We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightfully refreshing, quiet, and prime location”
Review of Hotel Fedora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fedora
Ranked #217 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
565 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Delightfully refreshing, quiet, and prime location”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I was a bit unsure when I booked this as the price could have gone either way. A great deal for a nice place or an appropriate price for a not so great place. Luckily, this place was really great. The location is prime, a short 10 minute walk to/from the train station and the bus to/from the airport, so super convenient coming and going. It was also just 5-10 minutes walking from many of the sights and just a bit further from the rest.

On check-in the receptionist was super helpful and friendly, suggesting places to eat, sights to see, and circling and making notes on a map he provided. He also suggested some great places to run which did not disappoint. My room was on the second floor and faced the street, so I was pretty concerned it would be overly hot and too loud to sleep. Much to my surprise and delight, I was quite wrong, as it stayed nice and cool and quiet enough to keep the window open all night long.

Room was large and clean, and staff were friendly and helpful. Location great and the price was fantastic. Well worth staying here for those on a budget that don't want to sacrifice the quality.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ckassotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    94
    36
    9
    2
See reviews for
45
72
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights before our friends wedding in freizole. The staff were top notch, helpfull and welcoming. They listed all nice places to eat and best places to go. Room was clean and comfortable. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Seán Ó
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Only stayed for one night wishing it was more. Great location near sights and train station. Wonderful staff were very gracious and welcoming. Clean room, hot shower, big fluffy towels and great breakfast to start off our day. Thank you Fedora Hotel

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Daryl1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Very good budget hotel in a great location. The heart of the city is about 15 mins walking from the hotel and the train station is also located about 10 minutes away.

We booked a standard double room and were surprised to find a duplex-style room with the master bedroom upstairs and the living area downstairs! The breakfast is quite a good spread. The staff was very helpful in guiding us to all the interesting places in Florence.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Siddhartha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quispamsis, Nb
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Spent 7 days at this hotel. It is very comfortable hotel and provides good value for money. A good sized room with a balcony and ensuite. The room was very clean and provided a good nights sleep. The staff were very helpful. Breakfast was typical European, very adequate. The 2 restaurants that they recommended were very good and very convenient (AL CHIROLA PIZZERIA) and TRATTORIA ENZO E PIERO- one was just round the corner, the other a short walk away. This was a very good location for seeing Florence - we walked everywhere, except to go to Bobolio gardens and Pitti Palace - the hotel staff helped us with our bus experience for this showing us what bus to get and where to get on and off. Excellent service.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wardy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Close to the Santa Maria della Novella station. Very friendly staff, nice double room with a mezzanine ..air condition, pvt bath and very fast wifi something rare in Rome or Venice! The price very afordable, just 90 euros.

Room Tip: Rooms without balcony are more quite becuse a important avenue is just in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sportmanpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanaken, Belgium
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

While reviews have not been unanonimously positive, I can state that certain remarks concerning breakfast and simplicity are completely untrue.

Hotel Fedora is your one stop shop if you wish to spend a few days in Florence at an extremely low price. It's located at about 15 minutes (max) from the city centre (by foot), which probably explains the lower price when comparing the hotel to its more centralized competitors.

The hotel is located in a 200-year old buiding. While some might classify the rooms as outdated and old, these rooms are full of character. The painted ceilings - 3 meters high - add character to the historic look and feel of the hotel. The rooms respect the character and history of the hotel, which creates an authentic historic feeling.

Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Upon our arrival, we were welcomed with a smile. Our bags were carried to our room and we were kindly asked to report to the desk whenever we were ready. Weird, but ok, we returned after half an hour.

At the desk, we were introduced to everything which Florence has to offer. From famous museums, to little hidden gems which no tourist will ever find.

Finally, breakfast is absolutely perfect. Fresh croissants and oven-baked sandwiches are available to everyone, together with jelly, chocolate paste, butter, ham, cheeses, cake, cookies, espresso cappucino and juice. I cannot comprehend some of the complaints here, as you get more than what you pay for.

One downside; street noise. If you're a light sleeper, bring some ear plugs. The night time noise is alright, but light sleepers might have some issues with the sirens from ambulances.

Room Tip: Book room number 7 or 8 if possible, they're the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mathias K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
HOTEL LORENA
HOTEL LORENA
#120 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#138 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#152 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Bodoni
Hotel Bodoni
#182 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel San Giovanni
Hotel San Giovanni
#257 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
San Lorenzo
Loggia Fiorentina
Loggia Fiorentina
#175 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fedora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fedora

Property: Hotel Fedora
Address: Viale Spartaco Lavagnini 45, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Fedora 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel FEDORA, NEW PROPERTY; offers a comfortable familiar contest, clean and quiet. Its client will have a nice and cheap holiday. Ideal to visiting on foot Florence historic center with its churches, museums, palaces, art exhibitions and to reach the major city sightseeing. Recommended for businessmen and tourists, because the hotel is in a good position to reach the exhibition centres (Fortezza da Basso, Palazzo dei Congressi, Palazzo degli Affari). WI-FI free, parking close to hotel at €.15 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fedora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing