We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ristorante Conte Mascetti - CLOSED

Ristorante Conte Mascetti
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Santa Maria Novella
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We just happened upon this restaurant walking back to our hotel and made reservations for 5 for dinner. I was nervous about eating here without being able to check the reviews on tripadvisor, but I'm glad we took a chance. The decor of the restaurant is very nice. As we were five girls, we ordered five primeri dishes and two secondi dishes. Everything was excellent! We ordered ravioli, spaghetti, and fettucine. For secondi, we ordered the beef and pork. Again, it was perfectly cooked. For dessert, we ordered the chocolate cake and blackberry confiture muffin. Absoultely delicious! The service was attentive and friendly. They were happy to give us menus in english.

I'm surprised there were complaints, as our service was so good! The bill was around 30 euros per person which I thought was reasonable for five people. I never actually looked at the bill though since another girl in the group took the lead at reviewing it. I would definitely recommend dinner here!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travels F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    6
    6
    2
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
256 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“Steak Florentine is Expensive and Worth Every Euro.”
Reviewed 16 September 2011

BEST STEAK WE'VE EVER HAD. This is a 2 inch thick Kobe quality bone-in t-bone, the signature meal of Florence. Conte Masceti is an upscale neighborhood restaurant with high ceilings, linen, silver, dark wood, and soft light. The waiter's English was excellent, but we chose to use Italian. Service was impeccable. The sides and wine were world class, but the steak....spicy rub, seared with a wet red center, and sliced vertically 1/2 inch intervals. The waiter suggested a drizzle of olive oil on each slice before eating. MELTS IN YOUR MOUTH! The only problem was that it would have fed four. We doggie bagged half of it back to the hotel.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OldDukeDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“avoid”
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We went for a dinner because it was close to our hotel and everything from service to food was bad.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank searcheveair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible rip off!!!”
Reviewed 23 July 2011

This place is a horror! Looks nice form outside but nothing prepared us for the dodgy service. We were overcharged in such a sly way we didn't even have the will to argue, paid the bill and left. It completely ruined our romantic evening, I feel compelled to warn people off. Don't understand how it has some good reviews.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lia7776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Check the prices on the bill carefully..."”
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We went to the restaurant on a very quiet evening. The owner/manager greeted us with open arms and thanked us for coming, seated us next to the only other occupied table in the restaurant (with loud children) and proceded to tell us the specials. We asked for a menu since I did not want to have to translate everything to my dining companions - and he said - he would be the menu for us. It sounded like fun so we went with the flow. We nixed his suggestion for the truffle meal since who knows what that could have cost. He suggested a mixture of appetizers - some were tasty and some were quite bland. Then he suggested the homemade ravioli.... which was a winner. His entree of choice was the sliced steak - which sounded great. We bought into the whole meal - and it was indeed tasty - though the service somewhat slipshod. We ordered quite expensive wines - and his wine service was not up to par for such fine quality wines. (Seasoning the glassware is a nice touch, but that wine should then be tossed out - and not given to the host to taste after it cleaned every glass !!!.)
When it was time for dessert - the manager was outside and we asked the waiter to see the menu for dessert. When the menu arrived we noticed several items on the menu that we would have prefered - but they were never suggested to us. Alas... this was our fault for not insisting on a menu. We also noticed that the prices were quite reasonable. I expected them to be higher. We ordered some desserts then asked for the bill.
When the bill arrived, we noticed that every item we ordered was priced 50% higher than the prices listed on the menu.. It seems that the manager did not realized we had the opportunity to look at the menu and notice the prices. The waiter quickly explained that he gave us the wrong bill.... but the wines we ordered were correct on the bill - and there was no other party of three in the restaurant - so we knew we were being ripped off. We questioned the waiter and he went back - corrected the bill - and though quite embarassed, brought it back to us appologizing the whole time. He said that he did not know what the manager was thinking.
So... for this reason, this restaurant becomes a RIP OFF RESTAURANT and we will never return - and will tell eveyone we know to avoid it.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Conte Mascetti also viewed

Settignano, Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing