We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca
Ranked #79 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Good Location”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights and enjoyed our stay. The room was clean. We did have issues with a slow draining sink that we complained about twice and it never got fixed. And it's likely just an Italy thing, but the A/C was on the lowest setting and it never felt like the room would cool down. The room was a decent size and the shower had good water pressure. Location is great ... especially is you are arriving and departing by train. It's maybe a 10 min walk max depending on how much luggage you are carrying. It's also close to the Duomo (and really everything since Florence is small in comparison to Rome for example). The breakfast buffet was decent. Basically, what you would expect. Meats, cheeses, boiled eggs, cereals, fruits, yogurt, bread. Pastries that looked good but weren't really. I'm a tea drinker so I can't comment on the coffee, but it was from a push button machine. Breakfast is free so you can't really complain, but you could probably get better out. (My opinion could be swayed by having it 5 days in a row and being over it!) We had a decent amount of clothes laundered and they came back fine (though we did get someone elses jeans that we returned which is a little scary!) The hotel offered a few free walking tours each week but it never worked for our schedule to join one. Also, the hotel did book reservations for me for the Accademia and Uffizi when I emailed them weeks before we arrived. While the hotel wasn't perfect, we didn't have any major issues that would keep me from recommending them or consider staying with them again.

Room Tip: -Rooms and bathrooms are smaller than photos appear on their website -Higher floors require taking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ideaswelcome8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    271
    67
    18
    6
See reviews for
133
349
42
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We enjoyed our one night stay at this hotel. We had good service from the reception staff. No problem with storing our luggage prior to check-in time, and they made reservations for us at the museums (highly recommend doing that to avoid lining up!). Location is great - a short walk to/from the train station and the main tourist sites.

Our room was good. I love the high ceilings and large window - very bright. The bed was very firm. No views from the room but that was fine with us since we were just there to sleep. Unfortunately, the room smelled strongly of cigarette smoke. Obviously the hotel can't control inconsiderate guests smoking and breaking the rules, but the cleaning staff should have noticed, sprayed the room, and fully aired it out prior to our arrival. They told us there were no other rooms available, and it was too late to spray once we arrived because of our children. We couldn't keep the window open in the evening or overnight because the mosquitoes were coming in. That was the only unfortunate thing about our stay. Surprisingly I can't remember the breakfast which most likely means it was fine!

I do recommend this hotel, especially for its location.

Room Tip: If you have a baby who is crawling, ask for a room without a step.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cangirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights. The location is excellent. A 5min walk to the Duomo and pretty much walking distance to other attractions, cafes and restaurants. The hotel is only a 10 min walk from the main station but as we had a 6 month old baby, we took a taxi didnt cost much.

The hotel itself is a little dated but the rooms were clean, a decent size and the staff were friendly. When we arrived it was 30c in Florence and our only complaint was that the aircon was not on in the rooms and made the room very stuffy. We told reception but they told us as the weather had been cold all week the aircon was not actually on in the whole hotel. However, they had switched the fans on in our room (by setting something on the computer). The fans never came on. We complained 3 times and not once did they offer to come and see or send someone out to the room. They knew we had a baby and still were not concerned. Much to our surprise on day 3 the maid opened our windows. As the windows are so big we assumed they did not open but there is a switch near the window to open them electronically. The room felt much better but the open window did let in a few mosqutioes which was annoying.

The lift is tiny. And I mean tiny. My husband and I managed to squeeze in with our baby. The breakfast is ok. Nothing amazing but it provides a good start to the day.The homemade cakes are to die for though. Yum!!

There are no tea/coffee facilites in your room which would have been nice. I also had to ask reception for boiling water each night so I could use that as drinking water for my baby the next day.

Ordering taxis is no problem. They arrive within 5 mins to the hotel.

Overall, a decent hotel. In terns of location, it was definitely a hit. However, I wouldnt rush back and would be happy to look at other hotels in the area. But if you want good location and no frills then this is the place.

Room Tip: If you have a baby then ask for a room on the ground floor. The lift is too tiny to take up yourself...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SK1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

The hotel could'nt be closer to the main attractions - i.e. Dumo. For its location it is surprisingly quite. The staff were were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast had plenty of choice - but sometimes food was not always fresh, but in the main okay. Rooms were clean, reasonably sized for a central city location.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarryUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Location wise is great but that is were it ends..............

Room in OK, no frills
It is clean
Breakfast needs help-coffee was terrible-options were lacking



Our biggest issue was that the A/C was broken the first night and nothing was done to solve the situation. The hotel felt that a bottle of wine was sufficient enough to make up for the lack of A/C. I requested a rate reduction but it was denied . Dont expect much from this hotel basicaly you are on your .........................

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandLgoaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Hubby and I and two friends have just spent 3 nights in this hotel and couldn't have chosen better. The rooms were very clean, light and airy, nicely appointed, reasonably spacious, well furnished and very quiet with hardly any noise at all to be heard daytime or night. A definite plus point in a city hotel. It's location was fantastic being only about 3 minutes walk from the Duomo and various cafes, bars and restaurants all serving wonderful food. Well and truly in what must be the best central position for Florence sight-seeing. We had room 220 and our friends had 222 and both were pleasant. The hotel staff were pleasant at all times. The only point worth mentioning is that most of the rooms are on the second and third floors and have to be accessed via a tiny, slightly temperamental, lift which could be claustrophobic for some. There are stairs from the Reception area but the door to the second floor rooms can only be opened from the other side on the second floor itself. No problem for us as our men-folk took the stairs and we took the lift and let them in at the second floor door. None of this detracted from our stay in the hotel and we would certainly stay there again next time we visit Florence. The breakfast room was very pleasant and the choice of food very good. One or two hot items but a great variety of continental breakfast items, bread, meat, cheese, cakes, bread etc. Teas, coffees and fruit juices all at your finger tips. Plenty to fill you up for a good day's walking. The hotel is only about 10 minutes walk from the railway station and bus drop off point so getting here from Pisa Airport is a doddle. I could go on extolling the virtues of Hotel Centrale but think you must have the point by now. Try it and see!

Room Tip: 220 and 222 were good rooms, quiet and pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Cosy, pleasent, friendly, warm hotel. You know that feeling of being welcome from the first step you make into the place? That's Centrale. Rooms are small, but so cosy, so pleasant. Every room has the name upon one of the great Renaissance painters. Our was the room of Fillipo Lippi, so the main point in the room was Lippi's paint "Madonna and Child with two angels". For five days I have been waking up with view on the painting and the Dome of Medici Chappel.
They indeed have the smallest elevator I have ever seen, but I don't see it as a problem, but as an interesting detail. The room was small, with a bed, a closet and a table, with big window, good lighted the hole day. It was very well heated, as the weather was little colder than usual in Florence. Bathroom is just fine and clean. Internet access - very good. Breakfast - excellent.
Room was cleaned every day. Staff is very kind and friendly.Location is perfect - 5 minutes walk from the train station and one minute from the famous Duomo.
And, above all, the price was reasonable.
If I come again, my choice will certainly be Centrale.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NBPI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#70 of 411 in Florence
1,616 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#60 of 411 in Florence
1,219 reviews
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#63 of 411 in Florence
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#38 of 411 in Florence
1,738 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#61 of 411 in Florence
1,362 reviews
Duomo
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
#45 of 411 in Florence
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca

Property: Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca
Address: Via De' Conti 3, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#53 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#57 Family Hotel in Florence
#58 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Florence Center Hotel is completely restructured and renovated. Situated in the heart of Florence, Florence Center Hotel is just a few steps away from the Duomo and the principal monuments of the City, a short distance from the central Train Station S. Maria Novella, from the Fortezza Da Basso (home of the most important trade shows) and the Palazzo Dei Congressi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Dimora Storica Florence
Centrale Dimora Storica Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing