all of our staff let us thank you for the beautiful words regarding our hotel.
We are proud to know that our efforts in making special the time that a client decided to stay with us makes them happy and, maybe, we cooperate in make unforgettable a journey in our country.
Thank you very much
Paolo Guidotti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed for 6 nights and absolutely loved it. The hotel was opened just few years ago in 2011 and exterior is very tastefully done. The hotel is located on a side street, short walk to train station and very close to all main attractions. Good size rooms, very clean. Excellent breakfast. Staff is extremely friendly. We would highly recommend this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank lena f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artatelier, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Art Atelier, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Client,
we thank you very much for such a beautiful review. We hope to see you again in the future.
Kindest regards
Paolo Guidotti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#62 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#72 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#54 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Mercure Firenze Centro
Mercure Firenze Centro
#94 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#61 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Atlantic Palace
Hotel Atlantic Palace
#139 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Art Atelier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Art Atelier

Property: Hotel Art Atelier
Address: Via dell'Amorino, 20, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Art Atelier 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Art Atelier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing