We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Informal, great value, great food”
Review of I' Mangiarino

I' Mangiarino
Ranked #91 of 2,704 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Duomo
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Informal, great value, great food”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Oo, this place was lovely! I got the impression that if every tourist in the city went home tomorrow, nothing much would change here.

We only had room for one plate each - an outstanding selection of cheese and ham with focaccia - but other diners were cramming in more, and it all looked delicious.

It's not atmospheric, but it's GOOD. As long as local radio doesn't spoil your lunch.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    497
    268
    52
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A local secret”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Family run little place we first visited, (several times), 3 years ago. If anything it is now even better. It's basically a deli with tables. Papa cooks and Mama serves with a smile. Inexpensive but great quality. The fact that it is sometimes full.....of locals......should tell you all you need to know. Try the Ribollita; you won't be sorry.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank FurbyTDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great family owned place, fresh food and fun”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Food was fresh and delicious. Service was fun and informal. Be sure to ask the owner about his trip to Arizona! My Italian isn't very good, but I think he said something about a trip in a military helicopter.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FP49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
134 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fun place to try in Florence”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stumbled across this small restaurant near the Duomo. It was early evening, the menu looked OK and as there were only a couple of tables taken, we thought we’d give it a try. The tables were very close together, and the restaurant was very basic, but with hams, garlic, dried chillis etc hanging everywhere. Despite the apparent clutter, the place was spotless. We ordered house red wine, which came very promptly in a jug and chose from the limited menu. The wine and the pasta dishes were good and nothing was expensive. Before we had been served our food (and it wasn’t slow) the restaurant filled. By 7.15 there was no space available, and it looked as though many people were locals. As tables were vacated, they filled quickly. All in all a fun place to go.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pugwashahoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Authentic Tuscan food at family owned restaurant.”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We just chose this place because it looked nice, we were pleasently surprised by the food and atmosphere. We were lucky to be there at 19:00, people coming later had to wait. We ordered a antipasta platter for two, it was truly spectecular. Such a diverse selection of cheeses, salamis and bruschettas. All accompanied by a local Chianti classico. The homemade panna cotta and cantuccini were a great end to a wonderful evening.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AJ_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed I' Mangiarino also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to I' Mangiarino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing