We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glorious building - from the outside at least!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duomo - Cattedrale di Santa Maria del Fiore

Duomo - Cattedrale di Santa Maria del Fiore
Book In Advance
More Info
US$44.50*
and up
Essential Florence: Uffizi and Great Museum Cathedral of Florence
Ranked #3 of 425 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Designed by Arnolfo di Cambio at the end of the 13th century, the Cathedral's trademark dome is now the symbol of Florence.
Warwickshire, England
Level Contributor
285 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Glorious building - from the outside at least!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We only admired from the outside. It was August and unless you wanted to queue for 2 hours in the 38 degree heat you didn't stand much a chance of getting in! Needless to say, with two small children we gave this a miss and just enjoyed it from the outside.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank bodiddly79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18,650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13,690
    3,844
    861
    160
    95
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Such Beauty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

What I love about Europe is that you can just travel such SHORT distances and see such amazing wonders. This Cathedral is massive and stands out so vividly against the blue of the the Italian winter sky. I walked up the top (very cold) and felt like i could see all of Italy before me. I have such wonderful love for this place and such wonderful memories. Thankyou Italy.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT, USA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We hadn't planned on climbing to the top this time, what with all the steps, but the tease of a beautiful view got us walking. No regrets, grateful for the vista and the exercise required to get there. A good way to burn off some of the gellato calories. This time we also visited the crypt, which we somehow always left out of our plans before and were pleased to learn some things we had not known before about the evolution of the structure...It was a bit stuffy and smelled of decay, but it is a basement so this should be expected I suppose.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank travlelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
122 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Inside out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Have a look at it and never ever forget it! What would it have been for medieval travellers back then? Amazing. The most important thing of all is it's unusual decoration: none in the inside, all on the outside! I also recommend visiting the museum -not very big, but worth it - and the Baptistery.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MartaPalomares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
244 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Too heavily ornamented”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Bruneleschi's vault aside, I found the Duomo to be rather a disappointment. Huge but by no means elegant inside, too flashy on the outside. Some rude front-desk personnel, too. True, a visit to Florence must include a visit to the Duomo, but you can make it quick and save time for other wonderful things the city has to offer.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Smokedeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Duomo - Cattedrale di Santa Maria del Fiore also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Duomo - Cattedrale di Santa Maria del Fiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing