We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Centrale means central!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca
Ranked #73 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Centrale means central!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

I spent two nights in this hotel in the middle of August. Everything was great, apart from the air conditioning. It worked, but sometimes too well. In theory it was possible to adjust the temperature digitally...I woke up freezing. Then I was too warm. Maybe it was me. I'll give them the benefit of the doubt as this was the only problem. Good breakfast, with the option of a fast track if you have to leave before the breakfast room opens at 7.30 a.m. The hotel is on the upper floors of law and other professional offices. The reception is spacious with friendly helpful staff 24/7. Central location near the station and all other sights. whT could be bad? I recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank piershill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    259
    64
    18
    6
See reviews for
128
332
41
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed here for three nights. Took advantage of an early booking offer. Sara assisted with this, and everything else!!! More helpful one cannot get. Sara arranged tours, luggage storage, info on some of the artwork, just about anything one could ask for was provided. She even sent links for the tours I needed to book myself.
The location of this hotel is fantastic. Stand on the nearest corner and look up - in front of you the spectacular Duomo, turn to the side and you see the as fantastic Medici Chapel.
We had the twin deluxe room with the view of the Medici Chapel - UNBELIEVABLE!!!!!
I highly recommend this hotel for its friendly and helpful staff members, especially Sara, its fantastic location, really "centrale" and close to SMN train station (8 minutes walk), as well as the hotel arranging all our activities, tours etc for us. It really helped to have a "local on email" when trying to arrange a trip from South Africa!! I will not hesitate to recommend this hotel and stay here again in future.

Room Tip: There are 2 twin rooms on the side of the Medici Chapel. Only one has a view. Ask for the one with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank loren1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Hotel Centrale is just that - central!! It was a great "home base" to venture out and walk around Florence, yet still feel like we were close enough to the hotel for a quick snack or afternoon nap.

The staff were helpful, and the rooms were very nice and just right for both the price and the location. Literally 1.5 blocks from the Duomo, and from there you could pick ANY direction to walk in and you'd hit a major museum/church/market/piazza within minutes! It is also a short 10 minute walk to the main train station, which also came in handy.

The breakfast area was nice, and the food was tasty. A nice selection of assorted breakfast foods/items to get your day going, and it was included in our room price along with wifi.

My wife and I were celebrating our 10 yr. anniversary and we would definitely come back to Florence and stay at Hotel Centrale! Lots of great pizza places around the area, the gelato was amazing pretty much anywhere you chose to stop at, but the BEST lunch/dinner place we ate at while in Florence was Trattoria Katti... and it was only about 2 blocks away from the hotel (take a left upon exiting the hotel, walk for 3-4 minutes)!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alrey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Walking distance from the train station and practically overlooking the Duomo of Florence, this wonderful hotel is located at the center of Florences' bustling tourist life. Every important destination is walking distance from this hotel. The rooms are elegant and equipped with all modern amenities. The breakfast was sufficiently elaborate and staff was very helpful. The front desk booked Tuscany tours for us without any hassle. The elevator is something to watch out for!

We would highly recommend Hotel Centrale and we consider it our best stay in Italy!

Room Tip: The elevator goes only to the first floor. A room on the second floor would involve carrying luggage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PoorvaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Interesting hotel. Excellent location,excellent breakfast and exceptional rooms but getting there can be a challenge. If your room number is larger than 8 you will need to haul your luggage up the stairs. The elevator ride up to rooms 1 thru 8 is kind of fun. I have never seen a smaller elevator; roughly 2 ft by 3 ft and rated for 4 people. Riding up with the three of us (without luggage) was a challenge as our 'butt' or elbow kept getting in the way of the door. It is designed to bring the whole family close together; literally. Try hauling up your luggage for a challenge. There were three of us with 5 pieces of luggage and it took us almost 20 min to send the luggage up one by one in the elevator and then haul is up the steps to our room number 16. And of course the hotel staff did not offer any help. Instead they were amused why we felt the elevator size was inappropriate. I guess we should have been grateful we had an elevator. Or else we would have had to haul everything three flights of stairs.

Room Tip: Get a room with a number lower than 8 if you have any sizable luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rama S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResponsabileHotel, Direttore at Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Guest

First of all, thank you for your feedback and for your stay at our hotel.
Our Hotel is located inside a historical palace built in 18th century, we have to submit under strict law for conservation of cultural heritage.
Our Hotel is also part of “Esercizi Storici Fiorentini”
We understand the inconvenience of a small elevator, but as written above we preferred to keep the structure as it was in the ancient time, giving importance to the particularities of a historic building, always subject to restrictive laws for the preservation of cultural heritage.
Our historical palace has some restrictions, but you will agree with us that the charm of an ancient structure includes also this, which is its beauty and uniqueness.

We thank you again for your good review on tripadvisor, Best regards

Hotel Centrale Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Quiet and comfortable, close to the railway and restaurants , right next to the duomo.staff were helpful and friendly.the bathroom was 5 star.breakfast was quite good. Free wi-.fi in the rooms and free computer and printer available in lobby. Good cafes and restaurants within 1 minute walk.Good shopping nearby (plenty of shoe stores)

Room Tip: Room 35 on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao Pessoa, PB
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed two nights at the Hotel Centrale. Our room was on the first floor next to the lobby and it was huge! Large bathroom and high ceilings. The staff were very helpful and even booked us reservations with a tour bus to Pisa on short notice. The wifi was adequate but you do have to ask the front desk for a password to set it up! The breakfast was good and the hotel location could not have been more perfect! We walked from the train station dragging our suitcases for about 10 min (definitely a faster walk without bags) to get to the hotel. Even though it was on a side street, the hotel was very easy to find! Many restaurants, souvenir shops, and all things wonderful of Florence history all within 5-20 min walking distance! The Duomo was about 2 blocks away! Book this hotel and you will be happy with your visit! If possible book a reservation with the Accademia Museum to see "David" -- we were able to skip the line and quickly enter with no problems. It was so so hot and humid in June any help skipping the line was definitely a plus! I would stay here again and again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#68 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#40 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#58 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#54 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Duomo
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
#39 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#62 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca

Property: Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca
Address: Via De' Conti 3, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#53 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#57 Business Hotel in Florence
#57 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Florence Center Hotel is completely restructured and renovated. Situated in the heart of Florence, Florence Center Hotel is just a few steps away from the Duomo and the principal monuments of the City, a short distance from the central Train Station S. Maria Novella, from the Fortezza Da Basso (home of the most important trade shows) and the Palazzo Dei Congressi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Dimora Storica Florence
Centrale Dimora Storica Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing