We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely find”
Review of Hotel Art Atelier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Art Atelier
Ranked #122 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Had two nights here - quiet, new boutique hotel. Clean, beautifully appointed rooms on a quiet street. Lovely front counter staff - helped in choosing places to visit and ensured a speedy check in. Was able to drop the bags and go. On check out could leave the bags until I needed to collect them for the train. Hotel is walking distance to SMN train station and round the corner from the San Lorenzo markets and plenty of shops. Was able to access coffee from the bar during the day if I popped back to the hotel to change. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Choosy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artatelier, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Art Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Client,

we thank you so much for your review.

Awainting to welcoming you at the Art Atelier, we send our kindest regards.

Paolo Guidotti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

123 - 129 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

Hotel Art Atelier is very centrally located, so close to the old City of Florence with all sightseeing and only five minutes walk from the Central train station of Florence (SMN). The staff is very friendly and attentive. The rooms are pleasant, nicely decorated walls, very Italian ambiance...Very good breakfast, tort, coffee...Wi-Fi with good connection, A/C and spacious bathroom. I had 6 wonderful days in Florence and great stay in Hotel Art Atelier.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Katia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artatelier, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Art Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Client,

we thank you so much for the time spended in writing the review.
We hope to see you again in the next future.
Paolo Guidotti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed at Hotel Art Atelier for three nights. The staff was very friendly and always smiling! My room was on the 2nd floor with a window facing an inner courtyard, so I had no view, but it didn't really matter, as I didn't come to Florence to stay in the room. The furniture is pleasing to the eye - nice soft white colour, enough room for everything. The bed was very comfortable - and I am picky with my beds. The bathroom was quite spacious too, my only complaint would have been the bathtub that was a bit narrow, so when you shower, you come in contact with the shower curtain which is not nice. Wi-Fi router was directly in my room and the connection was excellent. Also the A/C was a very nice amenity to have.
It would have been nice to have an armchair in the room - Florence was so crowded that I withdrew for a bit during the day to have some "quiet" time, but there is only a not very comfortable chair to sit on.
Location is excellent, within short walking distance of everything.
The only letdown is the coffee at breakfast, I would have loved to have a better coffee - otherwise, the selection is not fantastic, but you do find a bit of each - cheese, eggs, ham, sweet stuff, yoghurt ...
I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: My room was 301 and I have no complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MayaM72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artatelier, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Art Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Madam,
we are so happy to know that your stay was so lovely.
We are also happy to know that you loved your room that recently it had some improvement.
Thank you so much once again.
Paolo Guidotti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed two days in this handsome hotel near S. Lorenzo and a few meters from Duomo. Clean, parfumed and well decorated rooms in an ancient but renovated building. Very kind personnel and excellent breakfast.

Thank Daniele C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
artatelier, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Art Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Client,

we are happy to know that your stay was so great.
We hope to host you or your friends here at the hotel Art Atelier.
Kindest regards
Paolo Guidotti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I'm leaving Florence tomorrow, have stayed here for 3 nights. Checked on TripAdvisor before booking it, and this is really a good choice!
It's only 5 minutes' walk from the Florence SMN train station, same distance from the Cathedral. Very easy for the sightseeing. The air conditioning worked very well, which is one of the preconditions for me to book a hotel for a summer visit to Florence. The breakfast is quite ok, I would have liked it even more if there were some vegetables available. But it was surely good.
The decoration of the room is very nice, you can see that they put love in it. Rooms with soul, I would say.
The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. You can see they have high standard for themselves. Today my 81 year old father got lost, one hotel staff went out to help searching for him in the neighbourhood. Afterwards they called the police for help. I was really touched by the way they helped!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank pingbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artatelier, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Art Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Mr Pingbai,

we are so happy to know that our efforts are so much appreciated.
We thank you very much for the time spent to give such a wonderful review.
Kindest regards
Paolo Guidotti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

First of all, when arriving in Florence via the Santa Maria Novella railway station I found the hotel quite difficult to find, primarily because it is situated on a very small narrow street. This, however, is not a negative, and in reality it is in a great location, within short walking distance of the Duomo and the railway station.

The room size was average, but it had great air conditioning, a good bathroom/shower, and excellent soundproofing. Also, surprisingly for a small boutique hotel, it had an superb choice of TV channels in a variety of languages.

Breakfast at Art Atelier is excellent for a hotel of this size, but on the negative side, they charge an additional 2€ for extra tea bags, and the fresh orange juice is also expensive.

Overall, my three night stay at the hotel was very enjoyable. With the location, price, and friendly staff at Art Atelier, I would definitely recommend the hotel and would stay here again. One thing to note is that the WiFi worked well most of the time, but went down a few times. However, once letting the staff know, they almost immediately sorted the problem.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nataliavr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artatelier, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Art Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Client,

we are happy to know that your stay was so pleasent. We hope to see you again in the future and we thank you very much again for your kind words.
Paolo Guidotti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel.

Firstly it is very close to the train station, a 5 minute walk maximum and easy to find so long as you have worked out the directions before you arrive. All the sights are easily within walking distance. The main Florence leather markets are just 2 minutes away for great shopping and a useful and trendy food hall upstairs. Good restaurants even closer. We caught the local bus from outside the train station (you buy tickets from the little tobacconists on the road opposite the station and it costs next to nothing) up to Piazzale Michaelangelo and walked back down to the hotel through the city.

The receptionist was friendly and helpful - when we discovered the room allocated to us didn't have a fridge or safe he happily showed us another which did and gave us a bottle of water to cool us down after our journey.

There is no kettle in the room but he was happy to turn on the coffee machine downstairs so we could have a drink at any time. Nothing was too much trouble.

The room we had was room 100, really quirky - once in the room there is a passage and then the main room, there are lots of windows all opening onto interior courtyards so the room was very quiet.

The beds were very very comfy with lovely light duvets and the air-conditioning worked so well you could actually sleep with the duvet on. There was also heating for winter nights and you were in charge of the temperature heating/cooling yourself.

The breakfast was fun, lovely fresh hot pastries.

The wifi worked in the room but only by the door. It was ok but a little slow.

All in all good value and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank sujatojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artatelier, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Art Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Client,
we thank you very much for your kind words. We are very happy to know that our efforts are appreciated by the clients.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Thank you very much again
Paolo Guidotti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#43 of 409 in Florence
1,280 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Lorenzo Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#83 of 409 in Florence
1,220 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
C-Hotels Joy
C-Hotels Joy
#33 of 409 in Florence
195 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#75 of 409 in Florence
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Art Atelier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Art Atelier

Address: Via dell'Amorino, 20 rosso, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £67 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Art Atelier 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Art Atelier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing