We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca
Ranked #82 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We were in florence only for one night and it served our purpose well. Good location - short walk to railway station and the main attractions. Clean and decent size rooms. Breakfast was ok. Hotel staff was not very knowledgeable about things but were helpful.

Room Tip: There is no elevator to the rooms, so be careful if you have heavy luggage
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
Thank tanyag86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (774)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

259 - 265 of 774 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2012

Just finished our stay in Florence. The hotel was clean, provided a fairly decent breakfast (even had zuccini one morning and we've struggled finding vegetables during our stay), and quiet even though it is very central to all of the activities. The front desk scheduled our museum tours and we did enjoy the free walking tour provided by the hotel with tour guide Suzanne. She was a wealth of information and we wished the tour took place closer to the beginning of our stay. The air conditioning was turned on and well used during our stay. It is very easy to get to the hotel from the train station and finding it was not a problem, as there was a sign on the main corridor pointing us in the right direction.

Only negatives- the shower did not drain well and there was some mold on two of the shower walls. We would have loved espresso provided fresh rather than done by an automatic machine, however, one of the service ladies did bring around fresh steamed milk to add to the machine espresso and capaccinos.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarinN99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights and enjoyed our stay. The room was clean. We did have issues with a slow draining sink that we complained about twice and it never got fixed. And it's likely just an Italy thing, but the A/C was on the lowest setting and it never felt like the room would cool down. The room was a decent size and the shower had good water pressure. Location is great ... especially is you are arriving and departing by train. It's maybe a 10 min walk max depending on how much luggage you are carrying. It's also close to the Duomo (and really everything since Florence is small in comparison to Rome for example). The breakfast buffet was decent. Basically, what you would expect. Meats, cheeses, boiled eggs, cereals, fruits, yogurt, bread. Pastries that looked good but weren't really. I'm a tea drinker so I can't comment on the coffee, but it was from a push button machine. Breakfast is free so you can't really complain, but you could probably get better out. (My opinion could be swayed by having it 5 days in a row and being over it!) We had a decent amount of clothes laundered and they came back fine (though we did get someone elses jeans that we returned which is a little scary!) The hotel offered a few free walking tours each week but it never worked for our schedule to join one. Also, the hotel did book reservations for me for the Accademia and Uffizi when I emailed them weeks before we arrived. While the hotel wasn't perfect, we didn't have any major issues that would keep me from recommending them or consider staying with them again.

Room Tip: -Rooms and bathrooms are smaller than photos appear on their website -Higher floors require taking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ideaswelcome8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We enjoyed our one night stay at this hotel. We had good service from the reception staff. No problem with storing our luggage prior to check-in time, and they made reservations for us at the museums (highly recommend doing that to avoid lining up!). Location is great - a short walk to/from the train station and the main tourist sites.

Our room was good. I love the high ceilings and large window - very bright. The bed was very firm. No views from the room but that was fine with us since we were just there to sleep. Unfortunately, the room smelled strongly of cigarette smoke. Obviously the hotel can't control inconsiderate guests smoking and breaking the rules, but the cleaning staff should have noticed, sprayed the room, and fully aired it out prior to our arrival. They told us there were no other rooms available, and it was too late to spray once we arrived because of our children. We couldn't keep the window open in the evening or overnight because the mosquitoes were coming in. That was the only unfortunate thing about our stay. Surprisingly I can't remember the breakfast which most likely means it was fine!

I do recommend this hotel, especially for its location.

Room Tip: If you have a baby who is crawling, ask for a room without a step.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cangirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights. The location is excellent. A 5min walk to the Duomo and pretty much walking distance to other attractions, cafes and restaurants. The hotel is only a 10 min walk from the main station but as we had a 6 month old baby, we took a taxi didnt cost much.

The hotel itself is a little dated but the rooms were clean, a decent size and the staff were friendly. When we arrived it was 30c in Florence and our only complaint was that the aircon was not on in the rooms and made the room very stuffy. We told reception but they told us as the weather had been cold all week the aircon was not actually on in the whole hotel. However, they had switched the fans on in our room (by setting something on the computer). The fans never came on. We complained 3 times and not once did they offer to come and see or send someone out to the room. They knew we had a baby and still were not concerned. Much to our surprise on day 3 the maid opened our windows. As the windows are so big we assumed they did not open but there is a switch near the window to open them electronically. The room felt much better but the open window did let in a few mosqutioes which was annoying.

The lift is tiny. And I mean tiny. My husband and I managed to squeeze in with our baby. The breakfast is ok. Nothing amazing but it provides a good start to the day.The homemade cakes are to die for though. Yum!!

There are no tea/coffee facilites in your room which would have been nice. I also had to ask reception for boiling water each night so I could use that as drinking water for my baby the next day.

Ordering taxis is no problem. They arrive within 5 mins to the hotel.

Overall, a decent hotel. In terns of location, it was definitely a hit. However, I wouldnt rush back and would be happy to look at other hotels in the area. But if you want good location and no frills then this is the place.

Room Tip: If you have a baby then ask for a room on the ground floor. The lift is too tiny to take up yourself...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SK1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

The hotel could'nt be closer to the main attractions - i.e. Dumo. For its location it is surprisingly quite. The staff were were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast had plenty of choice - but sometimes food was not always fresh, but in the main okay. Rooms were clean, reasonably sized for a central city location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GarryUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Location wise is great but that is were it ends..............

Room in OK, no frills
It is clean
Breakfast needs help-coffee was terrible-options were lacking



Our biggest issue was that the A/C was broken the first night and nothing was done to solve the situation. The hotel felt that a bottle of wine was sufficient enough to make up for the lack of A/C. I requested a rate reduction but it was denied . Dont expect much from this hotel basicaly you are on your .........................

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandLgoaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#74 of 411 in Florence
1,670 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#42 of 411 in Florence
1,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#38 of 411 in Florence
1,307 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#52 of 411 in Florence
1,466 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#44 of 411 in Florence
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca

Address: Via De' Conti 3, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#53 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#58 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £75 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a beautiful Florentine holiday, enjoying comfortable accommodations in a renovated property right in the heart of the city, close to the major landmarks. It's easy at Relais Hotel Centrale! The hotel is a short distance from the Duomo and the principal monuments of the City ,from the central train station S. Maria Novella, the Fortezza Da Basso, home of the most important trade shows in the area, and the Palazzo Dei Congressi. Enjoy a quiet, comfortable retreat in the hotels rooms, complemented by reproduced frescoes and paintings by famous artists. Many also offer views of the nearby monuments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Dimora Storica Florence
Centrale Dimora Storica Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing