We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved the free walking tour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca
Ranked #84 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The hotel is in a great location. It offers breakfast which I haven't tried yet. But mostly, it was a very nice touch to offer a walking tour on Monday when the museums close. The tour guide was very knowledgable and professional. At the end she took us for a bread and olive oil tasting which was fabulous. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Somaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (739)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 174 of 739 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

Starting with the positives, the location is very central and perfectly located. The service, like other experiences in italian hotels, was good and the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good quality and had a good variety to choose from. Unfortunately the room itself wasn't great, the bed was two singles pushed together which would normally be fine but these two singles were not attached to each other or the headboard which meant that they just split apart during the night, the beds themselves weren't particularly comfortable, in fact the sofa in the room was more comfortable!

Overall the hotel was nice enough but nothing special considering how much the room cost, I would look to stay somewhere else next time I visit florence

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed in this hotel for three nights. We had the triple room on the second floor. It had a double bed and a pull-out sofa. The room size was ok for three people. The bathroom was decent size as well, the towel-warmer was a nice bonus. There were plenty of towels and toiletries, however no body lotion. We had room no. 6 which was really quiet, no noise at all. The elevator is very very small though and only leads up to the second floor, if you have a room on the third floor, you have to haul your luggage upstairs.
Breakfast was sufficient, bread and rolls, pastries, cold cuts, cheese, jam, eggs, scrambled eggs, cereal,yogurt, some fruit and also some gluten-free stuff. And nutella pancakes on demand. On Sunday the breakfast room was very very crowded and only one person responsible to set and clear tables, we had to wait a while for a table. But on weekdays it was the opposite and we were almost the only ones in the breakfast room.
The reception staff is very kind and helpful, especially Irene. Their English is also very good.
The location of the hotel cannot be beat. It is literally a 3-minute walk from the Dome and all the major sights are in walking distance. If you turn left outside the hotel, there are plenty of good restaurants and cafes.
Wi-fi in the room was free as well, was not the fastest and sometimes had to re-sign in, but was ok. Rooms were also clean.
Can definitely recommend for a short stay in beautiful Firenze.

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor are newly renovated. No lift up to the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DorisMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed in this hotel for five nights and loved it. The room was very comfortable. The location is excellent: 10 minute walk to the main train station, and literally a 3 minute walk to the Duomo. The hotel is on a quiet street away from all the tourist noise. Sara, Irene, and Margherita and all the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast each morning is excellent with items such as pastries to scrambled eggs. They make a great cappuccino. Just ask for it at breakfast. I would recommend this hotel wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: Request rooms on the 2nd floor where the breakfast room is located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The Hotel is in center of the city, the train station is 6 minutes away walking, 10 mins walking to Ponte Vecchio, is close to all what is important to see with other words!
The breakfast is very delicious and offering a large diversity of fresh food! Qualified staff.
It was great - great bed, soft towel, the Wifi was Free and worked very well. The hotel is next to the Piazza Duomo to some gorgeous restaurants and to many nice shops. Even if the rooms are really near the street, I didn't hear any noises. It was a great stay and I'm going to stay there again with a decent price.

Room Tip: I was at superior double, last level and last rood from the hall but the scenic view was not so grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sergio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This hotel is so much greater than I expected. I never believe the professional pictures, but my room looked exactly like the photo. It was great - great bed, soft towel, the wifi was COMPLETELY FREE and worked very well. The hotel is next to the Duomo, to the Galleria Dell'Accademia, to some gorgeous restaurants and to a second-hand luxury shop. Even if the rooms are really near the street, I didn't hear any noises. It was a great stay and I'm going to stay there again. Staff was helpful enough and breakfast was pretty good.
The only problem I had was with the shower floor. Once I applied conditioner to my hair it became REALLY slippery and kinda dangerous, since the door was glass, so beware.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laís R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in July 2013 for our 5 year anniversary trip to Italy. Let me start off with the pros.....the location is amazing! You walk for 2 minutes and you are at the duomo with lots of restaurants and shops. It is also very close to the train station that we walked from when we arrived, so the location is really top notch. The hotel was very clean and well-maintained for how old the building was and the breakfast was great. My husband and I ate a very hearty breakfast and could get by with a small lunch when we were out and about. It was also very quiet, even though we were on the main level. So, the cons....when we arrived in our room it was VERY hot but we thought it was because in many European hotels, they don't cool the room until a guest arrives to save on energy costs. So, we quickly changed and headed out to find some dinner and have a drink, but when we got back to the hotel for the evening and put in the key card to turn on the AC, it didn't take long for us to figure out that the AC wasn't working at all. We talked to the front desk and he checked his computer to see if it was working and he also could see it wasn't working properly. We asked for a new room, but the entire hotel was booked and they didn't even have a fan that we could use. Opening the window in the room didn't help because it was equally hot and humid outside, so we suffered through a restless night in mid-July in Florence without AC. The manager did get it fixed right away the next morning and our next two nights were much more tolerable, but the AC in this hotel is definitely under-par and we were still quite warm the other two nights. The hotel did not offer us any compensation for the broken AC, which we were annoyed about but we didn't let it ruin our vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cheery816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResponsabileHotel, Direttore at Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for your comment and for choosing our hotel for your stay in Florence.
Read a review referring to a stay of five months ago is somewhat unusual.
We would like to specify that our air conditioning system is a unique system, which controls all of our rooms and in fact it has always worked perfectly. During the period of July, the hotel is often fully booked and during that time none of our customers have reported a problem with the air conditioning. As soon as you informed us that your room was not cool enough we checked and tried to solve the problem. The problem was solved quickly and the air conditioning worked properly in the whole the hotel.
However, we hope that your stay was enjoyable and we thank you again for choosing us
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#75 of 410 in Florence
1,649 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 410 in Florence
1,810 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#50 of 410 in Florence
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#68 of 410 in Florence
569 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca

Address: Via De' Conti 3, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#53 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#57 Family Hotel in Florence
#58 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £91 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Florence Center Hotel is completely restructured and renovated. Situated in the heart of Florence, Florence Center Hotel is just a few steps away from the Duomo and the principal monuments of the City, a short distance from the central Train Station S. Maria Novella, from the Fortezza Da Basso (home of the most important trade shows) and the Palazzo Dei Congressi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Dimora Storica Florence
Centrale Dimora Storica Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing